We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
1 review
“The perfect beach”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We at were there for just one night , we got there early afternoon the room was ready, left of stuff in the room and went right to the beach OMG one of the most beautiful beach we been to :), we got hungry so we order some food Francisco was our waiter excellent attitude !! And the food was also very good , tropical salad with shrimp , see food fajitas, and ceviche , it was just perfect to wake up in the morning and have the most amazing view of that turquoise ocean and have some fresh chilaquiles and great pan cakes right by the beach , we are for sure coming back soon .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niceblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    117
    46
    38
    30
See reviews for
67
162
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Whenever we have money and time to spare, my family and I just love to stay at Om (we've been there about five times now). The place is great, with a beautiful beach and scenery that one would see in a postcard, this hotel is surely a place to stay at. The food is really good too, I just love their pizza and fish & chips and the service is always nice and timely. The rooms are big and pretty simplistic, but hey, that's the case with most hotels at Tulum, so can't complain there. The only downside is that they turn off the electricity for a couple hours, but that's understandable, besides, you go there to enjoy the beach and have some quiet time with your family and friends, not to stay all day inside your room with a computer, so it isn't that bad.

With that said, I highly recommend this hotel and suggest that people stay at least one night to see for themselves how good it is. Have a nice drink at the beach while staring at the beautiful sea, maybe order some lobster and overall have a good time, all of this is possible at Om. Oh yeah, don't forget to take a photo at their iconic beach bench, serves as a good postcard picture ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and had a wonderful time. Location on the beach is amazing. Cabinas are very basic but we loved sitting on terrace at night and waking up by singing birds early on the morning. The huts have all you need but no luxuries. Location is pretty remote, 10 km from the Tulum downtown, so you need a car to get around nicely. However, hotel has a good restaurant and there are many other restaurants on walking distance, so you don't need to go anywhere, maybe you don't even want to. If you go walking after dark (after 7 pm), it's good to wear headlight because street is very narrow and has a lot of traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippohipponen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms were what we expected. We had 2 cabanas for 4 people. The person that was at the reception when we arrived was very nice. After that, it went all downhill.
The restaurant and service was terrible. The food was served cold and not cooked as suggested and ordered. Grilled fish came to the table boiled and cold.....Fried Squid, cold and still frozen. And it goes on. We were a table of 8 and were not served together.
Breakfast, you have to pay for extra jam. When you finally get some, it's served in a cup liquified. Because it's not jam. It's some sort of puréed fruit usually used to make cocktails. Melted butter etc etc....The service was terrible with no apologies.
Not helpful at all on information on the sites to visit . Just an overall attitude of "we don't care"....
All 8 of us do not recommend this establishment. The site is beautiful and you have so many more choices on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dede59Cannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our only disappointment was that we only had one night. We will be back and stay for longer next trip. The atmosphere was so relaxing that we did not want to leave. Great walks on the beach and wonderful beach chairs to have fresh fruit for breakfast and the bar had great relaxing music.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and it was nice. Owner was concerned that the noise may keep us awake, but after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate several times at OM and we can highly recommend this gem of a restaurant. If you like fish you must try the Plato de Mariscos - lobster, squid, octopus, huge prawns, fresh fish of the day and more. The pizzas are good too and my husband is Italian so he knows. The location is perfect, right on the beach, and the restaurant ambience is casual and relaxed. Finally but not at all least thank you Freddy for your kind hospitality it was great to have met you. Helen and David UK/Italia Feb 2013.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omtulum, Director of Sales at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here because a friend wanted to and we had to be with him. Otherwise we'd never spend this much money to sleep somewhere.
Rooms were great of course with fan/A/C and private bath.
Not much breeze in our particular room.
Never had a chance to taste the food but our friend says the food is quite tasty.
The bar sometimes has live music too.
Locations is good cause it is close to a little store where you can buy food at more affordable rates (beer too). And take a collectivo with ease.

Room Tip: I would assume the rooms on the second level would be better than the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#39 of 95 in Tulum
247 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 95 in Tulum
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#36 of 95 in Tulum
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#70 of 95 in Tulum
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Property: Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing