We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tulum's modern oasis”
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tulum's modern oasis”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

in a sea of thatched roof, mosquito friendly, sand-and-sea-mist-in-all-my-clothes hotels to choose from, it's a pleasure to find a spot in tulum that celebrates modern aesthetics, great bedding, and the option of A/C.
"teeto", as i affectionately call it, was part of our routine each day: wake up, have a nice leisurely breakfast, chat with richard, the owner, about what we should see, eat, do, not to mention great people watching as well. this is a hot spot for the expat community of tulum so there is a wealth of friendly folks with insider tips galore.
all rooms are well appointed and spacious, the free bike rental is a huge plus, the plunge pool provides a nice post beach dip, and just in case you do need to connect with the outside world, the lounge in the garden is a perfect spot to connect to wifi.
i should also mention that as a new mom (our daughter was 4 months when we brought her to tulum) i felt that teetotum was safe, SUPER CLEAN at all times and kid friendly.
we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong, all 4 are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nativa_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
hey guys!
you are the type of people we hoped we would encounter when we decided to open our hotel/restaurant. we really enjoyed your visit and your beautiful daughter was the high point of each day. never once during your stay did i hear her cry!
please come back again and again and i promise we will do our best to make you happy you chose teetotum!
thank you again for your lovely review and we super hope to see you again soon in safe and sunny tulum!
richard, dali + the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    47
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
200
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Teetotum for 4 nights and must stay that it was a fantastic experience. The place is super clean, safe and it has a grand tranquill feel! The hotel is situated in the town and about a 15 min bike ride to the beach. The hotel offers free bike rentals which was amazing as we biked everywhere including the ruins(about 10 min from hotel). Lots of bike paths so no problems getting around. There is also a car rental right next to the place if you want to rent a car for the day. Lastly, if you get hungry and thirsty, there are ton of amazing restaurants and bars about a 5 min walk in the town or if you want to eat by the beach, 5$ cab ride will get you there!
Word out to Richard and Dali who were super friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeGM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
hola amiga!
hope all is well in cold toronto!
thank you for visiting tulum. we loved meeting you and getting to share some time in our little paradise of tulum. please visit us again with even more friends. we really enjoy getting to know all these varied people form all over our glorious globe.
thank you again for your kindness and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
richard, dali and the teetotum staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I and stayed for 7 wonderful nites at Teetotum, and I'm here to tell you it was wonderful! Richard the owner, who is always there, was great with tips and info to make our stay better. The room was clean clean clean with tons of hot water and A/C. Free use of the bikes was great for getting around town, you could take them to the beach, but we went with cabs. Location Location Location, beach all day, great food and shopping all nite. Don't wait book it NOW!!!

Room Tip: Go with 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
hey you midwesterners!
sorry to have missed you on your last morning but 6:30 i can't do! hope the return flight was pleasant and the weather you found at home is ok. we know you had been loyal guests of another hotel in town but we hope you return to us next time you visit. it was our pleasure to have you guys here- we love to see people come in pale and grey and leave energetically and brown! you guys definitely get every moments "juice" out of your day.
thank you again and we truly hope to see the two of you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tvlyyz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friend and I booked our first trip to Tulum, MX and stayed @ the Teetotum for 5days and 4nights, our stay was spectacular, the owner Richard is amazing and welcoming, his staff is very friendly, and nothing short of fantastic, this place is a lovely retreat, has a relaxed feeling, food is phenomenal, try the shrimp tacos you wont regret your stay here, and while you're visiting give my love to Dali (Richards faithful canine companion)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
hey you guys from up north, hola!!
thank you for your kind words- we loved hosting your visit and we super hope you return with some friends and take over the whole place for a long weekend. it would be a blast!
and thanks for the dark rum, its going down very easily in this heat.
hurry back, we love to have newly made friends return!
besos,
best,
richard, dali and teetotum staff (and savannah + hibberd in abstencia!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

we stayed here and could not fault it ,everybody was so helpful , perfect location ,Richard the owner was so helpful and willing to help in any situation .we would recomend this hotel David and Barbara Nelson

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
hola amigos!
hello,
so nice to hear from you two. we loved your visit and really hope you can come enjoy tulum again next year. having you here for 2 weeks was great as we got to get to know you both better than had you stayed less time. also putting your faces together with your son's was cool for us.
so please come again ( and bring your daughter as we'd love to see her, too).
thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
GO MAN U!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I escaped the bitter NY cold to spend 4 nights at Teetotum recently, and enjoyed our stay there thoroughly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the service impeccable (such a surprise to arrive back in the afternoon with the clothes that we had strewn about perfectly folded and stacked), and Richard was the most gracious host, with excellent advice for activities and places to eat.

We took full advantage of the free bikes to go to the beach the first morning of our stay, and also the free snorkels (to go to the Gran Cenote, which is also close by). The free breakfast (fresh squeezed OJ! fresh mango and papaya!) on the rooftop was a daily treat.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hummbaby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
hey guys,
thank you so much for your kind review. it was a pleasure hosting your visit to teetotum. we love to see young (+ old) new yorkers taking advantage of the quick flight to tulum for a long weekend. we hope to see you guys as regulars in the near future.
thank you again for your visit and hopefully the frigid weather won't get you down ( and maybe will rekindle your interest in an imminent return.
hasta pronto,
richard and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just spent 10 days at teetotum. This hotel is super nice, cozy and has a very relaxed and intimate atmosphere. Rooms are spacious, always very clean and designed in a both modern and authentic style. Staff is very kind and welcoming, wifi is super fast and guests have free bikes so overall the service, including food and bar, was really great. We totally recommend this place for an amazing stay in tulum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyVi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
hola from sunny tulum!
hope the winter storms haven't got you down.
thank you so much for your visit and your glowing review! people as lovely and friendly as you both make it so much more enjoyable to be in this position. we really enjoy meeting people who "get" what we are trying to do.
again gracias por tu preferencia and we certainly hope to see you next season in safe and sunny tulum.
richard, dail and the staff at teetotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 95 in Tulum
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
4.8 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Property: Teetotum Hotel
Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing