We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great spot in Tulum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was modern but with great character. The style was elegant and the host was a riot! We had such a nice time -- close to Tulum's center and close to the beaches. The staff took good care of us. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
hey guys,
happy new year!
thank you very much for your kind words, they means a tremendous amount to us and help push us to forge ahead with new ideas to better serve our guests' needs.
we truly enjoy reading comments such as yours and we share them with our staff as learning experience.
we hope to have the opportunity to satisfy your future travels need!
all the best!
thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    43
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
177
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

ok, this review is way overdue. my boyfriend and i stayed at teetotum for one week in july 2012. it was our first big vacation together and teetotum played a huge part in making it wonderful. originally, we had planned to rent a car and spend our week driving all around quintana roo and into yucatan. but in the end, we just took a cab from the airport straight to teetotum. where to start? the complimentary breakfast is great. sometimes we'd add extras like an egg dish or a latte, all of which were excellent. our first night at teetotum we arrived late but still had enough time to chat with diego, one of the servers, and eat an excellent dinner of fish cooked yucatan style. this was our trip, in a nutshell:
-wake up and have a leisurely, amazing breakfast at the hotel. chat with richard (and other staff) about our plans for the day.
-get on our free bikes from the hotel, buy snacks and water at one of the several stores nearby and head to the beach
-hang out at the beach, drink margaritas, bliss out
-cycle back to the hotel, have too many amazing margaritas with chips and guacamole
-eat dinner in town (most) or at a place on the beach (we loved el tabano on the beach and el camello in town)
-hang out at the hotel, sleep like a baby.

i can't imagine what kind of person could find a bad thing to say about teetotum. we can't wait to return. thanks, richard (and diego, anna, antonio, and the wonderful cooks) for a fabulous time. also, richard, your restaurant tips were always the best. there is one more great place in town we had discussed together but i am not gonna mention the name on this site! haha :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
hey north country guys!, thank you so much for your kind words. we are super stoked that you enjoyed visiting tulum and sharing your experience with us. we loved having you both with us and really hope to see you guys lounging about our property in the near future!
thank you again and rest assured i have share your kindness with our staff!
see you soon!
we love you
richard + the teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Teetotum for 4 days recently. The entire experience was amazing!

Upon arrival, we were shown to our very spacious and clean room. We immediately got a couple of drinks and lounged on the rooftop (always a nice breeze). Then we asked Isabel about getting to the beach, she showed us on a map the stopping points and explained that it was safe. We hopped on the bikes immediately just to go check it out. It's a short, safe ride and the bikes are a reliable and quick way to paradise.

We came back for dinner. I should mention that the FOOD was one of our favorite parts of the entire trip. We ate every meal at the hotel and it was absolutely delicious! Please, please, please check out any and everything on the menu!
After dinner we met, Richard, who we immediately connected with and shared some great conversations with. He made sure we were comfortable the entire stay on our first visit to Tulum.

The next 3 days, we immensely enjoyed everything about Teetotum. The bed is dangerously comfortable (we had to force ourselves to get up and cruise to the beach), the food was amazing, the people were friendly, the shower was perfect after a long day at the beach, the plunge pool wasn't too cold and also felt great on a warm day, the vibe and atmosphere is hip and modern, the service was outstanding, and we always felt safe.

We couldn't possibly have asked for a better experience and cannot wait to return. Believe all of the great reviews: Teetotum is friendly, safe, hip, and delicious!

Thank you, Richard, Isabel, and Dali and everyone that we met while lounging for making us feel welcome and providing a great experience. We miss it already!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
hey, texans!
thank you so much for the kind words! we had a ball with you guys- its seldom we get to discuss films with such bright, articulate hipsters. come visit again and we'll set up a wes anderson film fest AND WE'LL ALL WEAR JUMPSUITS! again thank you for sharing your time with us and we hope to see you guys back at teetotum super soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

pre-booking, richard (owner/host) was already friendly and helpful in his correspondance. upon arrival at teetotum, i was pleasantly surprised to experience firsthand richard's brand of friendly, non-pretentious service.

the hotel itself is modern in a rustic sense that befits tulum. there are many wonderful pieces and touches throughout the hotel so if aesthetics are important to you - you may also find this place charming and understated.

my time at teetotum was spent in the room and bar. the room was very clean and spacious (my travel companion and i played a quick game of badminton in the room). the bed was comfortable - highly recommended. the bar is small but i had a great time chatting with richard, the bartender, my travel companion and another guest. everyone is super friendly and i have to say it, richard is a defining element of teetotum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quasimime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
hola amigas!
thank you so much for your over the top review! you guys rocked! we really dug your passion about things, especially your love and incredible knowledge of film. we really enjoyed sharing our time and space with you both. what a pleasure. hopefully, you will enjoy the rest of your trip to belize and hook up again with us soon!
thank you again for sharing tales!
best,
richard + the teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

tulum is now a part of me, and teetotum provided a mass of the memories. the space is entreating and lovely, and the staff is gracious and attentive. i cant wait to return and would recommend teetotum to anyone visiting tulum.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aly_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
ali g, no wonder your films are so funny- you have great taste!! thank you so much for your glowing review- we had a wonderful time getting acquainted and super look forward to your prompt (we hope) return!
thank you again from our entire staff and the other guests (and dali!). we all had a ball!
see you soon in safe and sunny tulum!
richard and the staff of teetotum
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Teetoum is always an amazing experience. The staff are great, the owner is super accomodating and great to talk to (but he's from Philly, so of course....). My daughter and i stayed there and lounged around a lot in the pool, the hammocks & the bar and we both felt so comfortable. She even got Netflix for early morning movies. Close to town AND close to the beach is a pretty choice spot in Tulum. Teetotum, you make Tulum an even greater place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcousler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
hola couslers!
thank you so much for your kind words. its doubly special to us on the eve of thanksgiving to hear such warmth from our guests and one with children- as they are the future!
it was our pleasure hosting your stay and we super hope to again be present in your future travels!!
happy holiday from the entire teetotum staff!!
and a heartfelt THANKS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for four nights here and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the location was ideal for getting either into town or down to the beach as well as being right next to a giant supermarket. Roger was also really helpful with his advice about the local area and his tips were always on the money. Plus the nightly happy hour was a great way to get the evening started before heading into Tullum or down to the beach for dinner. Top Spot and good value!

Room Tip: I suspect all the room were great, we were on the ground floor but I imagine the upper floor affords...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_moonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write your review. we are obviously pleased that you both enjoyed your visit! we appreciate your pointing out our proximity to the new market near by which is helpful to our guests who may need to pick up some items during their visit. please consider us again should you choose to re-visit safe and sunny tulum.
happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#20 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ginger Hotel
Ginger Hotel
#34 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#38 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#14 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Property: Teetotum Hotel
Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing