We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Birthday Celebration”

The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cradley B&B and Inns
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Memorable Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The occasion was a small (8) family dinner party to celebrate my Wife's birthday. After discussing arrangements and menu with Claire and John some weeks beforehand, I managed to keep secret the venue so that Tricia had a really pleasant surprise when we arrived - the others were already there. On a dark October evening, what a pleasure to be greeted by Claire and ushered through to the comfortable drawing room with its log fire, and enjoy a champagne reception with delicious canapes.
The superb six-course dinner was served efficiently and unobtrusively in the attractive dining room - yet another beautifully proportioned room so typical of this Georgian Rectory. We all were delighted by the wonderfully cooked and beautifully presented food, so much of which is locally produced. The Beef Wellington main course was superb, as were the other courses including the carpaccio of salmon and the cognac sorbet. Retiring afterwards to the comfort of the sofas in the drawing room, coffee was served to round off a delightful evening.
Claire and John were the perfect hosts - most welcoming and charming, and the whole evening was highly memorable. We will have to find a reason for another celebration at The Old Rectory.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Old Rectory is where to go to relax be well fed and spoilt!
Set amidst lovely countryside with good walks to the Malvern Hills.
The rooms are delightful with comfy beds , good linens and well stocked bathrooms.
Claire cooks fabulous dinners served in the candle- lit dining room where guests share the evening together. For breakfast there is an amazing choice of delicious dishes all cooked to order along with home made jams and marmalade.
Claire and John are wonderful hosts who really care about their guests.
We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Old Rectory is charming, welcoming and very comfortable indeed. The bedrooms we used were spacious, with excellent bed-linen and toiletries, and charming antique furniture. We stayed in a family suite, with three bedrooms, a small kitchen and a very comfortable sitting room with books, games and TV.

We had breakfast on two mornings and dinner on one evening. The dinner was excellent - local produce, beautifully cooked. The breakfasts were even better: the choice was remarkable for a small B&B, with dishes such as eggs Benedict available. The breads and jams were home made, the juice was freshly squeezed and nothing was too much trouble.

Overall, an excellent B&B, and one to which we hope to return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGenealogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Old Rectory organised a superb reception after the wedding of my son Tom and Lubica at St James's Church which is next door. We walked from the church, through a lovely archway, into the grounds of the Old Rectory where home-made canapes and champagne awaited. Then, into the marquee on the croquet lawn for the receprion. The food and service were magnificent. Lubi's parents from Slovakia stayed at the Old Rectory during the wedding and were very well looked after in every respect.
In organising all this for us, the team at The Old Rectory took all the hassle out of the organisation and left us free to enjoy a wonderful day.
The setting is idyllic in the middle of rolling Worcestershire countryside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The property is in the beautiful village of Cradley just outside of Great Malvern (10mins drive), and my husband and I found it the most relaxing weekend away. (We recommend the walks from the property into the countryside, beautiful farm land and you feel very away from the world).

The property is a beautiful old house with lots of character, with two hosts who want you to treat the place like home, with nothing being too much trouble. Our bathroom was separate from our room, but still private, and was lovely and modern but still inkeeping with the overall style of the house.

We had dinner on Saturday night with the other guests, which made a lovely evening experience, particularly as the property seems to attract like minded visitors. Definitely worth booking in advance for dinner, with the menu on the website - the food is excellent, and attempts to use as much local produce as possible.

Breakfast is the event of the day - the menu is extensive and all cooked to an amazing standard (recommend the eggs benedict). The pace is relaxed and you amble over breakfast with the other guests (chill out - don't hurry!).

There are a lot of repeat visitors here, and certainly could easily find ourselves becoming one of them again........

Room Tip: Book direct not via other websitess (no price difference, and can pick room better)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25to30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoutim Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Thank you Claire and John for all your hard work in making Luke and Sharons wedding so very special.
We had a brilliant time and have come away with wonderful memories.
The house itself was full of charm, quirky in the nicest of ways, with a stack of books to read and brilliant art work. ( A lot by Claire who is a very talented lady).
Our room was lovely and the bed big enough for three!
The bathroom held everything you might have forgotten to bring. Which was a lovely touch.
Like the rest of the house the decor was stylish and tasteful.
We liked the sloe gin waiting for us in crystal glasses!
The wedding breakfast was delicious, with wonderful canapes whilst we drank Pims.
Breakfast was great. We are having to come back to try the meat eaters only breakfast!!!Make no mistake Claire is a great cook. Why do some people have so much talent? And I have none?
The setting for all of this indulgence is a dream and Cradley itself a charming upmarket village.
Thanks once again and we can`t wait to come back.
Helen and Ray Todd-Wood
Portugal

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helentoddwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

On the 2nd of July 2011 we celebrated my daughters wedding at The Old Rectory. The accommodation on the night prior to and on the wedding night was excellent with first class service from Claire and John the proprietors.
On the day of the wedding the staff were extremely helpful, the food was delicious and the venue was perfect, many thanks to all involved in making this the most memorable day

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradley
3.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
916 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Foley Arms Hotel
Foley Arms Hotel
#3 of 10 in Great Malvern
697 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ashbury Bed & Breakfast
Ashbury Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 30 in Great Malvern
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rectory Lane, Cradley WR13 5LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Cradley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cradley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, Cradley, Malvern, we are pleased to offer luxurious Bed and Breakfast and evening meals. Our magnificent listed Georgian property is set in the idyllic village of Cradley and nestles at the foot of the Malvern Hills in an area of outstanding natural beauty and is considered one of the finest Old Rectories in this part of the county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing