We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable and conscientious owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed one night, 5 July, and found the welcome very warm and correct. The room was very large, the bathroom, too, and very clean. Good restaurant recommendation and great continental breakfast the next morning completed a nice stay. The location (near Loches) is close enough to the great chateaux but away from the noise and traffic of a big city (only 500 in the village).

Room Tip: Choose your room from the internet site; we found the chateau in the book, "welcome to the chat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graciefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We really do appreciate your support. We hope you will return one day. Best regards, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our most recent visit confirmed all the wonderful memories we have of times spent here previously. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the white linen is pure luxury. Breakfast on the terrace is plentiful and nothing is too much trouble for Stephen. We were travelling with friends on this occasion, they were pleasantly surprised to find the Chateau not only lived up to everything we had told them but exceeded their expectation. They are now planning to visit again next year. Always the highlight of our holiday to Europe. You will not be disappointed .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank aussieworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Welcoming return visitors is always special for us and we were very happy to see you again, and to meet your friends. As you were so taken with the homemade four berries jam, on your next visit we will be sure to keep an extra pot especially for you! Best regards, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A fantastic break in this special place with Stephane the perfect host. He produced a delicious 4 course meal for us in the grand salon & took us on a tour of this exceptional château.Bed was comfy, bathroom vast & there were even my favourite birds- swifts- nesting in the tower alonside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hasbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Chateau de La Celle Guenand. We are thrilled that your visit was enjoyable and comfortable; it certainly was a pleasure meeting you. We look forward to your return one day. Best regards, Stephane. PS You will be pleased to hear the swifts are still swooping for insects around the top of the turrets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just spent a week in one of the 'gites' with our three sons and had a lovely time. We have been renting houses and cottages in France for over 15 years now and unanimously agree that this was probably the best so far. The beds are very comfortable, the couch is big and equally comfy, the kitchen and bathroom are both well equipped, clean and contemporary and the overall decoration is very elegant and stylish. The chateau itself is of very human proportions and utterly charming, and wondering around the grounds and through the gardens is delightful. As a bonus, we were given a tour by our host Stephen Palluel, which included exploring the different caves that exist under the chateau. We combined day trips to Chenonceau, Azay le Rideau and Chambord, with just lazing around reading and making shorter outings to villages, chateaus and other attractions nearby. After a week, we feel we have only seen the tip of the iceberg and I would be surprised if we did not return to explore further.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paletcar, Owner at Chateau de La Celle Guenand, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience of La Conciergerie with our TripAdvisor friends. We've worked hard to bring the old gatehouse back to life, so we were very pleased to hear that you and your family rate it so highly. We hope your happy memories will bring you back one day. Best regards, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A short break in the Loire Valley at the end of September proved to be yet another memorable holiday with friends. Our host M. D'Arz-Palluel was gracious and considerate. His chateau was lovely, beds were superbly comfortable and, because there were only four of us there, we were invited to dine in his private rooms.

We went on day trips to Villandry, Blois, Grand-Pressigny (excellent museum of pre-history) and Chambord. Local restaurants were excellent, particularly Olivier Arlot's restaurant in Montbazon

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All the guest rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed over the weekend. It was so relaxing and enjoyable. Just what we needed. The chateau is old and rustic and full of charm. Our room was large and comfortable and we slept amazingly well. We took breakfast on the terrace and strolled in the gardens in the evening. Our host Steve was very friendly and helpuful. He arranged the restaurant bookings and he even took us to La Promenade in his real London taxi so we could have a drink - what a treat. If you find yourself in this part of France, we highly recommend a night or two at this special place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CadStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful, enchanting place....perfect for relaxing and soaking up the magical atmosphere. The chateau rooms are magnificent, with original fabric wall coverings, modern ensuites, and the crispest, cool white linen ensures the best of nights sleep (fit for any prince or princess!)
Steven is a marvelous host, sharing his beautiful home and ensuring that you experience meets your expectations...and beyond!
i intend returning for what will be my fourth stay soon!

Room Tip: The Gites within the grounds are ideal for families - but for a real taste of chateau life, a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lechatonrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de La Celle Guenand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de La Celle Guenand

Address: 14 rue du Chateau | Loire Valley, 37350 La Celle-Guenand, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > La Celle-Guenand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Celle-Guenand
Price Range: $127 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heureux propriétaire de cette demeure chargée d'histoire, campagnarde et dominant la ville - La Celle-Guenand - je vous y recevrai comme mes invités. Vous vivrez un moment hors du temps dans un cadre atypique, doté de tout le confort d'aujourd'hui. Au château de La Celle-Guenand, vous séjournerez dans un havre de paix, parmi les meubles de famille, servis à la française et dégusterez les produits du terroir de la Touraine ! Si vous le souhaitez, vous pourrez dîner au château. Le menu, selon les saisons, vous régalera de spécialités locales et de bons vins de propriétaires. Je pourrais aussi-vous conter l'histoire du château et de la région, au gré de vos interrogations et vous faire découvrir la richesse de notre magnifique département d'Indre et Loire. A bientôt pour vous offrir un séjour confort ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de La Celle Guenand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing