We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location...but thats it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place has a beautiful setting but that where it ends! Rooms are of poor quality and NO soap or shampoo for a price that certainly should have included the basic amenities. The beach area was very nice however they don't clean up outside and the place certainly does NOT compare to surrounding properties that are nicely maintained. The staff seems disconnected and could use customer service training. Would NOT recommend this property to others as there are many beautiful surrounding properties and dining options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saavytraveler0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 423 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Om was the perfect fit for us for a week with our 7 yr old. Price was a good value compared to other places on the beachside. Staff is lovely. They were wonderful with our daughter. Isabelle and Raquel and all the rest of the staff are "buena gente". The food was always tasty with many wonderful fresh seafood dishes and greens. Compared to many places in Tulum, the food is a very good value. They have this amazing habanero, olive oil garlic sauce (ask for it). Tulum is an Eco friendly place to visit. If you want fancy rooms, AC and hot showers, choose another place. You are paying to be on an amazing beautiful safe beach. The ocean breeze is wonderful, we never turned on the ac unit and the ceiling fan was perfect. Windows stayed open and often in the early morning we opened the door to let in more fresh air. We stayed behind the restaurant and found the smells of grilled octopus tantalizing and mouth watering. Juan Carlos has small dive shop at Om. He is very friendly and set up a snorkeling trip for us. He had boogie boards to rent and showed my husband a reef to snorkel right of the hotel. The beach drink and food service is great and they were very attentive. In general, in Tulum, it helps if you speak Spanish but then you are visiting a Spanish speaking country. I read some of these unhappy reviews and just think expectations must be to blame. If you want all inclusive, Tulum in general is not for you. Om was great, all we expected. Thanks to the employees who made our trip fantastic. Sophia dice Hola!!!

Tulum an amazing place to visit if you are happy with the simple life and few amenities relatively speaking for what you pay. Bring cash, very few places take credit. Food in Tulum over all was excellent. We never had a bad or mediocre meal. We will come back, and have recommended to several friends.

Room Tip: I think maybe a room on the second level? to get more breeze perhaps #9? we stayed in #7 which was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were disappointed in everything but the location of this hotel. We stayed at four hotels/inns across an 8 day trip and this was the bad apple of the bunch. Had it been cheap, it would have been understandable - but it was not at all cheap.

We paid over $200 US for a very hot room & unimpressive room (room 8) immediately behind the concrete front restaurant-reception - billed as having ocean views but having a slight glimpse out to the side. When they are cooking in the kitchen, smoke ends up coming into your room if it's a little windy (you can't shut the windows unless you want to expire into the heat).

One ceiling fan the only way to keep cool (a previous hotel without A.C also provided a small fan for bedside table - makes all the difference to sleeping).

Ate lunch at the restaurant first day - food was unimpressive (there's lots of great spots to eat nearby that were a LOT better) and the wine served by glass had been open a while and was off -when this was pointed out it wasn't replaced and we were still charge for the undrinkable stuff.

The management were generally unfriendly, unlike other places we stayed in Mexico.

Beach setting is lovely - when you're actually ON the beach - but I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you pay a LOT less.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbGal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Manager does nothing but bark orders at the staff. When asked if he could give change for a 40USD to pesos he offered me - flippantly and laughing 400 pesos. Every request is no and he is unprofessional at best. The staff although sweet are incompetent. Walking in circles


No beach service to speak of. Chairs are broken down, unorganized, cushions full of sand never brushed off or cleaned, you have to give a deposit for towels, if you want a clean room that can easily fit 4 people, on the beach great,reasonable by Tulum standards but that should be the expectation a room.



Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank RP0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent a week here with friends and family to attend my daughter's wedding. It was awesome. We got exactly what we came for (pay attention to the website). Loved the place, the staff, and the experience. Thanks to Diego for taking care of everyone all week, young and old. Thanks to the owners for the great wedding props and reception. Thanks to the lady that took care of our messy cabin every day and left it clean with beautiful towel artwork.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

So many places to stay at Tulum beach - but we think that one's just perfect. Far away to avoid day visitors crowding the beach, but close enough to be lively. The moment we entered the lush garden we started to relax. We're actually not that much into buddha style, but here it just felt right. The cabanas are simple indeed - but hey, it's a jungle beach and we did not expect luxury. Actually being simple made it so cosy. Some of the reviews tell other visitors to avoid room number 8 since it's directly behing the reception. But we stayed there and would definitely recommend it since it feels safe, offers a lot of privacy with its private potio on the first floor (surrounded by treetops) offering an absolute relaxing hammock chair and the perfect ocean soundtrack of crushing waves since it's closest to the beach of all cabanas. The water in the shower tasted a bit salty (but that did not matter to us) and for brushing your teeth they provide several bottles of still mineral water a day, so that was all fine. We had two huge beds with all new mosquito nets and comfy mattresses. There's a fan but no air condition. There's no fridge, but whenever we needed ice cubes for our drinks we brought along they provided them. Like they provided just everything we needed and asked for. One day we saw some People kayaking in the ocean and asked if they knew where to rent one. After just 5 minutes they had organised a kayak they provided for free (even if they don't mention it on their homepage, they have their own kayak for their guests and it appeared to be quite new). The staff was just extremly nice, friendly and helpful 24/7 and really made us feel at home. They have a very cosy restaurant on the 1st floor with wonderful beach views and service on their small but nice beach area. It's a beautiful stretch of beach and you can walk along the beach for hours in each direction. Best of all was the absolutely delicious food. We ate in their restaurant almost every day although we usually like to try as many different places as possible. It was just mouthwatering delicious and freshly cooked - either if you choose Mexican cuisine or their well-known Wood oven Pizza (which you can take away to your room or Patio as well like we did one evening). Good thing is that they also have a divemaster on premise. We easily booked a cenote diving tour (to nearby Grand cenote), he picked us up right on the premise, organised all our diving gear, and took us back again. We had not planned to dive in a cenote, but it was absolutely cool and we loved it. Overall, it's a very relaxing place. Don't expect any kind of luxury, but expect to go back to Basic and just relax.

Room Tip: Before booking a room, get in touch with them via email (they respond quickly) and ask if the room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moni_Kurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

In the high season when a room is $200 this place falls seriously short. Pros, the restaurant staff and employees are friendly and the food was pretty good and a relatively good value for being on the beach. i recommend the restaurant.
The rooms are pitiful, so for $200 we were VERY DISAPPOINTED.
First room 101 smelled of urine and mold. You are paying for AC here and the AC only worked one night, broken the next. We went to ask for help and no one was around. ALSO...THEY DON'T TELL YOU IF YOU DON'T INQUIRE BUT THEY TURN ALL ELECTRICITY OFF FROM 5AM-7AM....(one morning 4:15-7:45am and i know this because i was awake from being so uncomfortable!) So you wake up at about 5:15 sweating your butt off.
Then we had to move rooms (now to 103) that they said the AC worked great..... but all it did was blow warm air around the room. no cold or even cool air. and this room was on the bottom floor not facing the beach so NO AIR WHATSOEVER and also smelled terribly of mold. now i understand why they put incense in the rooms..... so you can smell that instead of the mold. gross.
Beds are hard as rock. did not get a good night sleep while here.
i most certainly would not stay here again nor would i recommend it to anyone i know. i would go eat here again.
oh....also..FYI.....yes beach is gorgeous....but your in Tulum so how could it not be? but small beach area and the chairs are all cramped together. if you dont get out there early especially on the weekend forget getting a lounge chair.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeniemg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#73 of 100 in Tulum
226 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#49 of 100 in Tulum
283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#59 of 100 in Tulum
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $133 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing