We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach front heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Paraiso Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Paraiso Tulum
Ranked #14 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beach front heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in February and payed $150 per night for a room with two small double beds, which is quite good value for the area. Although the rooms don't face the ocean you can see it from all the verandas. The rooms are basic but clean but there is no fridge and the air conditioning is very noisy. However, staff was very friendly and helpful and let us borrow a cold box to keep drinks cool but had to go into town every day for fresh ice.
Breakfast is reasonably good but unfortunately, it is only served between 9-11am, and as the sun rises at 7am it is quite a long wait. Also, breakfast is served in a rather unappealing room without any atmosphere whatsoever.
All rooms come with two double beds but we only found them adequate as large singles, which means it is very popular with young families and sometimes the childrens' crying is a very good alarm clock for the rest of the guests.
The beach club, which is associated with the hotel, is very popular during the day but at night it is very, very quiet and there is not much around except for a nearby Italian restuarant, which is good, and a Thai resturant, which is excellent.
There are two security guards all night long and on our last night we made the mistake of removing our wrist bands. This was noticed by both security and at breakfast the next day. We didn't realise that it was being monitored to this extent but it was reassuring to know.
The beach near the hotel is in the least developed stretch in Tulum and within walking distance to the Tulum Mayan ruins, which is best viewed first thing in the morning at 8am before the crowds arrive. There are many things you can do from the beach including snorkelling, fishing and kite surfing and there are no noisy power boats or jet ski. Overall, we would recommend a very safe stay here as police presence is evident both on the roads and on the beach and security at the hotel is also very effective.

Room Tip: Cabana #1 is closest to the ocean and is semi detached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    76
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
46
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you're just visiting paradise beach for a day or a few hours, this is a great place to kick back and soak it all in. The day beds are super relaxing if you can get one, although and the service is average and the menu can use an overhaul.

The beach is beautiful and the water is everything you want it to be.

Room Tip: Try to grab a seat away from the speakers repeating the same 15 tracks all day, get as close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights and found the rooms were nice and clean, the beach very beautiful but with loud music and harassing people trying to sell you snorkeling tours 10 times a day.

But what we really didn't appreciated is that we could never get the breakfast included in the price because it started only at 9 am when all the activities to do usually start at 8:30, and the only day we could be at the breakfast at 9:00, they asked us to wait 20 minutes as the cooks had not yet arrived, so we had to eat in a rush in 5 minutes and still arrived late for our diving!!
The staff couldn't find us any solution to have the breakfast as we had paid for it!
This is probably good for lazy people who get up late and do nothing of their day...

Also the TV was not working the first day and instead of giving us another room (they were all empty) we had to wait for them to change it the next day. Don't misunderstand me I'm not addicted to TV but we had spent 2 months traveling in central America without comfort and hadn't seen any TV for months so we had booked this hotel to have some rest and benefit of its equipment (and you pay a lot for it!) so I was disappointed.

The food at the restaurant was very expensive, and only served at lunch, and the only place to eat in the evening is another expensive (but better) restaurant in the next hotel, otherwise pay a cab to go in the center, which is also expensive...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maud112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've been coming here for over 10 years for the beach. The beach is lovely and I finally had to write a review. Every year that we are here, at least once but usually many more times, a waiter tries to pad the bill at the restaurant/bar to steal money from us. That constantly happens here. This last time, not only did we receive the usual "service" of them trying to pad the bill, we also had the security stopped us and try to get money from us. When we said we ate at the restaurant and drank at the restaurant, he said the waiters said we weren't there. It is for this extreme "horrible service" that I have to write this review. Now they are pressuring you for everything and stealing wherever they can. The security guard was going to go to blows with us. This place has always had the worst waiters and the food is horrible but the beach.... We found all along here are lovely beaches. After this last incident, we started going to The Vete Bella just a short distance from there. The people were great. The food was wonderful (Italian owned with fantastic food) and no one EVER tried to pad the bill and steal from us. We went there a number of times before we left. I highly recommend the Vete Bella instead of Playa Paraiso. At Paraiso, you will get ripped off for sure and there are plenty of other beaches in this area that are just as lovely without these horrible things happening to you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mystic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been to this beach once during the day (not for accommodation) once before when we first came to Mexico and loved it, the beach was very quiet then and we were nearly the only ones on so we decided to return and see if it was still the same. We took a taxi from Tulum ruins to the beach, 40 pesos we thought well worth the money.

Upon arrival it did look a much busier beach, so we decided to hire one of the bed/sun loungers from the El Paraiso hotel from a sour faced woman at 200 pesos and we could use it for the rest of the day …. At no point did she or anyone mention lockers for your bags and valuables, so we assumed they would be safe as there are plenty of staff around especially at the bar just a few yards away. We went into the sea for 5 minutes upon coming back to the lounger my bag with my wallet, phon,e return tickets to player del Carmen even my t shirt had gone! We were very distressed at what had happened as this have never happened to us before, especially having no money to get back to the hotel with. We were so surprised nobody from the hotel had seen anything, especially as the boss appeared from nowhere and said that he had been around the whole time and saw nothing suspicious.... We managed to get a refund for the bed as we had only just arrived. The boss did call the security who called the police who came and took us to the station a couple of miles away so we could give a statement. They advised us that they could only take us there but couldn’t bring us back. So after coming out of the police station stressed and with no t shirt, only having swimshorts left we had walk a couple of long hot miles trying to navigate our way back to near the Tulum ruins in order for us to catch a collectivo (which is all we could afford with the 200 pesos that was refunded) to take us back to Playacar.

If we never see this beach again or the thieving people on it it wont be soon enough, we were fortunate as far as it was second to last day of our holiday but really does leave a nasty taste over what could have been a fantastic holiday. If you go to this please be careful as clearly there are dishonest people about.

WE WOULD ADVISE AGAINST GOING TO THIS BEACH FULL STOP!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FunkyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent a couple of nights here while traveling solo in the Yucatan Peninsula. It was the perfect place to get away from the crowd in the ruins and northern beaches. The direct access to the beach is great, and it has a good restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red_skywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
344 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have been to this beach club many times, only for the beach!! The beach is GORGEOUS!!! White sand, some palms, walk for miles...all the good things in life. OK, so you have to rent the beach loungers and bed..if you want....the price varies between seasons and you can barter a bit with them if you have a group and you want this and not that. The food, well that's another matter. Not the best and can be pricey. But on this latest visit in March, the service we had was the worse ever...we had to go ask for menus...then ask for the guy to return to take our order..then ask where the food is and then find the guy for the bill..and then that was not made up and we had to tell him again, what we ordered so that he could charge us...OMG. And yes, we even told who appeared to be someone in charge but it didn't seem to matter. We got the impression they were trying to tell us it was busy, and this and that...BUT we have been here many times with the service being much better. It was not very busy on this day. Oh BTW, no tip for him!! I think the waiter's name was Rafa , but will definately NOT be in his area next time. this will not deter us from returning. it is a beautiful beach...go but watch out for the service. Remember, don't sweat the small stuff....enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookyM-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
0.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
4.7 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante K
Hotel Diamante K
#30 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paraiso Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paraiso Tulum

Property: El Paraiso Tulum
Address: Carretera Boca Paila Mz 3 Lote 2, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Paraiso Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Paradise is like exactly where you are right now…only much, much better" Laurie Anderson At El Paraiso Hotel we take great pride in the untouched nature of Tulum. We have therefore created a small hotel in harmony with nature without waiving the comfort of modern living.Our vast pristine white sandy beach and the calm crystal-clear waters invite to stress free beach days, water activities and romantic walks along the shore line. Cool off with a refreshing young coconut picked from one of our innumerable palm trees, take up diving or kite surfing, or just be, and let all your worries disappear while you relax in the shade of an umbrella.Explore the natural wonders and archeological sites of Tulum. One of the best preserved Mayan ruin is just around the corner from El Paraiso Hotel. The ruins set at the top of lime stone cliffs overlooking the waters offer visitors spectacular views.The Sian Kaan Biosphere, cenotes and caves hidden deep within the jungle, as well as national parks can all be found within short distance from our hotel. Add to this the second largest Reef in the world just off shore and the abundant marine life of the Caribbean, which has made Tulum and important and extraordinary location for all types of water sports.After a day at the beach or discovering the surrounding areas, El Paraiso Hotel is a place to relax, unwind and disconnect from the busy days of the normal life. Pamper yourself to a massage from our Spa services right on the beach with the waves of the ocean as the only sound, or revive the ancient Mayan tradition of worshipping the sunset joining us in our sunset yoga on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Paraiso Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paraiso Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing