We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real taste of France in a castle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Set in a sleepy village this is an amazing find. The welcome is warm and genuine, you are made to feel at home straight away, and what a home! Imposing on the outside, warm and cozy on the inside, the decoration is all tasteful and of the best quality. We went for a function and the catering was first class and lots of it; the local produce is all fresh and exciting. For a funtion, or just a base to enjoy one of the prettiest parts of France I can recommend the Chateau.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Titus_Oates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at the Chateau for a few weeks towards the end of August to early September 2009. The Chateau is the perfect place for day trips thoughout the Loire Valley and there are excellent restaurants just a short drive away. The owners are fluent in English and French and are very friendly and helpful. They have an amazing knowledge of the Chateau's history which they were happy to share with us.
Our room and ensuite were much larger than expected and private.The bed was extremely comfortable with first quality linen, a luxury rarely experienced these days. Breakfast was enjoyed in the lovely breakfast room and was again more than expected. Included were jam and preserves home made by one of the owners, from fruit grown in the orchard - delicious. We were able to wander around the 10 acres of gardens when ever we wanted to and enjoyed sitting under the trees enjoying the peace and tranquility. An amazing holiday and one we will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aussieworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

If you're looking for an amazing place to stay in the Loire area, treat yourself to a few nights at Chateau de la Celle-Guenand. You'll be welcomed by British gentlemen, one of whom is also fluent in French, so communication should be simple either way! Not only are the hosts extremely attentive and welcoming, but the chateau and the grounds are awesome. How often is one able to stay in a 15th century castle that's also a bed and breakfast? Our room was impeccably decorated with the perfect mixture of modern and antique, creating an interesting juxtaposition of styles. Delicious, traditional French-style breakfast awaits you after sleeping in a very comfortable bed. And before our departure, hosts even offered us a tour of the underground tunnels used to defend the chateau in the old days. Set in a quaint, quiet town, this is the perfect place to stay for a nice, relaxing, and unforgettable getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Franceisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The Chateau was larger than we expected and set in good sized grounds. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated with clean bathrooms. Breakfast included freshly baked croissants, bread and yoghurt. La Celle-Guenand is a small peaceful village in the Loire Valley and was a good base for us to visit Tours, Villandry, Chenonceau and Loches. We also found it helpful the owners were fluent in English and French and suggested lovely local restaurants. We haven't slept so well on holiday before!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goodlife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: magique dedormir dans un chateau !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleProud, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten ein Standard-Doppelzimmer mit eigenem Bad.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Simona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleProud, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ute3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleProud, Manager at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Celle-Guenand
18.8 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Usseau
184 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy
24.6 mi away
Chateau de Razay
Chateau de Razay
#45 of 397 in Loire Valley
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de La Celle Guenand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de La Celle Guenand

Address: 14 rue du Chateau | Loire Valley, 37350 La Celle-Guenand, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > La Celle-Guenand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Celle-Guenand
Price Range: $126 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heureux propriétaire de cette demeure chargée d'histoire, campagnarde et dominant la ville - La Celle-Guenand - je vous y recevrai comme mes invités. Vous vivrez un moment hors du temps dans un cadre atypique, doté de tout le confort d'aujourd'hui. Au château de La Celle-Guenand, vous séjournerez dans un havre de paix, parmi les meubles de famille, servis à la française et dégusterez les produits du terroir de la Touraine ! Si vous le souhaitez, vous pourrez dîner au château. Le menu, selon les saisons, vous régalera de spécialités locales et de bons vins de propriétaires. Je pourrais aussi-vous conter l'histoire du château et de la région, au gré de vos interrogations et vous faire découvrir la richesse de notre magnifique département d'Indre et Loire. A bientôt pour vous offrir un séjour confort ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de La Celle Guenand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing