We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Ashdene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdene House
Ranked #1 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights. From our arrival to our departure we were looked after.
Very nicely decorated and the breakfast is fabulous. The sisters who run the B&B are friendly and on hand to offer advice on where to go and the odd map and leaflet is also provided.
Very clean rooms with everything we needed. Nice touch was leaving us 2 wine glasses when they noticed the evidence that we enjoyed a bottle of wine when we got in late one evening. Would definitely return. The weather didn't allow us to enjoy the garden but that was particularly pretty and relaxing looking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenOHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Ashdene House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Prior to booking this B&B I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and can only agree 100% with the other 5 star reviews. My sister and I stayed for 5 nights in mid May, this is a fabulous place to stay and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is provided even cotton buds in the bathroom and clean dressing gowns. Before going, I asked Annette if we could have skimmed milk and this was provided every day. This will be our base each time we go to Norfolk, no need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check their website and you can then choose the room yuo like the look of.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We decided to get away for the weekend for our wedding anniversary and chose the beautiful county of Norfolk.

When we arrived at Dersingham and found, (easily by the way), Ashdene House, we were a bit concerned as it was on a main junction. But our worries were unfounded.

We pulled into a spacious private car park alongside a beautifully maintained garden. Which incidentally all guests have full use of.

We were warmly welcomed by one of the 2 sisters who ran the hotel and once we had been shown to our room were invited down to the very tastefully decorated lounge for a refreshing cuppa and piece of cake.

The room, we were in room 3, overlooked the front, which included that dreaded main road junction, but we really didn't here any noise from the traffic.

Whilst the room was not the largest that we had used, it was by no means the smallest. Decoration was good. Spotlessly clean, with the usual coffee and tea making facilities and TV with free view.

We were given excellent directions for a short 15 minute walk to some pubs for evening food.

Breakfast in the morning was superb, with some excellent choices including home made bread.
I'm sure that our hosts felt that I needed fattening up as they were continually trying to get me to eat more of such good food.

All in all a brilliant retreat to explore North West Norfolk. Definitely recommend Ashdene House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoggyPhil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Drinks and home-made cakes on.arrival. Good choice.of breakfasts. Annette and gill always willing to help. was given information on local places to visit. Location ideal for visits to kings Lynn and various coastal towns. Will definitely be back soon .very happy with our stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked at the last minute and took a chance on this nice little place. On arrival we were met by Annette who looked after us and brought us a really welcome cup of tea and cakes. The place is small but really well looked after and has a nice feel about it. We ate at a recommended pub just up the road The Feathers in Dersingham village and that too was spot on.
Breakfast next morning was very nice too and was served by Annette's sister Gill who was a great host and so friendly and gave us some great advice about places to visit and knowledgeable about the local bird life.
The only negative for me and its a small one was traffic noise at night as Ashdene stands on a traffic light junction but thats because I'm a fresh air freak and have to have the windows open and to be fair with them closed you cant hear anything.
Nice place and great service.

Room Tip: If you sleep with windows wide open like me you may not want a room at the front facing the main rd
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zafar1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I cant say enough with how good the stay was, and I have to say the choice in the room was amazing and we even had an en-suite bathroom which was an added bonus. We were greeted with drinks and cake as we arrived, offered advice of the local area and provided with leaflets for all the places we were planning to go (We also saved £4 per person at sea life as well due to this, a win in my book).

As I stated already, the stay was amazing the area was also amazing, if I could have stayed longer I would have done.

Thank you Annette and Jill <3

Room Tip: This is not a tip for the room, but try the hot chocolate provided in the room, its to die for.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my Husband stayed for the night and had a fantastic time. We were made to feel very welcome and the room was clean, fresh and very homely.
The two owners were very welcoming and couldn't have been nicer. We were given a range of teas,coffees, water, biscuits and hot chocolate in our room, as well as being greeted with drinks and freshly homemade cakes upon arrival. The breakfast in the morning was more than substantial, with pretty much everything on offer, including fresh salmon.
A lovely place. Will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
889 reviews
5.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
7.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coach & Horses
Coach & Horses
#2 of 8 in Dersingham
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdene House

Address: 60 Hunstanton Road, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range: $105 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdene House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and run B and B. We aim to provide a relaxed, home from home atmosphere and make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashdene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdene House Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing