We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Hostel Hellesylt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hellesylt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Hellesylt
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Close to the noisy road, a simple small respatex room without any decoration, and bed 180 cm long. When entering the toilet/shower i found myself standing in pee from the last customer. It was not cleaned. The staff seemed bored and in need of a vacation. Only reason to give 1 was the breakfast. Stay away from this expensive bad hostel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fellow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
5
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Bad location (along the road...), bored staff, unclean rooms, non equipped kitchen and highly overpriced! Ok, new accommodations are being built but in that case be clear about it when people call, stop showing old photos on websites and adapt prices. 890Nok (115€) for an old, tiny, dirt two bedroom (with toilet, shower and bed linen) is the worst deal we had in Norway! The only positive thing is the view on the fjord...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamyriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hellesylt hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a group of 8 travelling from Trondheim for 3 nights (late feb) to go skiing. Unfortunately, we'd underestimated the time taken to get here (Don't believe google maps! what was supposed to take under 6 hours took us over 13!) and due to some closed roads and ferries in the area, we didn't arrive until after 1am in the morning. Having called ahead, the staff made an arrangement so our keys would be available when we arrived.

We were pleasantly surprised at the condition and comfort of our 3 rooms (2 double, 1 quad), and in the morning, the view from our personal balcony was spectacular. All bedding and towels were supplied and the beds were soft and warm. The bathroom was very clean, with a large shower and a heater that made it a good "drying room" for our ski gear. The breakfast service was much better than expected, (cereals, breads, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, coffee, and a large range of cold meats and accompaniments, as well as home-made waffles on sunday morning) and the breakfast bar had sandwich bags and disposable cutlery so we could take a packed lunch for the day. When we returned from the days skiing in nearby Stranda, the staff had left a note on our door saying "breakfast from 7 o'clock", and had delivered fresh towels to our room.

The only problem we had was there didn't seem to be a kitchen or common area available for guests to use. For dinner on the 2 nights we were in town, we walked to the local restaurant (Ocal's, about 10 minutes downhill on foot), and when 8 of us wanted to have a few apres ski drinks at the hostel, we were all crammed into one room with 2 single beds. (There were tables outside but being winter, It was too cold to use them).

We were extremely satisfied and would reccomend this to anyone who is staying in the area. It was quite good value for money (especially considering it was quite remote and in Norway). If you're staying in winter, make sure you call the roads department in advance!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor might be a bit quieter as there were some stairs outside our room and we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I just love it altough it requires a fifteen minute walk from the bus stop. Very pleasant place run by 3 girls: German, Pole and Czech. They offer beds in a 6-people dormitories, toilets and showers are in the corridor. The hostel has a terrace with a marvellous view at the Geirangerfjord. There is a computer room with (unfortunately) low-speed Internet (free of charge). The price includes tasty breakfast. This place is the ideal base camp for journeys around the Geirangerfjord.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snooka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Negatives - Very noisy due to local workers also staying in this hostel and waking every morning at 4.30am to 6am to have their breakfast. We complained and were told they are usually very quiet, basically they didn't care. We stayed for 3 nights and they woke us every single morning banging furniture and talking.
- We were told certain things were available such as kayaks and bikes and they weren't or we had to chase people in other locations / hotels for the details. I understand its low season but we emailed beforehand to make sure things were available.
- Absolutely nothing to do at night and the internet was down for a night and day while we were there.

Positives - Great location and good views if your in a room facing the Fjord.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodes1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daganzo de Arriba, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This review is about the "Hi Hostel" at Hellesylt.
Not sure if there are anymore hostels in the area.

We arrived late with the ferry from Gudvangen. It was a bit tricky to find because with the car you must leave the town and get into a tunnel to Stranda. But you dont leave the town, it just seems to. If you get there walking its easier because you get using a pedestrian way so you dont need to enter in the tunnel by foot at all.

The lady in charge, Anne, is really kind and she helped us in everyway making our stay very nice and pleasant.

We stayed in the cottages beside the hostel. It seems that you cant book them through the website of the hostel, but you can get them on spot if there´s space.

We were a party of four and it was great the fjord view. The cottage is quite basic but comfy enough for young travellers.

As there arent many places at walking distance around, it was worth getting the breakfast in the hostel, and it was very well prepared and tasty, all thanks to Anne, she does a great job"

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellesylt
10.4 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
13.9 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.7 mi away
Djupvasshytta
Djupvasshytta
#2 of 14 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Hellesylt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Hellesylt

Property: Hostel Hellesylt
Address: Fd Grand Hotel, Hellesylt, Stranda 6218, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Hellesylt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hellesylt
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing