We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff really make the difference here....!”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a great time in Cabanas la Luna. It has an amazing location on an incredible part of the Tulum beach but the really special thing about this place is the staff and the level of service, which is delivered in a totally genuine way. Proper hospitality, like it should be done and you could not ask for more from Sergio, Luke and Kuami and all the staff at Cabanas la Luna! Really nice genuine guys...
The food is also very good and we thought that it was good value compared to some other restaurants in Tulum. We usually went out for dinner but lunch was extremely good.
The beach area is pristine with wide and very comfortable loungers and it never felt crowded.
We stayed in three cabanas. We had originally booked the Garden Suite but it is quite dark so I would recommend some of the other cabanas. We asked if we could change rooms and as there was split availability, we stayed in the Marrakesh suite for three nights and the Jungle Penthouse for another two nights. The Marrakesh suite is cute, with a good view of the sea. The shower could do with some more pressure though! We spent another couple of nights in the Jungle penthouse, which we really liked as it was large and spacious and due to the orientation we could see the sunset from the private balcony. We really appreciated the change of rooms and all done with much charm.
All in all, I would recommend cabanas la Luna for a four/five night stay. The rooms are quite pricey but I think that goes for the whole of Tulum so a definite place to bookmark if you want to visit that part of Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinefr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 716 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was at Cabanas La Luna a week ago with my husband. From the moment we parked the car everything has been marvellous. The alertness, kindness and friendliness of the staff, the food ( I loved my huevos rancheros in the morning and the flan at dinner), the cleanliness , the view from my room ( Casa blanca ). The only thing a bit annoying was that there was a big rude family with plenty of screaming wild kids and they didn't really fit in in the romantic jungle beach atmosphere. But that is not the hotel s fault. If you used to be a backpacker and now you have grown up and you like boutique hotels, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My family of four just returned from 10 blissful days at La Luna - first three in Captain Dale and then seven in the Jungle Penthouse. The rooms are very comfortable - everything you could possibly need - electricity, outlets, wifi, super comfortable beds, lots of towels, daily maid service, hammocks or sitting area on deck. Yet, the feeling is beautifully rustic with the palapa roofs, bare wood floors, and simple decoration. The staff are warm and helpful. We preferred the Dale bungalow over the Penthouse as it was self contained and right on the beach, but the views over the jungle from the Penthouse are pretty spectacular (it truly felt like we were in a tree house). As another reviewer mentioned, it gets warmer and more buggy when you move even 100 yards inland, and we were glad to have fans and mosquito nets in the Penthouse. The only slight qualification I would mention about the Penthouse is that, as it is above both the La Luna kitchen and the adjoining property grill, the smells of cooking waft up in the evening. Luckily they are good smells : ).

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Cabanas La Luna offers different types of bungalows (in the sense that each one is unique) and a lovely bar-restaurant right on Tulum's perfect beach. What a relief after 3 days in Cancun to end-up in a place like this where all hotels are much more in harmony with the beauty of the site. We stayed at Marko Polo's journey. A nice apartment with a master bedroom (with an very large bed), a small child room, a bathroom and a terrace with a good view on the ocean. The room is nicely decorated and is ideal for a couple or a family of 3-4. All the rooms communicate and there is no door to the bathroom & toilets, which gives a great sensation of freedom but you might take another bungalow if you want privacy... The main building with front desk, restaurant & bar is very welcoming and the food is excellent. We were a bit surprised during the first breakfast because what is included with the room is a plate a fruit and two thin slice of toasted bread. We then realized that you can have much more... from the paid menu! A special mention to the staff that was very friendly and helpful! We will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at La Luna over Thanksgiving (sorry it's taken so long to get our review posted!) to plan for our wedding in April 2012. We'll be getting married at La Luna and spent 5 days planning details, getting to know the La Luna team and relaxing on the fantastic beach of course. Great location, excellent food and drinks (the homemade guacamole was a daily delight), perfect beach, excellent staff and service.

We can't wait to return.....the whole place is just great. Very charming and rustic, yet also comfortable and clean. The entire staff are great....sadly we can't recall everyone's names but really look forward to working with Jacob, Sergio and Luke (Luc ?) between now and then.

See you guys in April!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just returned from a six night visit to Cabanas La Luna. As a traveler who is more accustomed to luxurious hotels, I was a little leery about staying in a thatched-roof palapa with no a/c, but it ended up being a wonderful adventure and one of the most relaxing vacations I've ever had. The service at the hotel is great; Sergio and his staff can't do enough for you and are so warm friendly and accommodating. The accommodations are sparse but very clean -- the only real drawback is the shower, which is basically a dribble of salt water. Other than that, the room has all the basics you need and is comfortable and spacious. The beach is beyond beautiful -- miles and miles of white sand as soft as talcum powder and the most gorgeous turquoise water. The restaurant at the hotel is wonderful as well, with excellently prepared fresh and delicious food. There are also many other great restaurants within walking distance, most of which are very reasonably priced. Everything in Tulum is extremely casual. Several evenings, we wore our bathing suits and cover-ups to dinner. I highly recommend Cabanas La Luna for anyone who wants to enjoy a real escape from all of the pressures of both everyday life and vacations at high-end resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in Marrakech, which was perfect for two friends -- it had two queen beds separated by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jungleprincess11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just returned from a 5th trip to Tulum. Have stayed in many places, but none have been as gracious and wonderful as Cabanas La Luna. The staff there is so amazing -- they truly want you to have a wonderful time and never stray from that attitude. The food was great -- the margaritas perfect! (And, contrary to the previous reviewer, they were super reasonable. The hotel next door's drinks may be 2 for 1 mid afternoon, but they are almost twice as expensive!)
One day they had some fresh grouper and made us the best ceviche I've ever tasted, with corn and jicama. They serve you in the restaurant, or if you wish, right on the beach. Spacious beach beds, big umbrellas and tables at each spot. Yesterday we were leaving at 6:30 am to get to the airport, and we were told that there would be coffee waiting at the front desk for us. At 6 AM, a knock on the door and two smiling security guards were there with full coffee set ups, dishes, silverware and toast they made and wrapped in tin foil and placed in a basket. Nowhere are there sweeter people!!!!
My friend and I stayed in Marrakech which was set up really well for two friends travelling together -- a great deck overlooking the ocean, and two beds separated by a bathroom, so some privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurieatthecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $229 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing