We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Tulum”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Paradise in Tulum”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Zanzibar house with private pool and enjoyed every minute of it. The house is wonderful decorated with a beautiful garden, kitchen en lounging area. Kids enjoyed swimming in the pool a lot. Restaurant serves excellent food with seaview and again is beautiful designed. In the evening we saw sea turtles on the beach laying their eggs. An amazing experience! Manager Edmonda and the staff are very friendly and helpful in providing information and organising trips. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, Erika B. We are thrilled to hear your family had such a great time in Zanzibar. You described exactly what our owners were trying to encompass with the villa: a special, private space for families to gather, with the luxury of a pool for the kids (always a hit). What a special opportunity to see the sea turtles! Thanks again for choosing La Luna and we can't wait to welcome you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    92
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
196
324
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Cabanas La Luna and had an incredible vacation. Thanks to the kind and helpful staff my trip was enjoyable. The location and accommodations were beautiful. If you are looking for a low-key and relaxing environment this is the place for you. Our needs and questions were always met with pleasant responses. The food was delicious every time. The room and grounds were kept clean. Being by the ocean and removed from life at home allowed us to slow down and relax in Tulum.

Room Tip: Each room seems has different advantages. The Villa was great for a group of people who want private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you, Tamara V, for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the service you received from our staff. A relaxing environment is exactly what we are trying to carry throughout the hotel, and it isn't' hard considering the surroundings, but we do try our best to go the extra mile for our guests. Your room tips are spot on! Thank you for sharing, and again, thanks for the review. We hope to welcome you back to La Luna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed four days in the Jungle Penthouse and had a wonderful memory-filled stay. Our kids are adults now and we can enjoy a wide variety of ways to enjoy a vacation whether it is camping, staying at luxury hotels, boutique or eco chic hotels like La Luna. Yes, it was hot in July but the sea breezes were always refreshing, the AC kept the room cool at night and we tend to adapt to whatever our adventures give us. We kept the restaurant busy everyday and the staff was very helpful getting us transportation around Tulum and they saved our last day by arranging a van to Cancun for our flight home when the scheduled airport transfer failed to show. Lots of nice places to stay and eat in Tulum but you can't go wrong with La Luna. Trip Advisor didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
GuillermoM, thank you for your review of Jungle Penthouse. We just recently added air conditioning to this cabana, and I am glad it help during the hot nights you were with us. We are sorry you had troubles with your airport transfer, but it is good to know that our staff was able to come up with a quick solution. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Set on a beautifiul beach with crystal clear warm water - definitely the pick the bunch. Our cabana (Christopher Columbus) was colourful, wonderfully comfortable, and equipped with all you need. Can definitely vouch for the beach bbq dinner with the yummiest prawn and fish kebabs and salads. All accompanied by a local mex/cuban/european band singing american cocktail songs from the war years “bye bye blackbird…” . And on other nights we took full advantage of the outdoor restaurant and cocktails :) Had some difficulties hiring a scooter as they were all rented out so maybe this requires some planning in advance. Instead we hired some bikes and headed off to see the local natural reserve – Siaan Kann and a cenote (limestone underwater caves with a mix of salt and fresh water). The stand out though was a very new camp ground Ultimo with a café and bar set on a little spot of paradise. We had couple of drinks, lounged and swam on the beach and watched the pelicans fly in and dive for their feeds. We had the yummiest ceviche and shrimp tacos all fresh produce caught that morning. A definite place to call in on. Gorgeous spot. Could go back to La Luna and Tulum very easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MezaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Cabanas La Luna, and your cabana, Christopher Columbus! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our Wednesday night BBQ. Scooter rentals can be tricky as you mentioned as there aren't many options for rentals. You will find more guests in cars, taxis or bikes. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back on our beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

La Luna was absolutely amazing!! We stayed for 6 nights in Christopher Columbus, and everything from the moment we arrived was perfect. The staff members were kind and accommodating. We absolutely loved our cabana, simple and in harmony with the breathtaking ocean view just outside your door.

Tulum is a little slice of heaven! Quiet, remote and restorative - the perfect vacation! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Morgan B, thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that are staff provided you with wonderful customer service from the moment you arrived. If you head to Tulum again in the future, we hope to open our doors to you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything positive what people say about this place is true! The food is amazing, the beach cabañas are very nicely decorated and so close to the sea, the restaurant with its Marrocan influences really beautiful and the staff super friendly. I wish we could stay here for much more days but it was booked full... Maybe we should not write a review like this because than for sure it will be booked when we want to come back :-) And we definitely will come back! Thanks La Luna!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulioRosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

So it has been a year since my wife and I got married on the La Luna's beautiful beaches. We still rave about it to our friends and our guests from that day STILL comment on how nice the occasion was. Much of this was due to the above and beyond staff and the incredible food and drink. If you are going to Tulum you MUST stay here and if you are planning a wedding, trust me, you will not regret your decision to go with LaLuna.

Room Tip: Closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
BallardKayakJohn, we were overjoyed to welcome you back for your one year anniversary. Many have created amazing memories here at La Luna and we are love hearing about them, and welcoming our guests back for another visit, especially for an anniversary of a La Luna wedding.
We hope to welcome you back for many, many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Property: Cabanas La Luna
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing