We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, fun, comfortable, great location and treated like family”
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at Teetotum Hotel for the first 3 nights of a 5 night trip in Tulum. Teetotum is just off the main highway in Tulum but far enough off that it's secluded....super easy access to a grocery store, 7-11, liquor store and the main road. We arrived in the middle of a rainstorm the first night and were greeted as if they had been waiting all day to see us. The rooms are a bit spartan if you are looking for luxury, but decorated cheery and hip and were super clean. The bed was very comfortable and the a/c works great! (careful, it can get ultra-cold if you keep it on too high at night) We had dinner in the restaurant the first night, very cool and comfortable, the food was great...there are a couple of resident dogs and cats that keep you company there as well.
I think Teetotum is the perfect location in Tulum if you plan to venture in to the jungle to cenotes and ruins which is exactly what we did the first two days.....after time in the jungle it was great to come back to a/c and cold drinks. (they will whip up just about anything) It rained the first two days so unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the upper deck on the roof but we did get to enjoy the small pool the third day....they even brought us drinks while in the pool. We had breakfast there every morning and it was delicious.
The whole setting is really personal and we were treated like family - we chatted with the owner, they gave us recommendations, he even let me use his laptop at one point to email. We planned one morning to leave before the restaurant was open so he set up the coffee maker for me and told me to just go behind the bar and start it myself in the morning. He even set out to-go coffee cups for me. The grounds are amazing, well maintained and have all the amenities one needs. On the last day we wanted to go see ruins before we checked out and asked if we could check out late...the owners response was "check out whenever you want!" It was great to be able to leave our luggage in the room and come back for it later that afternoon.
Only minor downsides.....1)this place is much farther from the beach than it appears on their website, I think it's perfect if you have a car and wish to explore the ruins and cenotes. We stayed in a cabana on the beach the last two nights and that worked out perfectly 2) One of the staff always appeared annoyed when we had breakfast or asked her for anything, not so friendly although the rest of them were amazing.
All in all, this is a charming, super-hip, comfortable hotel with a great central location to all activities. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Teetotum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 362 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

The rooms are simple and beautiful, and there's a lovely garden and rooftop deck, plus a small lounge pool for a cool dip. They show movies on the roof. Their small bar/lounge area is amazing, and there are friendly ex-pats hanging out there on the regular. The food & service best we had in Tulum. The french toast blew my mind. The location is really close to town, but you can also scoot down to the beach by bike or cheap taxi. Teetotum is amazing & beats the hell out of those bug-infested beach cabana things. Book with confidence. I will definitely be returning to Teetotum in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhyPossibly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Great small (4 room) hotel on the road to the beach. Hip, fun, great helpful staff. Free bikes, snorkel gear, and help getting around. The food at the restaurant is fresh, made to order and delicious. 2 for 1 drinks at happy hour also a nice treat. We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Well, if you think that no place can really be this good or have this many good reviews, think again. No, i am not the owner or a friend of the owner writing this. Teetotum is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had, and i've stayed at places all over the US (and globe) from 1 star to 4 star. This place in my mind, is a 3.5 star.
We looked at some of the other places in tulum on the beach, and you cannot beat teetotum for the price and value. When we booked our trip we originally thought we'd want to be on the beach - but it was important to us that we stayed somewhere that was nice, clean, and friendly. We certainly found that in teetotum.

The staff was super nice - from Richard (the owner) to Olga and Corey (the bartenders servers) and even the cook (sorry forgot her name) were all super friendly and nice, all the time. Coming back from a day of fun filled activities was always nice to see their smiling faces, and tell them about the amazing stuff you just did/saw! It was like having a family there waiting for you to come home.
Only 4 rooms at this place - so they really make you feel special and cater to your needs.
They have bikes that you can use free of charge, to ride the 2km down to the beach, and even have snorkel gear for those of you who are feeling adventurous enough to swim with the turtles in akumal. (Thanks richard for that rec by the way!).
Never before have i been treated so nicely at a hotel -
the food was excellent - really great breakfast included in your room fees. and the bar! oh man... makes me want to go back and have more of those tasty mango margaritas! only 30 pesos too!!!! (roughly $3)
10 pesos for beers (pacifico) worked for me! cheaper than the supermarket!

the rooms have A/C and ipod docks, perfect for unwinding and reading before dinner or whatever... and also small fridges in the room.

the decor was very nice, and we just can't say enough good things about this place.

if you are considering a trip to mexico, go to tulum. When you get there, check in to teetotum and let your worries melt away

oh yeah also go to the ruins in tulum early in the morning to avoid the crowd

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We booked Teetotum after viewing the website & reading reviews on trip advisor.
We always do some research before booking a holiday & quite often end up being disappointed with a place (websites & photo's can be so misleading!)
This was not the case with Teetotum, we absolutely loved it!

The whole vibe of this place is cool, from the décor of the spacious rooms to the amazing staff ...
The rooms & the grounds are beautiful & really stylish - a lot of thought, effort & attention to detail has gone into creating this place. The whole property is well kept & very clean.

The situation is perfect, a short walk or bike ride into town (for a couple of good restaurants, ATM's, banks, money exchange, grocery stores & gift/souvenir shops), & then a pleasant bike ride along the Beach road to some of the most amazing stretches of sand & sea we've ever seen. The use of the bikes are offered as a gift during your stay, this is a nice touch, the bikes were invaluable & made our stay so enjoyable because we managed to explore the long beaches & the beach cabana resorts.

The food is delicious. The included continental breakfast is so good that we very rarely explored the rest of the breakfast menu, when we did it was amazing, try the french toast. The food is fantastic whatever you have from the menu, the guacamole & 10 peso beer was great to have when returning from a day at the beach. We tried various other restaurants during our stay, both in town & at the beach, but Teetotum food was the tastiest by far.

The atmosphere is really chilled. Staff & guests chat & discuss things to do & places to go over breakfast, locals pop by throughout the day to simply hang out, they all agree it's their favourite place in Tulum.
The owners & staff are fantastic ... you couldn't wish for a nicer bunch of people!

Teetotum is our favourite place in Tulum, we hope we can return there some day soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshiregirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Teetotum for a week in March and felt right at home on the first day. It was hard not to considering how great Richard, Corey, Olga and Emma treated us. Either drinking and hanging out with them or having a great breakfast and coffee in the dining room, it was sometimes hard to leave to explore.

The hotel is within walking distance of town and biking distance to the beaches. Although it's not right on the beach, it was a great place to come home to after daily adventures. The rooms are artfully done and the beds are really comfortable. You don't really need a guidebook, because Tulum is small enough to navigate easily. You can also ask anyone on the staff and be sure to find something new to check out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKATurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights recently.

Overall, the experience was pleasant enough and the room was spacious and modern. The bedding was of good quality and the bed was very comfortable. However, I was unable to sleep at night because of the light which was able to get into the room through gaps around the door; cheap-looking, badly-fitted, thin curtains and the bathroom door. A few sets of thick, well-fitted curtains would make all the difference. In addition, the iPod dock didn't work with our Nanos - I didn't try my iPhone in it. Wi-fi was good.

On arrival, we were shown to our room by the girl behind the bar who wasn't very friendly and offered no information about the facilities or the area. The rest of the staff were, however, pretty friendly and the owner made a point of greeting us on the first evening and welcoming us.

Location was fine and the cycle to the beach was fun but we thought the price was a little high given that we could have stayed on the beach for only a little more.

The pool was tiny and we didn't use it.

It was great to get a steaming hot cup of tea with breakfast but, unfortunately, with UHT milk rather than fresh (small point but I am fussy).

Our room was spotless and cleaned every day and there were plenty of huge, freshly laundered towels which was great. I didn't, however, feel that the bar area was scrupulously clean - maybe because of the pets that enjoyed lounging there or maybe because of the brown suede seating and scuffed furniture which looked just the tiniest bit shabby. I also ordered a glass of wine one evening which I had to return because the glass was filthy.

Our overall experience was OK but we would probably stay on the beach next time. Felt Teetotum was a little bit over-priced for the service and facilities on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#36 of 98 in Tulum
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
4.8 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 98 in Tulum
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $105 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing