We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect ocean-front vacation”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We rented the Shanti property just up the beach from the main hotel and had the best of both worlds - the breakfast, front desk and security of the hotel but a private space for ourselves. The beach access was amazing (several sea turtles came on shore to lay eggs on our last night) and we made the most of the kitchen and outdoor dining room. It was the perfect week at the beach - we will be back.

Room Tip: Villa Shanti has a big master with en suite bathroom, then there is a room downstairs in the main ho...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your review Brett T. You described Villa Shanti exactly how we pictured it, being the best of both worlds! Privacy with the hotel service like any other guest at La Luna would receive. Your tips of the villa are spot on and hope this review will help others decide which villa or cabana is best for them. We are happy you got to experience the sea turtles too! We hope to see you back on the beach soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas La Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 706 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed with our family (2 parents and 3 kids/students) for 6 nights at the shanti villa; a beautiful designed house, surrounded by a big garden (and a very sweet gardener!) right on the beach with breathtaking view of the ocean; the house was in great harmony with the environment; the restaurant Las Estrellas serves great food and is beautiful designed and decorated; every morning we walked along the beach to our breakfest (included) with fresh fruit and good coffee; you can find several more restaurants along the beach with great (sea)food and salsa on the beach; in the evening we saw seaturtles laying eggs on the beach just in front of the house!; manager Edmonda is very friendly and helpful and a great host; it's absolute paradise and gives you time to relax and enjoy nature; we definitely would like to go back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Astrid962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you Astrid962 for your kind review and nice words regarding our staff. Villa Shanti is a great little hideaway from La Luna, great for families. I am joyed to hear that it worked well for yours. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for our tenth anniversary and it was just as described. The Casa Blanca cabana is less than 50 feet from the beautiful white sandy beach and has its own wonderful little porch with a hammock and chair. We loved our five nights here and would definitely go back.

The included breakfast of strong coffee, fruit and bread was great. Dinner at the on-site restaurant Las Estrellas was also fabulous. We loved the calamari, tuna tartar, tagine and cocktails.

There are a dozen or more hotels and restaurants within walking distance (mostly by beach). So, each night we walked to a different place for drinks and dinner. Our days consisted of a short walk to the beach, lounging in the hotel's beachfront chairs and beds, and napping back at the cabana.

Important notes for visitors: 1) there's bottled water in the room, 2) sleeping with no AC in summer can be difficult (bring something to help, there are fans), 3) don't flush toilet paper, 4) seaweed moves up and down the coast all day (don't be sad if it's in front of Las Cabanas when you get there), and 5) be sure to tip the servers (even for breakfast).

Our only complaints: 1) the water pressure is really, really low, 2) there's no ice available, and 3) some of the cabanas are two stories, so there could be someone walking above you.

Have a great time!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a one story cabana.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joshuahmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Joshuahmel - We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time at Cabanas La Luna for your 10th wedding anniversary. Thank you for sharing your notes and tips to other tripadvisor users. You are correct, we do have bottled water dispensers in every cabana. Casa Blanca does not have air conditioning, so hopefully the ocean breeze was some help. For guests preferring AC, Garden Suite, Jungle Penthouse, the 2 ground floor rooms of Zanzibar, and Marco Polo's Journey are now all equipped with AC as of August 2013. Unfortunately for sanitary and health reasons, we do not offer ice, however if some is needed, be sure to check with our reception about possible options. Lastly, Casa Blanca is our only cabana on the beachfront that is below another cabana (Marrakech). We've worked hard to sound proof the two cabanas as best as possible but there is times, depending on the guests in Marrakech, that the noise may carry. We hope that this didn't take away from your experience at La Luna and we certainly hope to welcome you back for many more anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Zanzibar house with private pool and enjoyed every minute of it. The house is wonderful decorated with a beautiful garden, kitchen en lounging area. Kids enjoyed swimming in the pool a lot. Restaurant serves excellent food with seaview and again is beautiful designed. In the evening we saw sea turtles on the beach laying their eggs. An amazing experience! Manager Edmonda and the staff are very friendly and helpful in providing information and organising trips. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your nice review, Erika B. We are thrilled to hear your family had such a great time in Zanzibar. You described exactly what our owners were trying to encompass with the villa: a special, private space for families to gather, with the luxury of a pool for the kids (always a hit). What a special opportunity to see the sea turtles! Thanks again for choosing La Luna and we can't wait to welcome you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Cabanas La Luna and had an incredible vacation. Thanks to the kind and helpful staff my trip was enjoyable. The location and accommodations were beautiful. If you are looking for a low-key and relaxing environment this is the place for you. Our needs and questions were always met with pleasant responses. The food was delicious every time. The room and grounds were kept clean. Being by the ocean and removed from life at home allowed us to slow down and relax in Tulum.

Room Tip: Each room seems has different advantages. The Villa was great for a group of people who want private...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you, Tamara V, for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the service you received from our staff. A relaxing environment is exactly what we are trying to carry throughout the hotel, and it isn't' hard considering the surroundings, but we do try our best to go the extra mile for our guests. Your room tips are spot on! Thank you for sharing, and again, thanks for the review. We hope to welcome you back to La Luna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed four days in the Jungle Penthouse and had a wonderful memory-filled stay. Our kids are adults now and we can enjoy a wide variety of ways to enjoy a vacation whether it is camping, staying at luxury hotels, boutique or eco chic hotels like La Luna. Yes, it was hot in July but the sea breezes were always refreshing, the AC kept the room cool at night and we tend to adapt to whatever our adventures give us. We kept the restaurant busy everyday and the staff was very helpful getting us transportation around Tulum and they saved our last day by arranging a van to Cancun for our flight home when the scheduled airport transfer failed to show. Lots of nice places to stay and eat in Tulum but you can't go wrong with La Luna. Trip Advisor didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

GuillermoM, thank you for your review of Jungle Penthouse. We just recently added air conditioning to this cabana, and I am glad it help during the hot nights you were with us. We are sorry you had troubles with your airport transfer, but it is good to know that our staff was able to come up with a quick solution. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Set on a beautifiul beach with crystal clear warm water - definitely the pick the bunch. Our cabana (Christopher Columbus) was colourful, wonderfully comfortable, and equipped with all you need. Can definitely vouch for the beach bbq dinner with the yummiest prawn and fish kebabs and salads. All accompanied by a local mex/cuban/european band singing american cocktail songs from the war years “bye bye blackbird…” . And on other nights we took full advantage of the outdoor restaurant and cocktails :) Had some difficulties hiring a scooter as they were all rented out so maybe this requires some planning in advance. Instead we hired some bikes and headed off to see the local natural reserve – Siaan Kann and a cenote (limestone underwater caves with a mix of salt and fresh water). The stand out though was a very new camp ground Ultimo with a café and bar set on a little spot of paradise. We had couple of drinks, lounged and swam on the beach and watched the pelicans fly in and dive for their feeds. We had the yummiest ceviche and shrimp tacos all fresh produce caught that morning. A definite place to call in on. Gorgeous spot. Could go back to La Luna and Tulum very easily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MezaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of Cabanas La Luna, and your cabana, Christopher Columbus! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our Wednesday night BBQ. Scooter rentals can be tricky as you mentioned as there aren't many options for rentals. You will find more guests in cars, taxis or bikes. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back on our beach soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $195 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing