We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 minutes from Calais.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de La Riviere
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a lovely surprise. The rooms are small but clean and modern. The staff are attentive and friendly and the food is fantastic. Dinner is not cheap but then you are paying for genuine quality and we both enjoyed our breakfast in the morning.
The weather was good so spent a bit of time reading in the garden at the back.

There is a railway line fairly close but this did not detract from our enjoyment.

A real find that we will definitely use again.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking river with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

We picked the hotel for its location near the channel ports but not actually in either Calais or Bolougne.

The hotel owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and breakfast was one of the better ones we have had in France (fresh fruit salad, selection of breads and pastries and cooked eggs if wanted at no aditional cost).

For us the secure on site car park was a real plus point.

On the down side the room we had was very small and we felt it was over priced.

The price of wine in the restaurant per bottle again was expensive - over 35 Euro for an average bottle of wine - we noticed that one menu had wine with it and this looked to be better value.

We also felt the service was very slow. We do not like to be rushed but often we waited with dirty plates for over 20 minutes between service.

We would go back but would try to get a larger room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A lovely restaurant with rooms outside boulogne. The food is fantastic (home made pastries from the kitchen for breakfast) and really amazing service but it is a bit pricey. House champagne was 85 euros which was the same price as Dom perignon and 6 coffees cost 65 euros! The rooms are small as is the bathroom but all nicely done and very clean. A nice place but be prepared to pay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way for Normandy. If the hotel would not have been located near the rather uninspiring town of Boulogne sur Mer and/or in St Etienne au Mont one night would have definitely been too short. Let it be clear, apartnfrom its location this little hotel is all you need. We were welcomed and treated in a very nice and friendly way by staff and owners alike. The hotel and restaurant have both been recently renovated in avery welcoming and trendy style. The restaurant is just great and could go into the next edition of one of the many interior decorating magazines. The rooms are very small and simple but do have all the comfort one would need for a few nights. Everything was spot clean and in pristine condition. The real treat is the restaurant. The food is excellent ! We went for the menu and paid 60 euros for a five course dinner. Breakfast has french undertones but you get a fresh fruit salad, an egg and homemade viennoiserie. A real treat. All for 12 euros. One small remark, if the juice would have been fresh, that would have been a surplus.
The hotel seems to have quite a history and seems to be the place to be among the locals in Boulogne. We understand why !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having read the other reviews I was looking forward to the gastromonic experience at this hotel. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown to our room by the smiling Guilliame who seemed to multi-task. Our room had been refurbished and was compact, overlooking the road, with a neat en suite shower room.

However, the main reason for visiting was the dining experience. The restaurant had only re-opend the previous week after being redo under Sybille's careful eye and was stylish and elegant. The food was excellent - everything we had been lead to believe - with lovely wines matching each course. I'd never had pumpkin sorbet before but can recommend it!

Breakfast the following morning was also a definite step uo from the average French petit dejeuner with fruit salad, yoghourt, eggs and various home made breads and pastries.

A worthwhile experience and once in a while treat. Not sure if I'd go again - it isn't a cheap break, we went with a group of friends which added to the ambience.

Room Tip: Trya and get a room on the side - the back overlooks the railway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have been regular visitors for a few years and now plan ferry timings to include a visit. The food is exceptional and, as other reviewers have mentioned, Dominique and Sybille are charming and efficient. It is the best sort of French family run restaurant.
The rooms are now of good modern quality and we await the refurbishment of the dining room and bar, scheduled for March, with interest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We made the booking for the Hotel through Booking.com after reading reviews of the Restaurant. We recieved a very warm welcome, and were very surprised to find our room to be not only comfortable but very well appointed for only having a 3 Star rating. We would certainly give this Hotel 4 Stars. Dominique and his staff in the Resturant cannot recieve enough praise from us. The food and choice of menu were excellent. He certainly deserves his Michelin Star. We went to bed "very happy campers". If only we lived closer and not thousands of kilometers away, we would make this a regular destination. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: My only tip would be to get very good driving directions to the Hotel, as even our GPS had trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie de La Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de La Riviere

Address: 17, rue de la Gare | Pont-de-Briques, 62360 Saint-Etienne-au-Mont, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Etienne-au-Mont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Etienne-au-Mont
Price Range: $89 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de La Riviere 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie de La Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Riviere France/Saint-Etienne-Au-Mont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing