We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Rare Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
chagrin falls
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Rare Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Casablanca for a romantic get away late Jan. 2012. We both have traveled extensively and wanted a romantic get away that was slightly "off the grid". And I must say it is a challenge to exceed my expectations. Without a doubt Cabanas La Luna is magical and can't wait to return. Below are just some of the many highlights:

Beautiful and rather whimsical cabanas. Decorated in bright cheerful colors with creative earthy touches everywhere. Sleeping in a comfy bed listening to the waves and a delicous complimentary continental breakfast served to you on your private porch while viewing the ocean (coffee, fresh fruit and homemade bread...delicious). One morning we even brought our breakfast to the beach that was a 5 second walk through the beautiful natural grounds. Life just doesn't get much better than this! If you need a TV and radio to relax this is not for you. We personally found the no screens aspect of our trip extremely refreshing! There is wifi free of charge. Which we used to keep in contact in case of an emergency at home.
The beach: Simply put it is the best in Tulum and probably one of the nicest we have ever been to. With soft white sand, wide, fun waves to play in and immaculately maintained. The beach beds were (no laughing)a slice of heaven. We both actually fell asleep in them several times. So refreshing not to have to worry about getting a spot on the beach! It was never crowded. Great for long relaxing walks and to stop in at places along the beach for happy hour drinks. While on these strolls we discovered other lovely places but always agreed that by far La Luna is the best for many reasons.
Restaurant: Loved the outdoor seating overlooking the beach. The weather was just to beautiful to sit inside. But we both admired the very romantic, vibrant, exotic and plush interior. We ate there several times and found the food to be very fresh, creative and delicious. And so did several of our new friends who we sent there for dinner. In particular I would get daily cravings for their guacomole. The fish tasted as if it was just caught and seasoned and grilled to perfection.
Staff: Always attentive yet not intrusive. Just how we like to be treated! Food and beverage service on the beach was great! Cleaning of the room was always done nicely without them intruding or waiting for you to depart your room. Luuk and his staff were outstanding and very personable. In fact we will be taking a family trip to Riviera Maya in April and will certainly stop in and show the kids beautiful La Luna and say hi to Luuk. Would love to stay at La Luna but they were already fully booked.
I predict we all will not want to leave and return to our very nice but mega resort. So maybe I'll save our visit til late in our vacation.
Travel Tips: Consider renting a car in Cancuun. We found it to be less expenive than an airport transfer to Tulum. A car is not necessary. But we found it nice to have for taking a drive to Akumal (30 min.) for snorkeling with some cool fish and swimming with a turtle...very fun! Also good to have for exploring in general. Watch out for gas attendents trying to rip off tourists. They will try and charge you for more gas than what was actually put in your tank. And try and get you to fill up with oil. It is all a scam and don't fall for it.
Bring a flashlight for walking the beach and the road that runs thru Tulum at night.
Pack a sweater for the evening. I found the breeze near the ocean to be a bit chilly in the evening.
Overall: My only concern is that more people will discover Cabanas La Luna and that there won't be any availabiliy for our visit in the future. Because nothing is ever totally perfect there is one small improvement that would be nice...more water pressure in the shower.

Cabanas La Luna manage to achieve a perfect balance with their guests and environment... tranquil, natural, charming, intimate, peaceful and relaxing! Thank you for exceeding my expectations. Well done!

Room Tip: We stayed in and loved Casablanca. Great colors, sunny and beautiful view of the ocean from inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank flamerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    88
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
187
315
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed all over Tulum and this place is hands down the best. Everything was perfect. The room had the perfect cozy beach bungalow feel everyone is looking for and is surrounded by a beautiful garden. The food was unbelievably good, everything from the complementary continental breakfast to the wide variety of lunch and dinner options. This place is right on the beach and at a very affordable price. We were blown away by the friendliness of each and every staff member, but if you are fortunate enough to be visiting sometime in 2012 make sure you meet Luke. He was an outstanding host and became a week long friend that will without a doubt have me returning to this place for each and every one of my visits to Tulum! If you are thinking about staying somewhere else DON"T, this is where you want to be!

Room Tip: If you enjoy waking up to the smells of freshly cooked food I highly recommend the room below the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We recently returned from a week stay at La Luna. Even having read reviews, it exceeded my expectations. The setting is perfect. I had an opportunity to look at many other places over the week, and La luna was the most romantic and perfect. The setting amongst the garden of plants made each cabaña seem special. Some of the other places up and down the beach seemed to have the buildings dropped down into the sand with no atmosphere.
There is great beach furniture, in the sun and in the shade.
The staff is exemplary. Everyone is cheerful accomodating, Breakfast could be served in the cabaña or in the restaurant. We found that the included continental breakfast, which consisted of a carafe of coffee, bread and fruits to be perfect for us especially when we complemented it with a shared order of huevos rancheros or something similar (about $8 extra).
We enjoyed the onsite restaurant as well. Food and service all terrific.
We stayed in the newest accomodation called Marco Polo and would book it again. It is on the second floor of the main building. It is a large suite of rooms, big closet, spacious bathroom, second bedroom and main bedroom off a wonderful large private terrace (partial ocean view). I would assume by the warm season there will be a fan over the bed, like in Christopher columbus, where we spent a few nights. it was a bit small by comparison, offset by its location right on the beach. In January the breezes were cool enough that we used blankets,
A shout out to the terrific Sergio and Luke!!! The management was fantastic.they could not do enough to ensure us a wonderful vacation.
I was a bit concerned about the lack of ac which was definately not needed. The second concern I had were the brackish showers, which actually were a boon for my skin!
We look forward go returning. Not just was La Luna great, but Tulum is a wonderful destination.

Room Tip: Marco Polo is great if you want a spacious suite of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Cabanas La Luna is the most romantic location for a getaway. I'd never stayed at a location that wasn't "all inclusive" before, but this place definitely has the advantage over "all inclusives". The locale is quiet, intimate, and beautifully set. The rustic vibe, as well as the fact that they're solar and wind powered (back-up diesel generator) was great to see.
The staff was very friendly and they helped set up transportation for us to get out to other sites, and the food in the restaurant was delicious!
To top it off, they supplied us all with fresh drinking water! A real perk when you're a Canadian traveller and could potentially blow a large portion of your budget on bottled water!

Room Tip: My husband and I had a private cabana when we stayed in "Christopher Columbus".
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in one of the combo one bedroom/one bath cabanas (Christopher Columbus cabana). If you like large glitzy hotels, it might not be your cup of tea, but if you like to feel like you are part of the place you are visiting, I can't imagine a better experience. It was absolutely charming, comfortable, and right on the most beautiful stretch of beach I've ever seen. We awakened to sunrise on the beach every am and an included delicious breakfast with fresh juice, homemade bread, fresh fruit, and hot strong coffee. Larger breakfasts were available for a fee and were delicious. The restaurant was terrific and reasonable compared to other places we ate in Tulum. The best part and the reason we'll return was the staff. We felt as if we were family visiting for a week. We can't wait to return to Tulum and will definitely stay at Cabanas La Luna again. Ken and Karen C/ January 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenkarenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have just returned from a family holiday at "Cabanas La Luna' where we had a fantastic holiday. This place is real Mexico and a little piece of paradise rather than staying in one of the larger hotels where you could be staying anywhere in the world. The staff manage to combine a relaxed attitude with excellent service and nothing is too much trouble. The food here is fantastic - freshly cooked from scratch every day. We stopped going out anywhere else as nothing came up to their standard. Their BBQs on a Wednesday night where you could eat as much delicious food as you wanted with the first drink free are still talked about. The beds are really comfortable and the cabanas are cleaned every day. My husband and I walked the beautiful beach for two hours every morning before breakfast and I do not think you will find a more gorgeous beach anywhere in the world - crystal waters and white sands.

There are no TVs or in house spas or communal swimming pools but if you want these amenities you are not going to like this little piece of heaven (there are lots of places along the beach offering massages for very reasonable prices)

Well done to ' Cabanas La Luna ' for providing us with a truly memorable family holiday. We will be back

Mary and Kevin Clancy and family January 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We recently spent a week at La Luna. We're seasoned travelers, and agree that La Luna is a quite a blissful place. Romantic, definitely rustic but elegant, tranquil, a place to rejuvenate the body and spirit. If you stay at La Luna, and know what to expect, you are in for a treat.

Many folks go to Tulum for the beach, and La Luna will not disappoint. The sand is incredibly soft, and there is neither sea grass nor rocks in the water in front of La Luna, unlike at other places along the beach. Thus jumping the waves and body surfing is great. Plenty of coconut trees provide shade and coconuts if desired. There are ample beach bed loungers with thick pads that easily accommodate two, lots of adirondack chairs painted in bright hues, hammocks, hanging wooden "egg" chairs and umbrellas, tables, and a volleyball net. You never had to get up early to 'claim' a lounger; there were plenty of places for everyone. As far as we are concerned, after walking for miles in either direction to check out other places, La Luna's beach amenities are best on the beach. Staff is out early in the morning making sure that everything is ready to go for the day and sweeping up any detritus that has washed up with the tide. Two other huge perks: first, the staff checks in on you unobtrusively from time to time throughout the day to see if you want or need anything. Second, the wi-fi signal reaches to the beach so you can Skype your family and friends at home and make them jealous when you show them the lovely, lovely beach. Don't worry, it's password protected so non-guests are not hogging the beach chairs to use their strong signal.

We can't say enough good things about the staff. They are friendly, patient, professional, and genuinely happy to meet your needs. They dispense advice if requested, and can arrange just about anything that you might need. At the same time, the staff doesn't hover, so you can be as private or as social as you like. It's a hard balance for a hotel staff to pull off- being solicitous without being overbearing, and the staff at La Luna does it well.

We stayed in the smallest cabana, Robinson Crusoe. It's oceanfront, and you can see a bit of the beach and ocean about 25 ft. away through the angled path that leads from your wooden deck to the beach. This lovely view is visible as you lie in bed- but from only one side, however, as bushes and foliage block the view from the other side of the bed. Those same bushes and palms are a blessing when offshore winds are strong (as they often are in December), and provide privacy. When you look on the hotel's website and see the photo of the unobstructed view of the ocean from Robinson Crusoe, please be aware that since the photo was taken, the bushes have grown up significantly and block much of the direct views of the water. It's not a big deal, but if the views are why you are booking Robinson Crusoe, you may want to consider another cabana.

The sound of the ocean is divine. It's actually somewhat of a relief not to have air conditioning. In December, you certainly don't need it. There are three louvered windows with screens that let in the lovely ocean breezes, and a floor fan is a fixture in the room, although we did not ever use it. There's also a brand new ceiling fan if needed.

The unit is just large enough for the bed, the fan, a 5-gallon water cooler, and space on the floor for your suitcases. There are three small open shelves to put your items on and a place on the wall to hang clothes with four hangers. Since you'll be living in swimsuits all should be good, but if you pack lots and expect to put it away somewhere in the unit other than your suitcase, it simply won't work. Again, consider a larger cabana. There is a safe bolted securely to the floor just under the bed that is large enough for a laptop and more. The floor is polished concrete, and the cabana is painted inside in gorgeous green and yellow with wonderful tile art.

The bathroom is small but serviceable, and as other reviewers have noted, the shower water is slightly salty because it comes from underground (remember that you are off the grid here), and pressure is not strong. It does the job, however, and the shower is spacious. You are provided with bath towels and large beach towels.

Housekeeping does an excellent job and attends carefully to details and requests. Daily they wash the windows and the door window so the salt does not obscure your view outside. Security is great as well.

Outside the cabana is a simple table with two stools, a rustic loveseat, and a new hammock. There's a basin in which to wash your feet & get the sand off before going inside. We brought a tiny camping dustpan and brush and liked being able to brush the sand off instead of always having to get our feet wet. We also brought and strung a clothesline which was really helpful. Finally, having a headlamp for nighttime beach walks is essential.

The restaurant is excellent. For dinner, the Ocean Tagine was divine. Beers are cold, guacamole at lunch is delicious, eggs at breakfast hit the spot, as does the coffee. A simple continental breakfast with fruit, toast, juice and coffee is included.

We rented bicycles twice. Playa Azul is closest and least expensive (120 pesos) but their bikes were in poor repair although they had a nice paint job. Amansala also rents bikes for 135 pesos and while they were not as 'pretty' as those at Azul, they were in far better condition. We rode to the ruins, to town, to the Biosphere. They are a great way to get around.

Finally, we agree with a previous reviewer that parents who do not control boisterous screaming kids are not appreciated. We altered our meal schedules at times to avoid the hubbub that some overly active children created. And we also agree that this is not the hotel's fault.

Overall, we will unquestionably be back and can't wait. La Luna is a very, very magical place. Kudos to the staff for creating such an amazing experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SelectiveTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Property: Cabanas La Luna
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing