We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Om was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Om was wonderful”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful beach, incredible.. if you are happy and positive you get nothing but joy and amiable help from the staff. Got a little stuffy in the rooms ,we just walked a few steps to the beach and enjoyed the stars and constant breeze for a few minutes then went back to bed. Rustic, real, and pure, we loved it. watch what the boat brings in daily and order the grouper, snapper, lobster, Loved Cornelias, Freddie Isabella,and all the staff. Whiny, needy travelers should go to the all nclusives, they don't get catered to. Tulum is more appropriate for adventure seekers. Be aware,.. dining in Tulum is not dirt cheap, but fairly priced. Never felt more relaxed and restored.

Room Tip: room 8 we enjoyed but it was close proximity to restaurant and got a little warm, but hell, we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimandsandy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    117
    46
    38
    30
See reviews for
67
162
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Disclaimed: I have not stayed at Om Tulum. I had made a booking, and then when I inquired about the cancellation fee, Tony @ Om decided to completely cancel my booking and refund me 90%. He then tried to process the money again - and my card had no funds on it.

So thanks, Om, for damaging my credit rating AND cancelling without authorization. It's the most unprofessional service I've had. He also offered a very dodgy excuse: "Someone else with the same dates cancelled at the same time''. Really?

AVOID - I'm doing my research and there are many nicer places available still.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stefanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamasteHospitality, Director of Sales at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
As this guest stated she DID NOT stay with us. She sent an email asking to cancel her reservation and if there would be a cancelation fee. How her credit could be damaged by getting a refund simply defies logic. When this guest changed her mined and decided that she did NOT want to cancel after all, I reinstated her reservation and when I tried to charge her acrd for the amount that was already refunded, it was declined. Since the transaction was declined, again there cannot be any overdraft or any kind of affect on ones credit. The only reason that a transaction for the exact same amount of the refund would be declined is if this person already had over-drafted their account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch on the terrace above the beach. Absolutely terrible ceviche. Caesar salad came with lettuce and a few sad lonely prawns and literally a slice of white bread. For the salad alone they charge mxn190 or about usd20. Worst dining experience we had during our week in tulum. For the same price you can eat very well at places like posada margarita a mile down the beach. Avoid food at Om.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I can live without air conditioning, but I was looking forward to a good fan. Don't get me wrong - I can rough it when necessary - I learned to sleep in the Peruvian Amazon for two weeks with no electricity. However, on this vacation I was looking forward to a tiny bit of luxury. These cabannas advertised ceiling fans, but they were not up to the task. It cooled off outside but there was not transfer of cool air into the room due to some poor room design and poor air circulation from the ceiling fan. Otherwise, the cabanas were as good as expected. We arrived a little late after driving in from Cancun airport. We ate in the hotel dining room. the food and service were excellent. The prices were about average (elevated) for the Mexican Riviera. The location was excellent. The cabanas were very close to the beach so that my kids were able to hang out on the beach before bed and take morning ocean swim before we headed off explore some ruins. I would prefer this type of accommodation to the mega-hotels of the riviera if they would simply invest in a window or oscillating fan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Now that Las Ranitas has been definitively ruined by its new owners, I was looking for a new place to stay around the 6km mark on this most beautiful of beaches. I'd have positive experiences of OM and its traditional pizza oven, so I decided to see what it was like as a place to stay. It remains essentially a trendy little beach club with an excellent kitchen and attentive service. The cabañas themselves are spacious, but a little basic. In mine the wash basin was right up against the bed, which was odd. The only real negative however is that the wifi is only really available in the public area and one can only recharge one's electronic devices in there as well as the cabañas don't feature spare power points. This issue alone might make me look elsewhere in future, but as I said, the food and the service are excellent and this is one of the best locations along the stretch of pristine beach at Tulum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcadejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Love staying here, this is our third time. This is not a luxury property but a well run little hotel that has simple, spacious rooms. The rooms are clean but again, not luxe. They have a pretty good electricity policy; only shutting down from 6am - 8am. (Many hotels turn off electricity at 11pm).

The greatest thing about this place is the vibe. Everyone loves Om. The place draws locals, ex pats and tourists alike. They have killer 2 x 1 drink specials. They have a well run establishment- I am mentioning this twice because trust me, if you don't, it doesnt matter how nice your hotel is, your stay will be terrible. The food is pretty good, they are very well priced.

Right on the beach, they are almost iconic.

I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a nice no stress getaway that doesn't want to spend a lot of money but still wants excellent service. They will do whatever it takes to make things right if you have a special request. Also, they have a small tour operator right on the beach that can assist you with arranging cool excursions.

Also, shout out to the coolest staff on the beach. Laura, Freddy, Jorge, Isabelle, Fer & Poppa.... they make it all happen for you.

Will be coming back as long as they are here!

Room Tip: THe lower rooms have air conditioning so they are best during the summer months. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBolesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

+ by the beach!!! ( don't stay in town) nice sun beds, good food (tho a bit pricey but maybe not compared to the other hotels on the beach), big beds, cleaning every day, beach and room towels, electricity almost 24 hours ( could be off a couple of hours in morning), mosquito nets for windows and over one bed in each room ( not all beds)
- no wall outlets in room (charge in the reception/hotel), a bit dark even with all lights on, small mini ants all over the place that got into your bed and bags. No AC but sea breeze and airfan did a good job!
Costs around 90 pesos from bus station or tulum ruins!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MantaRay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#40 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#24 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#69 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Property: Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing