We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
698
73
15
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
698
73
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on the rocks plunge pool rocky coast beds overlooking the ocean jungle view room sister hotel our honeymoon beautiful hotel kitchen table public beach turn down service romantic getaway herbal tea ocean front other hotels couples massage fresh juice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 790 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2016

If you want action, entertainment and noise whole time don't enter to this hotel. This
is an amazing private, relaxing and intimate small Boutique Hotel. Only 18 rooms
with a furnishing of a 5 star hotel. The wooden floor and the whole decoration of the room
makes you feel like in your own home. The first if you enter the room your nose will enter
an aromatic smell of exotic herbs that you will miss if you will go back home. The kingsize bed is extremely comfortable and the rain shower in the bathroom is excellent.
All the hotel is perfect designed and surrounded with lot of green plants.
All the staff gives you the feeling of a warm welcome and is very attentive and helpful.
Special thanks for a wonderful stay at "our house" in Tulum to Simon, Dominique, Ricardo, Brisa, Alvaro, Alberto, Ronaldo,Juan Carlos, Lucia and a special thank to Elsa which cleaned our room always perfectly and gives him this extraordinary smell.
Also thanks to the general manager Jaqueline who makes a great job too.

Room tip: Take room number 10 at the beach front
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertulum, General Manager at Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2016

Dear Ralf
How nice you found your home in Tulum!
It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guests and I am very happy you liked the design, the food and attention of staff.

Les esperamos pronto en su casa en Tulum!

Jacqueline & the whole Mi Amor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Mi Amor is an extremely private, relaxing, and intimate setting. They have amazing views from nearly every room and phenomenal customer service. We visited many other hotels for meals and found Mi Amor to be the best of the bunch for a couples vacation. Location is great and it took less than 5 USD to taxi to any destination in Tulum. If you like laying and reading on a private outdoor bed overlooking the Caribbean, this is the best hotel in Tulum.

Room tip: Ocean side with plunge pools are on the 1st floor. Ocean side without plunge pools are on 2nd floor. Both have amazing views.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gordon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertulum, General Manager at Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2016

Dear Gordon
Thank you very much for rating us on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. Paul Bentley, our chef, will be pleased to hear that you liked his creations so much, thanks a lot!
Hopefully you will be back very soon.

Sunny greetings,
Jacqueline & the whole Mi Amor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We booked a week at Mi Amor after reading all the great reviews. I can say that it far exceeded our expectations. November is a perfect time to visit Mi Amor!

We made our reservation online and it was very easy. The front desk staff was extremely helpful both by email and phone. They assisted with our transportation needs to and from the airport and getting around locally. They suggested we use Bob’s Transport and they made the arrangements. It was $200 round trip plus tip and was worth it. They are prompt, ready with refreshments and eager to get us to our destination.

Dominique and Ricardo, both work the reception area, were just as warm and friendly upon our arrival as they were by email. We were greeted with a glass of champagne and given a tour of the property before heading to our rooms. Throughout the week they were on top of every need. We were able to rent bicycles right outside the front entry and traveled to the other sister properties very easily. They provided a map and gave us some tips on things were should know about.

The grounds are stunning. The architectural detail incorporated with the natural elements made every view, nook and open areas feel inviting and relaxing. Sleeping is a breeze. The sea is mesmerizing.

Jaqueline is the property manager and is excellent at what she does. She has an extensive background in the hotel industry and it shows. A Ritz Carlton service and experience without the price tag. Everyday she is attending to guests to assure that their stay is going well and spends time chatting to learn about each guest. She makes you feel right at home. Lucia, the assistant manager, is lovely as well. Always smiling and staying on top of things.

The entire staff is amazing. They are over the top and attentive to every detail. There is no need to rush through a meal. The experience is one not to miss. This hotel has done an excellent job picking the right employees as they work like a team and we really enjoyed getting to know them. From the bartenders to the wait staff, they are all the best!

When they say the chef is second to none, he truly is. The meals are a work of art. The portions are perfect and they are incredibly tasteful. We tried every item on the menu with the exception of the Duo Beef and loved every bite. Breakfast is included however I wondered off the menu to have some smoothies and they were delicious. Deserts are to die for.

The rooms are very comfortable. Every day there is fresh towels, new bottled water, turn down service with incredible teas and chocolates. There is an Espresso machine in the room as well as a stocked fridge. Each night beach towels were replenished in our beach bag. Our deck overlooked the dining area and pool and was really nice to sit out on no matter what time of the day. Clean and inviting. I can’t speak for other rooms but ours (#3) was just perfect.

There are more than enough lounge and cabanas to accommodate guests. The staff waits on you hand and foot no matter where you find yourself on the property.

While there is no beach directly on the property, this is not an issue. A five minute walk brings you to a beautiful beach that is only a 20 minute walk to the ruins. We went to La Zebra twice for beach time and had lunch and drinks while using their “Non-guest” shaded areas. Very comfortable. It was perfect if you want a mix of beach and food for the day. The staff there is just as nice. You get drink tickets for all the properties so you can at least be encouraged to visit them all. We did go to Mezzanine for dinner and it was excellent. Ask for Hugo if you want a great waiter.
We went on a snorkeling trip thanks to Jesus, one of our waiters at Mi Amor. It was a very calm day immediately following the super moon and we able to see lot of fish, sea turtles, and rays. Very nice time had by all.

My husband was sick with bronchitis and fever while we were there. This almost ruined our trip but thanks to Jaqueline and Dominique we were able to get a doctor to come to the hotel and provide a shot of penicillin, Zpack and a nebulizer treatment. Within two days he was back on his feet. The doctor and his assistant were excellent and came very prepared. The staff knows how to handle every possible situation and it is clear that they have excellent resources.

This is a great place for honeymooners however there were many others from all over the globe that just came for rest and relaxation, including us. We were most definitely pampered. My only regret was not getting a spa treatment. Next time!

This is one place we would return to in a heart beat and we rarely go anywhere twice. A small resort that exceeds expectations and a 5 star experience. Experience the best, book your next vacation at Mi Amor.

Room tip: There are so many different room choices and all are great. Check the website and reviews to learn more.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kim8602307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertulum, General Manager at Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2016

Dear Kim
I have no other words than say THANK YOU!
Reading your review makes me very very happy!

Having you as our guests was a great pleasure for the whole Mi Amor Team, especially for me.
It would be very nice having you as returning guests and yes, you definitely have to try a SPA treatment next time, the ladies have magic hands :-)

Thank you for taking the time and writing this detailed and wonderful review for us, it makes me very proud.

Sunny greetings and best wishes to you both,
Jacqueline & the whole Mi Amor Team

Staff was so happy to read your lines!!! Thank you!






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

To begin with I must admit I'm a huge cynic and a tough critic, but Mi Amor was gorgeous, and the view was everything you needed it to be.
The stars of the show however are the staff. The staff is kind, attentive, and light hearted. I've never felt so pampered before.
My first 6 meals in Tulum were all right here because the chefs truly know what they're doing.
Do yourself a favor and book here, you'd be stupid to go anywhere else.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertulum, General Manager at Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2016

Dear Louis
Great pleasure to read your review!
I am very happy you enjoyed our menu at the restaurant and the service provided. Staff will be very happy to read your compliments.
Thanks very much for taking the time to write this review.

With sunny greetings,
Jacqueline & the whole Mi Amor Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2016

We recently got married at an all-inclusive resort in Mexico. After sending our guests home my husband and I came to Mi Amor for 4 nights. It was the perfect place to relax after a busy week. It is one of the most romantic places we have ever been. The rooms were private and beautiful. The service was exceptional, the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel and its grounds are spectacular. The included breakfast is delicious and large so you don't have to eat until supper! The cocktails are unique and the happy hour is everyday! We really cannot say enough wonderful things about this beautiful boutique hotel and its incredible staff!
We experienced "Jazz on the Rocks" at Mi Amor and it was wonderful! Her voice was simply jaw-dropping!
Just outside the hotel is a bike rental and you can bike anywhere in Tulum. There is a beautiful beach about a 5 minute walk, 2 minute bike away. We even swam right off the rocks in front of the hotel and it was beautiful. There are so many wonderful restaurants to choose from along the main road. We went to each of the sister hotels to Mi Amor; La Zebra (for salsa night-it was so much fun!), El Pez for lunch (it was beautiful and the service was spectacular!) and The Mezzanine for happy hour and dinner (the food was some of the best thai food we have ever had-we went back later in the week). Each hotel is unique and beautiful-I highly recommend checking them all out but none compare to Mi Amor for a romantic, relaxing getaway!
Thank you to the staff of Mi Amor for a beautiful end to the best 2 weeks of our lives!

Room tip: The jungle rooms are great, ours had a semi ocean view. I think it was #5-very private!
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertulum, General Manager at Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Dear Beth

Thank you so much for your detailed review and expressing us your happiness.
So nice that you liked our staff, the grounds, the food, the happy hours, Jazz on the Rocks and, and and...
Wonderful as well that you tried out all our sister properties and their Restaurants and have been super happy with them. You are right, they are all so different and really great.

We are looking very much forward welcoming you hopefully soon again, but latest on your first anniversary ;-)

Best regards from the entire Mi Amor Family

Jacqueline Aere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews