We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Indian restaurant-great food, great location”
Review of Shiva Tulum

Shiva Tulum
Ranked #80 of 572 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Description: **Currently closed until October 2018** Shiva restaurant specializes in Indian food cooked "home-style" using spices imported from India. We bake fresh naan bread in an authentic clay oven specially imported from India (tandoor), and we have several vegetarian and vegan options. Our rustic "jungle" bar and lounge offer special cocktails blended with Indian spices as well as as well as a wine/tequila/mescal cave, and a large open-air terrace. Photographs are on Facebook under "Shiva Tulum". NEW: Starting December 2017, we will be serving fresh charcoal grilled local fish, lobster tail sourced in Tulum and colossal shrimp and octopus from the Gulf of Mexico. These will be served with a choice of oriental marinades and unique side dishes. Shiva is open for dinner at 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. Wednesday through Monday. Closed every Tuesday. Reservations can be made on-line. The restaurant is available for small and large private events, corporate functions and pre-wedding dinners.
Restaurant details
Description: **Currently closed until October 2018** Shiva restaurant specializes in Indian food cooked "home-style" using spices imported from India. We bake fresh naan bread in an authentic clay oven specially imported from India (tandoor), and we have several vegetarian and vegan options. Our rustic "jungle" bar and lounge offer special cocktails blended with Indian spices as well as as well as a wine/tequila/mescal cave, and a large open-air terrace. Photographs are on Facebook under "Shiva Tulum". NEW: Starting December 2017, we will be serving fresh charcoal grilled local fish, lobster tail sourced in Tulum and colossal shrimp and octopus from the Gulf of Mexico. These will be served with a choice of oriental marinades and unique side dishes. Shiva is open for dinner at 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. Wednesday through Monday. Closed every Tuesday. Reservations can be made on-line. The restaurant is available for small and large private events, corporate functions and pre-wedding dinners.
Reviewed January 19, 2018

Shiva has lovely freshly cooked Indian food. Portion sizes are perfect and food done healthily.cIt was great for vegetarians and meat eaters.

The restaurant is beautiful inside and there is parking close by or you could walk if staying in Tulum. Vinay, the owner is interesting, friendly and hospitable.

Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hannahsophietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Literally!

My friends and I were walking down the main stretch in Tulum, very hungry, and desperately looking for something that wasn’t Mexican food (as we have been eating that a lot lately). We needed a change for the palate. We walked by a restaurant that had just recently closed for the night, Shiva. We inquired if they were still serving and they chose to seat us out of genuine kindness.

We were so incredibly happy that they did! The owner was there for us to meet and chat with and he is a truly lovely human.

The food was by far the best Indian Food my friends and I have ever had, and we are foodies, healthy ones. This home-style Indian food is clean of excessive oils and creams, keeping the food light and clean which is usually the reason I choose not to eat Indian food and it tasted perfect!!!

We begged him to open a location near us in Los Angeles where we live... that’s how much we loved it.

Everyone must try!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinay M, Owner at Shiva Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thanks so much, Chelsea, for your favorable review! Much appreciated and do visit us soon! Next stop Venice! Cheers, The Shiva team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

I had heard about this place from several people back in Los Angeles and was so excited to try Shiva Tulum. I was NOT disappointed!!! We were running late and got to the restaurant as they were closing. The owner was so gracious and kind and opened the kitchen for us and served us the best Indian food we’ve EVER had! He sat and chatted with us, and even gave us lots of recommendations for our travels all over the world. The place is a gorgeous sanctuary, especially if you’ve overdone it on the tacos! I will be telling all Tulum travelers to make Shiva a MUST STOP for their trip! You will get amazing food, amazing service, and amazing ambiance. Hands down the best meal of our trip, and one of the best I’ve ever had!!!

Thank you Shiva Tulum!!!!! We won’t forget you!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank katiemW3002BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinay M, Owner at Shiva Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thanks very much for your glowing review! It was wonderful hosting you for dinner and we look forward to having you visit soon! Warm regards, The Shiva team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited Shiva with a friend during our last night in Tulum. Vinay, the owner, was kind and pleasant. He brought great energy to our experience. The food was fresh and delicious. We will definitely return during our future visits to Tulum.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Liat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

After a week in Tulum, we wanted to try something new and saw Shiva on our drive back to the hotel. When we walked in, we were greeted by the owner who explained the menu and made us immediately feel at home. Guests have a choice to lounge on comfortable and tastefully decorated couches or sit at traditional tables. We chose the lounge and were served a well coursed meal. Each dish was rich and flavorful. The tikka was unlike anything I’ve tasted, both sweet and spicy, and the service was exceptional. Definitely going back.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiva Tulum also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Shiva Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing