We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, very nice host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We really liked the stay at Stevens chateau!
Open-minded and friendly host. Captivating castle.
Hope to see you next summer again!

Die besten Grüße und Wünsche aus Deutschland!
Best Greetings and wishes from Germany!
Johannes and Robert

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobertCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für die nette Kommentare hier im TripAdvisor. Es freut uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und Sie mit unserem Service zufrieden waren. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald einmal wieder als Gast bei uns zu begrüssen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 160 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was fantastic! There are 5 B&B rooms in the chateau and 2 gites (self-accomodating apartments); closest to the chateau is the Garden House, and the Gate House at the entrance from the road. We never got to see that one, but the Garden House couldn't have been more perfect...a great mix of old and new. New stuff to keep it habitable, with some old stuff to keep it unique and interesting; like a big, creeky wooden front door with a big iron skeleton key, and a toilet built in a buttress of the building off the living room space.
Otherwise, it was modern and well-equipped, with two nearly identical bedrooms, and a bathroom off each, with sink and shower (no toilets).
Stephan (owner and host) was very helpful - actually British, he helped with translation, and gave us a marvelous tour of the property, which had s labyrinth of caves and passages under the castle.
I'd have to rate this as the most worthwhile place I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paintball-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us at chateau celle-guenand and we are very pleased to read you enjoyed the experience. Thank you for your kind comments. See again one day, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a huge family and friends party in the chateau and it was amazingly successful. Stephen Palluel worked very hard to manage a very large number of us and to give us a wonderful weekend. Stephen gave everyone a tour of the chateau explaining its history which fascinated old and young alike. No trouble was enough as we even had a fire in the huge fireplace of our breakfast room. All in all well recommended for family reunions as ours was a great success. We also saw the gites that he has renovated so beautifully and the lovely rooms in the chateau itself so there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NenitaGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

I wanted to thank you for holding your family event at chateau de La Celle-Guenand and I’m so pleased from your response that everyone had an enjoyable experience. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Chateau de La Celle-Guenand for three nights in August 2013. The whole experience was very enjoyable and we do hope to return in the future.

I highly recommend this accommodation for couples, family and friends.

The host has created a very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere where you can unwind in some very nice and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MunsterCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing Chateau de La Celle-Guenand for your recent stay in the Touraine. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our B&B. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again. Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I enquired about a family room on a Sunday. I was sent an email on the Monday letting me know that it was available and that I was required to make a deposit online. I sent an email on the Monday explaining that I was travelling, that we definitely planned to stay and that I would make the deposit on Wednesday. I made the deposit on Thursday morning at 5:30 am, and received an email to inform me that they took another booking and that the room was no longer available. I ran a four star bed and breakfast for 5 years and I never treated a customer like this. A short email enquiring if the deposit had been made would have been a kind courtesy and would have taken less than 60 seconds. Anyone needing to ensure that they have a room when travelling through France may wish to book with a more customer oriented hotel. Perhaps that is why they had availability on the bank holiday Sunday only a week in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Kryspkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Your displeasure at not having your room confirmed and available is understandable. This is a small family run B&B and at a very busy time of year, very occassionally things don't work out as I would wish. I apologise for not being able to follow up with you later in the week and for any inconvenience this caused you. Perhaps you will give me another chance next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed two nights in this delightful chateau in the sleepy village of La Celle Guenand on our way back from the South of France. Stephen is a marvellous host, passionate and knowledgable about his beautiful home, including the amazing 9th Century underground tunnels. The grounds are extensive with a wonderful vegetable garden - produce used for delicious homemade dinners on the terrace and in the breakfast jams. However, the rooms themselves are the highlight, stunning yet homely, with crisp white linen on the really stylish and comfortable bed. A real treat after a week of camping! Within easy reach of all the main sights in the Loire - this is a perfect place to come back to at the end of a busy day, and relax with a glass of wine watching the sun go down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

I'm glad that you found your visit to chateau de La Celle Guenand relaxing, and thanks for your kind comments about my cooking and jam making skills. I really appreciate your comments about the rooms too. It means a lot to me that you took the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed one night, 5 July, and found the welcome very warm and correct. The room was very large, the bathroom, too, and very clean. Good restaurant recommendation and great continental breakfast the next morning completed a nice stay. The location (near Loches) is close enough to the great chateaux but away from the noise and traffic of a big city (only 500 in the village).

Room Tip: Choose your room from the internet site; we found the chateau in the book, "welcome to the chat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graciefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We really do appreciate your support. We hope you will return one day. Best regards, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Celle-Guenand
18.8 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Usseau
184 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy
24.6 mi away
Chateau de Razay
Chateau de Razay
#47 of 397 in Loire Valley
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de La Celle Guenand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de La Celle Guenand

Address: 14 rue du Chateau | Loire Valley, 37350 La Celle-Guenand, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > La Celle-Guenand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Celle-Guenand
Price Range: $127 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heureux propriétaire de cette demeure chargée d'histoire, campagnarde et dominant la ville - La Celle-Guenand - je vous y recevrai comme mes invités. Vous vivrez un moment hors du temps dans un cadre atypique, doté de tout le confort d'aujourd'hui. Au château de La Celle-Guenand, vous séjournerez dans un havre de paix, parmi les meubles de famille, servis à la française et dégusterez les produits du terroir de la Touraine ! Si vous le souhaitez, vous pourrez dîner au château. Le menu, selon les saisons, vous régalera de spécialités locales et de bons vins de propriétaires. Je pourrais aussi-vous conter l'histoire du château et de la région, au gré de vos interrogations et vous faire découvrir la richesse de notre magnifique département d'Indre et Loire. A bientôt pour vous offrir un séjour confort ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de La Celle Guenand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing