We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay again, but restaurant yes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #73 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed March 6, 2014

In the high season when a room is $200 this place falls seriously short. Pros, the restaurant staff and employees are friendly and the food was pretty good and a relatively good value for being on the beach. i recommend the restaurant.
The rooms are pitiful, so for $200 we were VERY DISAPPOINTED.
First room 101 smelled of urine and mold. You are paying for AC here and the AC only worked one night, broken the next. We went to ask for help and no one was around. ALSO...THEY DON'T TELL YOU IF YOU DON'T INQUIRE BUT THEY TURN ALL ELECTRICITY OFF FROM 5AM-7AM....(one morning 4:15-7:45am and i know this because i was awake from being so uncomfortable!) So you wake up at about 5:15 sweating your butt off.
Then we had to move rooms (now to 103) that they said the AC worked great..... but all it did was blow warm air around the room. no cold or even cool air. and this room was on the bottom floor not facing the beach so NO AIR WHATSOEVER and also smelled terribly of mold. now i understand why they put incense in the rooms..... so you can smell that instead of the mold. gross.
Beds are hard as rock. did not get a good night sleep while here.
i most certainly would not stay here again nor would i recommend it to anyone i know. i would go eat here again.
oh....also..FYI.....yes beach is gorgeous....but your in Tulum so how could it not be? but small beach area and the chairs are all cramped together. if you dont get out there early especially on the weekend forget getting a lounge chair.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeniemg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 426 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Lissette and crew made our wedding weekend an amazing and memorable time. They helped us plan a Welcome Happy Hour for all of our guests that was extremely affordable. The Wedding Ceremony itself was right on the beach, followed by a sunset plated dinner, which was delicious. Being 100ft from the beautiful ocean also made for an extremely relaxing stay for the rest of our time in Tulum.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank benjaminchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spend 7 nights in OM Tulum, it was a pleasant and relaxing stay. The staff was very friendly but seemingly poorly trained and extremely slow, even for Mexican standards. There was no indication of any management, if there was any they were very hands off or incompetent. Food was average to good. The food during a wedding party we attended was excellent. House Keeping was excellent. The term "eco - friendly' seems to be used as an excuse for short comings. There is no indication of use of alternate energy sources. WIFI service is extremely slow, and basically no telephone service either. If there is any need for staying in contact with Home or Business during your vacation this is not the place to stay, other wise the Beach is great a lot of sun and beverage service on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHC_Westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want to relax, be right on the beach, and have good conversations with staff (or just laze about on the beach)- then this is the place for you. Sure there are some improvements to be made, but seriously this place has a great chill vibe, staff generally accommodate you well beyond any other hotel service. We had several folks go out of their way to assist us with planning trips to Chichen Itza with a large group. The pizzas are great value and very tasty, and being able to sit on those benches overlooking the ocean each morning is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a hammock chair. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auroratoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We loved this place!
From our cabana (room), which is obviously very rustic but also very comfy, to the restaurant that serves really good food, to the beach which is absolutely stunning and very quiet as well, so that's why for us it was the best place to chill out after 10 days in Playa Del Carmen for BPM (electronic music festival). Yes the water in the shower tastes a bit salty, but it doesn't dry or harm your skin ( i have very sensitive skin) and it washes your hair very well (I have a lot of medium length hair). Electricity was meant to go around 2am (or maybe midnight) but we always had it until around 4am. We knew about it and were not bothered at all by this policy, and we had outlets in our room. There are outlets in the bar area, right in front of the sea, so we often charged our devices there sipping a Pina Colada or Ojo Rojo rather than in our room.
We found it very clean, the staff were all very nice and friendly, they are a bit slow, but that's Mexico and it's good that way, they kind of force to really take it easy! (instead of carrying on with our hectic Londoners lifestyle). It is also a bit pricey, but we found that that's quit the norm in Tulum, so it's not specific to OM. The fact that it only has 10 rooms gives to the place a familiar feeling which we adored and will bring us back next year!!! Looking forward to be back and taste one of my favourite cheviches as well a different fresh fish every day! It really is a corner of heaven on earth :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which is really nice, but I peeked at our friends room on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Pluses: Conscientious cleaning/grounds staff. Excellent location on the beach.

Overall: Incompetent management. Hotel staff and waiters were generally dismissive and unresponsive (with exception of two staff called Francesco and Julia). No electricity from 2AM-8AM, no hot water, poor quality amenities: stained bedsheets, torn mosquito nets, inconsistent towels (sometimes only got hand towels and not bathing towels, other times, the opposite), no hooks for clothes, no toilet roll holder, and very poor quality bed in room #2.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just got back from 3 nights at OM and had a lovely few days even though it rained for the first 2 days. The place is right on the beach and has a great location.

Positives:
The staff are very friendly and helpful - they really couldn't do enough to help
The food was mainly excellent altough the pancakes in the morning where obviously bought and not fresh (not good) - you could tell everything else was freshly prepared

Improvements
The rooms are very sparse and I think for the price could have another cupaboard or something.
We had noise from the hotel next door from 4.30 - 6am and the night watchman didn't do anything even though myself and 3 other people were shouting for them to be quiet

However overall by the end of the trip I really did feel at home and they made our holiday very special. I would recommend this hotel to stay if your use to rooms with just a bed and AC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heydan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#78 of 101 in Tulum
229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#50 of 101 in Tulum
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#61 of 101 in Tulum
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $135 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing