We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jingle feel with amazing food”
Review of Kitchen Table

Kitchen Table
Ranked #59 of 765 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
Description: Kitchen Table is a restaurant located on the jungle side of the Tulum - Boca Paila beach road (km mark 6). A wooden grill, a bar and ice boxes full of local fresh produce are the only ingredients we need to create delicious food and cocktails. We do it because we love it <3
Restaurant details
Description: Kitchen Table is a restaurant located on the jungle side of the Tulum - Boca Paila beach road (km mark 6). A wooden grill, a bar and ice boxes full of local fresh produce are the only ingredients we need to create delicious food and cocktails. We do it because we love it <3
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

Of our whole trip (Cancun, PDC, Tulum, and Bacalar), this was my favourite meal! We got the devilled avocado to start and the octopus and steak as our main entrees. Our waiter was patient when we asked questions about the food and was knowledgeable. We also were getting bitten and they gave us bug spray. We went for my birthday and the waiters sang happy birthday and gave us a Mexican dessert which was so delicious! The overall experience was amazing and I would highly recommend coming here for a fine dining experience.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2019

Kitchen Table is for me the best dining experience in Tulum. Unlike some other high end (and more expensive restaurants), they only take bookings one week in advance so if you want to eat here, make sure you book on arrival or you may miss out. Usual times are 6:30 or 9pm but you might get lucky with a walk-in if you want to risk it. They only accept cash payment, or cryptocurrency, so make sure you take enough to enjoy what is on offer – it’s truly worth it.

The restaurant is situated on the Boca Paila beach road near the ruins. As it is located in the jungle, I would strongly advise you apply repellent before eating. It’s a truly rustic experience and the waiter told us that their only energy comes from solar panels which powers the lighting and music. All fresh produce is kept in ice boxes and food cooked on a wood grill.

Tables are dotted about on gravel amid the vegetation with a view of the kitchen area. Lighting is soft and creates a wonderful ambience. The service is first class and our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. We both started with the ‘special’ cocktail and shared a starter of house bread and red peppers which was tasty. We followed with the fish of the day which was beautifully cooked, accompanied with the house beans. We also shared a bottle of local wine followed by deserts, which both were great.

A fantastic spot and beautiful food. Our best meal in Tulum in the two weeks we were there. We spent around 2,300 Pesos which I thought was reasonable considering the quality of the food and overall experience. I honestly couldn’t recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Envacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

I've been to Kitchen Table a number of times..great service and authentic flavor over a charcoal and wood burning grill. Intimate setting and one of my must recommends for when in Tulum!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank saraloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

Intimate restaurant and of course open kitchen. Staff have their own kind of cheer/ yell when a dish is ready to be served, adds to the atmosphere. Food is delicious, loved the pork and catch of the day, langoustines. Very attentive service. Western prices but more than worth it.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

We walked in on a Thursday night, sat right away. Authentic to modern Mexico. The meal was perfectly seasoned, the amazing products where highlighted by the chef and his staff doing just enough to make it interesting but staying true to the ingredients, very friendly staff. We will definitely go back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Table also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kitchen Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.