We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after doing a few days by the beach. Great place if you want a chance to see the town of Tulum. Richard and all his staff are really friendly and able to offer suggestions of great things to do. Most of all they just seem really interested in your stay!
Rooms are clean and well equipt. Food is also wicked!
We just loved using the hotel bikes to ride about and chilling on the roof terrace.
Cheers guys! Amy and Rich

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmySearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 381 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

When visiting Tulum, you have two options - staying right on the beach, or in the town (which is around 2 miles away). Teetotum is certainly the best option in town, as it is tucked away from the main street (which is not the most desirable location - being more like a truck stop than the quaint little village that you might expect) on the road that leads to a spectacular beach. The concept is four rooms, attached to a very cool, hip bar/restaurant. The atmosphere is very laid back and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is simple (just fruit & toast) and for the price you might expect a little bit more. Lunch and Dinner are well prepared and there are great daily specials. The rooms are stylish, in a minimalist way - but perfect for the beach/hippy environment of Tulum. One of the big positives are the complimentary bicycles - which you can take to explore the area. Teetotum's location is perfect for those wanting to not just go to the beach - but also visit the Mayan Ruins, Cenotes and wonderful nature that Tulum is famous for. Richard (the Owner) has certainly created something unique to the area and Teetotum is a shining star within the town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We just returned from staying at Teetotum and we were very happy with everything. I'm not saying it is overly fancy, but it was everything we wanted and needed and we would go back again and again.
We had only stopped in for breakfast but when we saw the rooms and how fresh smelling, clean and cool the rooms were we were taken. Then we saw the safe, mini fridge, air conditioning and shower and we were sold.
We grabbed a cab and checked out of our current hotel on a fabulous beach and asked the cab driver to wait while we grabbed our bags and returned to Teetotum.
We had been away from home for 2 weeks and it was time we had swam together as we had our passports safely locked in the room safe.
Continental breaky and the use of their bikes were a bonus.
It all only happened because the owner happened to pass by our table the morning we were there for breakfast and ask if everything was ok. As a business owner myself I heard the proprietorship in him and asked, "Is this your place I love the fresh decor?" My hubby couldn't wait to fill the mini fridge with crevazas so they would be ready for the beach.
It's not located on the beach but it was $1 on the local bus to the beach $5 by cab.
We have a strong dislike of big chains and I found Teetotum charming and all the staff friendly and helpful encouraging us to visit the small cenotes close by.
Teetotum is a true pleasure.
We will be back...:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My GF and I stayed at Teetotum over new year's week - we couldn't have picked a better place for the home base of our Tulum adventure. There's so much to do from beach bumming, trying out the amazing local cuisine and experiencing the natural beauty of the local cenotes and mayan ruins. Hotel Teetotum is in an ideal location for all of this, just a short 10 min bike ride to the beach and a 10 min walk to the center of Tulum town. All of Tulum's treasures within close distance! With only 4 rooms the hotel has a wonderful cozy vibe, and was immaculately clean and very stylish to boot. You could not ask for a better host than Richard, so friendly and generous with his knowledge of the local scene. If there's a question, ask Richard - he will always steer you in the right direction! My only regret is that it will have to be some time before we can return again...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at Teetotum Hotel in Tulum for two nights in January. This hotel is a good option for those who want to stay neither in town nor at the beach -- you do not have the street noise from the town, and the beach is a short bike ride or car drive away (the hotel provides bikes for guests, but we used our rental car). The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean, stocked with beach towels as well as bath towels, though only hand soap was provided for toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and you have the option of turning on the AC. The manager, Richard, is very friendly and helpful, and gave us good tips about where to go and where to eat. The bar and outside patio area are quite nice for sitting, and the WiFi works well out there (but we couldn't connect in our rooms). My only complaint was that the included continental breakfast is rather shabby when compared to the price you pay for the night-- coffee, juice, four slices of toast, butter and jam, and some pieces of fruit (not even a whole banana or a whole apple). It will not fill you up for a day of hiking, swimming, or biking. Since the price difference on the restaurant's menu between the continental breakfast and an egg dish was only about 30-40 pesos (less than four dollars), we felt a better breakfast could have been provided for overnight guests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_Ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed there for a wedding end of June, first week of July 2010...Rooms were very clean, modern...only four rooms on the property...felt like home, very private...everything worked, the staff was great, congenial...owner was nice and friendly...AC worked just fine in the heat...no issues at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thalet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just got back from a week stay at Teetotum over NYE and really enjoyed my time there. Nice design esthetic, the rooms are solid, clean and quiet. The food is fresh and delicious (some of the better meals on the trip were here), the staff friendly and warm, and Richard is a terrific host. Though not on the beach, its on the road to the beach, which, since we had a car, proved perfect for us as we had an active vacation (so much to do there). But you can ride bikes to the beach easily, and also walk right into town. Its a place I'll return to.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
Thank bdoyle212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 102 in Tulum
954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#23 of 102 in Tulum
624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coco Hacienda Tulum
Coco Hacienda Tulum
#18 of 102 in Tulum
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#45 of 102 in Tulum
211 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#49 of 102 in Tulum
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azura Boutique Hotel
Azura Boutique Hotel
#55 of 102 in Tulum
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $111 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing