We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of The Feathers

The Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Feathers
Ranked #4 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just moved in to the area, and dropped in for a meal, the food and service was excellent.
I do not not know why it is not listed in the Good Pub Food Guide.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    59
    26
    20
    19
See reviews for
68
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We overnighted and the end of a 10 day run of overnights from Australia the food should be brought to the attention of Mr Michelin, the staff had an unusual can do attitude and were absolutely charming we would return in a shot thank you for your hospitality. Had the best mushroom soup ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff in a pleasant laid back atmosphere. Very nice food in quality and quantity washed down with Adnams Broadside and Ghost Ship. Lovely!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitykipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Popped in for a pint and a light lunch - didn't want a cooked meal. The only choice (being vegetarian) was a cheese and tomato sandwich, while my wife ordered a prawn sandwich - these took nearly half an hour to arrive - there was only one other couple who had ordered bar food in front of us - their food took 25 minutes to be served. The sandwiches were ok as were the large crisps. The side salads of lettuce and pepper were dreadful and were not eaten. The lettuce must have been leftover from at least the day before - it had mostly turned brown! When I pointed this out to the waitress she couldn't have cared less let alone apologise. Wont go there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heachamveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stopped here for lunch after visiting friends. The food is excellent and you can tell it's good quality produce used. Best bar meal we've has as a family

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Had the need to find a Dog Friendly hotel ( both to stay and for a meal) on the 2nd of Jan, and was very pleasantly surprised by this pub. Understand that it's recently been taken over and work is being done to improve it. Service was good and the food was tasty at circa £9 a main.
Room was on the small side, but comfortable for 2 with the roaring fire downstairs!

Room Tip: Room 4 (Red Room) - Small double, shower, no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfsbane2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Well, where do I start.
We booked a lunch at The Feathers as the week before we had got married, we were still on our honeymoon so thought why not?!
IT WAS THE BEST MEAL WE HAVE HAD IN A LONG TIME!
We travel around quite a lot and always stay in 4 and 5 star hotels.
We have become use to a very high standard, The Feathers is way up there when it comes to the food. I am going to be as so bold to say the best meal I have had.

We paid £45.95 a head per Adult and just £20 for our son on CHRISTMAS DAY.
This included a glass of either red or white wine, a 3 course meal not to mention the "favours" of Lindt chocolates for each guest / crackers and bottle of water.
They also gave our son 2 wrapped up Christmas presents.

The staff were so friendly, and nothing was too much.
The food was well, perfect!
We went with our Grandma who is VERY fussy eater, and in all my years of eating with her has never finished a plate full, SHE ATE EVERYTHING.
For my main meal I had beef, now being a butchers daughter I know what is good beef.
That beef was cooked to perfection, brown on the outside with a small amount of pinkness in the middle. Not chewy, you know the kind, the beef that you keep having to chew around and around again.. This almost melted in the mouth but you still had something to bite on.

Plenty of fresh veg,perfect roast, and Gravy well spot on, not to thick and not too much so your plate was swimming in.

The food was served on hot plates and was so well presented on the plate, again up to the same standards as we have been so lucky to recieve in the 4 and 5 star hotels in London.

The sticky toffee pudding, well, I have no words to describe for you all just how utterly fabulous that was.

We had the most wonderful meal, and will be rushing back to very soon.
I think that the new owners have done The feathers proud. I noticed in the Ladies WC they will be revamping the area, I look forward to seeing what style.
You have done some wonderful work on the appearance of the place, Keep it up! We will be coming back to see the improvements.

We open fire in the bar area was just stunning.

You have the makings to be a perfect chic get away.

I have nothing but good things to say, and if I am being very honest a rating of "Excellent" is not high enough me.

Room Tip: We did not stay over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
806 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
867 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
268 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers

Property: The Feathers
Address: 71 Manor Road, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching inn with rooms above for bed and breakfast. We are sat on the edge of Sandringham estate and only ten minutes to the beach. Good pub food sourced locally with a nice selection of real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing