We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Tulum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Los Mapaches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Los Mapaches
Ranked #10 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Saint ignacio Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Tulum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on the start of our trip around central america. After staying one night in another Tulum hostel and really not liking it this as the perfect place to really feel at home. The host of the hostel is easily the nicest mexican we had the pleasure of meeting!! Even after a rather destructive bike accident the staff cared much more about my injuries than their damaged bike. Everyone staying there was extremely mature minded and it was perfectly relaxing.

We had a private room and it was absolutely amazing with full airation giving the feeling that you where outside all the time meaning the lack of aircon was not even noticed! The shared toilets and showers are extremely clean and well looked after. The highlight of this place was the compound and gardens around all the room which are meticulously maintained. I cannot stress how amazingly beautiful this stay was. The breakfasts are to die for and we have been missing food that good our whole trip!

I would highly recommend staying here and if ever in Tulum again will definitely make sure i visit here again! The absolute only negative thing i could possibly say about this stay is that it is located next to a extremely busy highway and there is a unfortunately located speed bump out the front meaning that you have to deal with ridiculously loud truck engine brakes every 15min all night long seeing as trucks prefer to travel at night. I am an extremely light sleeper but still found it easy to sleep each night due to the happiness this place provided me. 11/10!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    20
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
67
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Becancour, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Definitely a place to stay in Tulum! We were on the 2nd floor of the "cabanas" in the trees! The bed were confortable, but it was way too warm at night and there were a lot of bugs.
The breakfast are very good, staff very helful and the place very "special"... We felt a little like in the jungle! :-)
The shower and toilets are ok.
The bicycles are not too old and it's only a 10 minutes ride from the Tulum Ruins and the beach. A little far from downtown and all the restaurants.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kebekgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The owner of the hostel and her son are very lovely and bend over backwards for you. You are right near the ruins and bikes and snorkels are provided. Yummy breakfast is provided too. The rooms are nice and clean, airy, and comfortable. Very enjoyable stay! Thank you Cielo and Joaquin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy-yo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a private twin room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice touches were Mexican throws on the bed.
The owner Cielo and her son Joaquin run the place. They were both extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful and made the place feel like a home, rather than a hostel. The daily breakfast is amazing; it includes fresh fruit, coffee, a smoothie and a different, delicious main course every day.
The place itself is in a great location between the ruins, beaches and Tulum's shops and restaurants. The fact that they throw in a bike means that everything is within easy reach. We also cycled to a lovely cenote and collectivo buses leave right outside too.
Yes it is by a busy, noisy road but the lush gardens make it feel like an oasis and we would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich and Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The best thing about this hostel is the location, it's right near the Tulum ruins and the quiestest beaches in the area. The bike that comes with your bed is fantastic, you can get around really easily to cenotes, the beach and the ´downtown´. The breakfast is also fantastic, really sets you up for the day.

Los Mapaches is somewhere between camping and a hostel. It´s a great looking location, sort of like a giant tree house, but there were a lot of bugs and even a few rats running around our room. It´s not a case of cleanliness, just that the rooms are pretty much open to the elements, with just slighty broken screens as windows. Depending on where your room is, it can be quite a walk to the shared toilets.

Beware of the ´kitchen' as well. It only really consists of a fridge to store stuff in. There´s no way to heat anything, even water. So you can´t actually cook any food for yourself.

All in all a positive experience, but only for people prepared for basically living outdoors!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

What a wonderful place this hostel is - The sweetheart Chelo will take you under her wing and treat you like her child from the moment you walk in the door. Her & her son have designed and built this place themselves and you can see it was made with love. Yet somehow, each family member you meet working there seem to be friendlier than the last.

The home-cooked breakfast in the morning is first rate and different every day.

The location is great due to the fact that it is much closer to the beach than downtown - On a bike, you will be at the beach or ruins in just 5 minutes. Chelo gives you a free bike along with lock, reflective vest & flashlight for the dark (so cute!). Then Chelo will show you the ins and outs of Tulum on her hand drawn map of the town (definitely not to scale, yet even cuter!)

And Oscar - Little baby Oscar! Please don't be afraid of this raccoon like creature. He may look like he is biting and scratching you, but he is just a baby trying to show his affection. Play with him for a while & you will see what I mean!
Of course, Chelo has a host of other animals, most of which she has adopted because she found them sick and without a home. Once she nursed them back to health they decided to stay - Can you blame them?

What a wonderful place this is - Do yourself a favor and visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The free bikes idea is brilliant, you can visit many of the cenotes on bike easily ( and i'm not a sporty person) and the owner - the sweetest woman alive- explains all the routes to the cenotes. Also to get to the ruins and the beach the location out of town is better, you simply cross the highway and go straight down to the coast (its a 20/30 min walk so wizzing down on your bike is way more fun) You dont feel like you are off the highway, since the hostel is covered in beautiful vines, trees and flowers and it is totally clean, cosy and comfortable. The dorm is only 4 people and there is lots of outdoor space with a book exchange and hammocks. The breakfast is two courses, fruit and then a hot dish and beautifully presented. Chelo the owner is fantastic.. she deserves 5* simply for existing!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemexico89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#67 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Mapaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Mapaches

Property: Posada Los Mapaches
Address: Carretera federal Chetumal - Cancun | Zona Arqueologica de Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Los Mapaches Hostal B, B & B (Bike, Bed & Breakfast) Come, Relax and Enjoy the beautiful palapas (cabins). Ride your bike, and go to the Ruins, Beach or Cenotes!! Hostel room for 4 people only, private room, shared bathroom, hot water 24 hrs, Delicious breakfast, bike 24 hrs., electricity 24 hrs and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Los Mapaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Mapaches Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing