We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short stay”
Review of Ashdene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdene House
Ranked #1 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Ashdene House. We were welcomed with coffee and cakes by Annette & Gill on a glorious sunny afternoon in the fantastic garden that is available for guests to use. They offered advice on where to visit & eat & we had a fantastic 2 night stay. The breakfast was excellent being cooked to order with local produce & attention to detail that is hard to find these days. The bread was home made as were the jams & marmalades. We enjoyed trips to Wells-next the Sea, Holt, Old Hunstanton & Sandringham. I visited with my sisters and a friend and we have all decided we will be making a return visit.

Room Tip: The larger twin room(room 5) has been refurbished so that would be my first choice if picking a twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a very enjoyable three night stay. Gill and Annette made us feel very welcome, and went the extra mile to assist us (and other guests). We found room#5 very comfortable, and the breakfast superb. Could not fault any aspect of our visit. We will return some time soon!Heather & Mick

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathermaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable four night stay. Gill and Annette made us feel very welcome, and went out of their way to assist us (and other guests). We found room#5 very comfortable, and the breakfast superb. Could not fault any aspect of our visit.
We will return!
Ian and Ann.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a night on route north at Ashdene House and were graciously received by the two owner who were friendly helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasurable. My disappointment was in the accommodation very small and the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. We never saw the other rooms perhaps they are bigger if so we should have been told.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room with the street light at your widow and question the bathroom s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug pullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights. From our arrival to our departure we were looked after.
Very nicely decorated and the breakfast is fabulous. The sisters who run the B&B are friendly and on hand to offer advice on where to go and the odd map and leaflet is also provided.
Very clean rooms with everything we needed. Nice touch was leaving us 2 wine glasses when they noticed the evidence that we enjoyed a bottle of wine when we got in late one evening. Would definitely return. The weather didn't allow us to enjoy the garden but that was particularly pretty and relaxing looking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenOHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Prior to booking this B&B I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and can only agree 100% with the other 5 star reviews. My sister and I stayed for 5 nights in mid May, this is a fabulous place to stay and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is provided even cotton buds in the bathroom and clean dressing gowns. Before going, I asked Annette if we could have skimmed milk and this was provided every day. This will be our base each time we go to Norfolk, no need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check their website and you can then choose the room yuo like the look of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We decided to get away for the weekend for our wedding anniversary and chose the beautiful county of Norfolk.

When we arrived at Dersingham and found, (easily by the way), Ashdene House, we were a bit concerned as it was on a main junction. But our worries were unfounded.

We pulled into a spacious private car park alongside a beautifully maintained garden. Which incidentally all guests have full use of.

We were warmly welcomed by one of the 2 sisters who ran the hotel and once we had been shown to our room were invited down to the very tastefully decorated lounge for a refreshing cuppa and piece of cake.

The room, we were in room 3, overlooked the front, which included that dreaded main road junction, but we really didn't here any noise from the traffic.

Whilst the room was not the largest that we had used, it was by no means the smallest. Decoration was good. Spotlessly clean, with the usual coffee and tea making facilities and TV with free view.

We were given excellent directions for a short 15 minute walk to some pubs for evening food.

Breakfast in the morning was superb, with some excellent choices including home made bread.
I'm sure that our hosts felt that I needed fattening up as they were continually trying to get me to eat more of such good food.

All in all a brilliant retreat to explore North West Norfolk. Definitely recommend Ashdene House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoggyPhil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
5.7 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
950 reviews
5.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coach & Horses
Coach & Horses
#2 of 8 in Dersingham
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Inn
Queen Victoria Inn
#1 of 3 in Snettisham
97 reviews
8 mi away
Fairlight Lodge
Fairlight Lodge
#1 of 34 in King's Lynn
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dove Lodge
Dove Lodge
#3 of 8 in Dersingham
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdene House

Address: 60 Hunstanton Road, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range: $104 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdene House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and run B and B. We aim to provide a relaxed, home from home atmosphere and make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashdene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdene House Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing