We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay & great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay & great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place - pretty basic but good sized bed and room (we had 3 of us in a double with one extra bed - and there was plenty of space).

I agree with other reviews here that this isn't really a "boutique" hotel but it's quite funky - and has everything you really need. It's quite far from the beach, which wasn't a problem for us as we had rented a car. I would not plan to stay here without a car -- it would take you at least 45 mins to walk to the beach and 20 mins to cycle - and there is nothing on the way so it's not a great walk or an interesting cycle. But - it's so much less touristy and crowded than the beachy places in Tulum and that's why I liked it. The food was also excellent and I loved everyone who worked here and the place really grew on me.

The only bad thing I would flag is that this hotel is right on a main road and so it's quite noisy - even in our room which was set back from the road on the other side of the courtyard - I could still hear trucks going by. It wasn't so bad that I could not sleep but light sleepers would need earplugs.

Tulum is actually a lot more built up than you think - but the beach IS very nice. Ask the guys at the hotel how to find the *public entrance*.

We stayed here for a week and worked online using the WiFi most days - which was pretty good.

Make sure you have the Huevos Rancheros! And ask Richard about getting a massage in your room. One of the best I've had :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
hola amiga!
thank you for your kind review
we enjoyed having you here for a week, tho you were work so hard, we felt like lazybones!
having international visitors is always a bonus for us as we learn the various customs and expectations so we can better satisfy your needs.
hope to see you again best,
richard, dali and teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    45
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
192
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Accommodations were stellar- comfy pristinely clean, modern. Friendly conversation when u want quiet time in a hammock or on rooftop beds chill music and great location perfect for beach or town. My son and I loved this place, has an amazing vibe, if you want to go to downtown get a bike that is given for free at the hotel, would take you 5 minutes or 5 to the beach to. Love this place, service is great, room service is awesome and delicious. Great choice if you want to experience the best of Tulum.

Room Tip: any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank analuisaarciniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
ana,
guests like you and your son make our jobs a total pleasure. you guys seem to appreciate everything we do, which makes doing it so easy. we love hosting your various trips to tulum and our entire staff misses you both and we discuss you both often.
so please come back soon and see the changes we have made.
thank you for your kind words and of course we welcome your return pronto!
best,
richard and the entire teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Teetotum is a fun bed and breakfast/hotel/restaurant/bar situated on the road from Tulum to the beach.

The rooms are large, comfortable and clean and the hotel itself is spread out and has a very relaxed vibe. The attached bar and restaurant are also excellent quality and value.

The real gem is the owner Richard who is welcoming, fun and makes every visitor to the hotel or bar feel welcome. Would definitely return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
hola amigos,
thank you for your visit from far away australia!
we are really appreciative of all our guests who come from all over and take the time to write us up so nicely.
so please next visit to tulum, let us know and we'll do even better!
thank you again
richard and teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sitting sweetly on the road to the beach, behind murals of pop-art and retro-chic design, is the quintessential Tulum experience. Teetotum is owned by a worldly, salt of the Earth kind of guy named Richard, who keeps the place humming with the help of a few extremely lovely locals, two cats and one dog, that all compliment your stay nicely. I visit Tulum at least once a year and make a point to stay at Teetotum for one or two days before I go to the beach. The generous hospitality, great food and coffee and proximity to town make for the most honest experience you can have of Tulum, it's culture and the people. Many locals favor the casual, hip feel of Teetotum's common/dining room. Asking about the local flavor from the people that know it best is your
key to enjoying this beautiful part of the Riviera Maya. Should your visit to Teetotum include an overnight stay, the rooms are clean, chilled and fortified with an iPod charger. Long story longer, Teetotum is rad! It's in the know, delicious and so kind. If you want a nice room in Tulum for one night or ten without paying beach front prices, stay here! You will have found the best part of this delightful town without having to spend your paycheck on a beachfront room with less personality and much less heart. At Teetotum, they say 'on the road to the beach, we love you'. Well, Teetotum, on the road to the
beach, I love you back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congrejito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
you are sweet to mention us so positively. we have enjoyed your visits in the past and hope to see you soon during your next visit to safe and sunny tulum.
get outta colorado y visit our little town again!
thank you
richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My hubby and I stayed in one of the four rooms of the courtyard. It was very clean, nicely decorated and the staff was sweet and very helpful. The food at the hotel restaurant is fantastic and less expensive than the restaurants on the beach. It was my favorite place for brunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
hey guys!,
thank you for you positive review, we really appreciate it. taking time from your new york schedules is a hassle, so thanks! please come visit again- you guys are exactly who we had in mind when we conceived of our humble hotel. hurry back! our brunch awaits!
thank you again and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
sincerely,
richard and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We normally stay in town when we visit Tulum. This time we divided our time between the beach and the town of Tulum. This hotel was a great fit for us. The vibe was laid back, and the staff was friendly. The owner Richard was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place in town that has wi-fi and air conditioning - which was very important to us. Oh the bikes are free to use, which was great.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, which worked out great because we had a balcony. Great for morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
hola friends,
thank you for your stellar review, we really appreciate it! it was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope you return to our humble hotel often. we know you really like tulum, and it's not a long flight from fla. so come often and stay with us! we will make sure you get a 2nd floor room!
hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
best,
richard, dali + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My girlfriend I spent a few days here this past labor day and couldn't have been happier with our experience. Richard and the staff were super friendly and went above and beyond (even helping out after a cabby decided to back into our rental car) to make sure we had a great trip. Everyone, from Richard to the kids, are just seem to be dedicated to providing the best service to guests, locals or whoever else just wanders in. Richard gave us great suggestions about what to do and when do them. He really helped make our trip a memorable experience.

The hotel itself has a cool vibe that lends itself to just hanging out, relaxing and having some drinks. The rooms were always clean, the beds were comfortable and the food was pretty good.

I can't say enough good this about this little hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
hey guys,
thank you so much for your kind review. hopefully, all worked out with the car rental and the ensuing issues. also hoped that you both accomplished everything you set out to do.
and hopefully your possible hangover is gone- mine just barely! haha
thank you for your visit- you guys are the reason we are here, so come back!!
best,
richard and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
4.7 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#15 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mestizo Gallery
Mestizo Gallery
#40 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Property: Teetotum Hotel
Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing