We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing has changed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 80 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing has changed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed a week in February at La Selva Mariposa and we were not disappointed in anyway. Our first stay was in Oct of 2012 and we fell in love. You don't have to be on the beach to be in Paradise!
It will be hard to write a review here without repeating everything that everyone has already put forth.
Lou and Moe are THE most charming couple/owners of this gorgeous little hideaway and they go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable. We stayed in suite #3 and it has everything you need. They have thought of everything to make your stay one you will remember. Being a foodie of sorts, I can't tell you enough here about the wonderful breakfasts they prepare for you every morning. Fresh fruit juice blends you won't find anywhere else, fresh muffins, coffee, wonderful fruit platters and creative homemade entrees every day that they prepare themselves. You don't leave in the morning hungry, that's for sure.
Both Mari and Lou are very knowledgable about the area and can help you plan your day if you wish.
Most folks know that there is a great variety of places to eat/dine at in the Tulum area- from very pricey to very cheap. The first night we arrived we ate at a little local restaurant within walking distance of La Selva. We had 6 tacos and 4 beers for $9.00 US, go figure! But we splurged on Randy's B/D and dined at Hechizo. That was a five star experience. Food/Service was outstanding. The setting around the rooms is so inviting and Randy and I marvel at the artistic touches everywhere. So creative!! There is a new hot tub up on the roof and we enjoyed wine and gazing at the stars up there on more than one occasion. We have stayed right on the beach previously (2012) but we actually prefer La Selva over the hustle and bustle of the beachfront. I am rambling here, but just remembered that they added safes to the rooms, but the location really doesn't require them. Their employees have been there a long time and are trusted without question. We left money out on the table at times and it never was touched. Do remember to tip them! We met a couple of girls who had the room next to ours who did not know that tipping the maids was customary at B & B's. $3-5 dollars a day is about right. We left candy (M&M's) with our tip everyday and it did bring smiles and thank yous. I recommend room 3 for couples because there is a plunging pool with waterfall right outside your door. They have a new service now and we were so glad to take advantage of it! They will pick you up in Cancun and return you to the airport and rent you one of the cars to use for your stay. How convenient is that? No hustle at the airport! There is so much to see and do in this area-- you can't see or do it all in a week. Pick two or three important things and leave some time to just kick back and relax at Selva. There are so many little private areas that you can "escape" to and chill out. If you just have to connect, they do have WIFI now, but seriously folks, why did you come here??? Children are welcome here, unlike some other B & B's, and there were several there during our stay- but all were well behaved. We had a wonderful week with fantastic weather and hardly any bugs. Again, we just want to say how friendly, outgoing, knowledgable and hospitable you will find Mari and Lou. Lou has a great sense of humor and can keep you laughing. They were kind enough to invite us over to the mainhouse for a drink on our last night there and we had some interesting conversation. We have several ex-pat friends in Cozumel and we always enjoy hearing their "takes" on our current political situation here at home. So, Mari and Lou, thank you so much for making Randy's birthday trip so much fun! We'll be back next year! You two really deserved the 2013 Traveler's Award from Trip Advisor. I also want to add that the room charges are really quite reasonable (150US) and a bargain in my mind. Check it out on their website. We are making plans for Father's Day and I haven't found anything comparable in a 300 mile radius of where we live (Virginia Beach) for under $300 per night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hola Amigos, So great to get your kind review! You said it all. I wanted to say thanks from our staff for mentioning the fact that tipping is much appreciated. Staff is paid better than in many places in Tulum and on the beach, but the tips from guests are so important for letting them know how much the little things they do, like the gorgeous flower arrangements and towel sculptures, are noticed by someone other than Lou and I. Julio will actually go out into the pueblo/jungle and find traditional flowers and greenery when ours are not interesting enough.
Thanks also for sampling the local Macario food and commenting on it. This is important for all of the establishments, big and small in a competitive tourist area. We look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
350
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our 7th trip to Tulum and our first time off the beach area of Tulum. We decided to book LSM because we were looking for something different and of the reviews posted here on tripadvisor.com. Everything you read about the property and the rooms are true. It's beautiful, spacious, accommodating and relaxing. If you are looking for someone to entertain you, look elsewhere. Mo and Lou are friendly and will do everything they can to accommodate you but as we all would do, they want the property and rules to be respected. When you book LSM, you need to "KNOW WHERE YOU ARE" and go for a purpose and that is to relax and enjoy the surroundings. As for me, I totally enjoyed our 3 night stay there and that was enough. We tend to bounce around during our 10 day trips and see different areas. I can see a lot of family and friends enjoying LSM and will recommend to those looking for what they have to offer. I have a photo album full of pictures and a 6 minute video tour of the property if interested on my facebook page (Jeremy Gearries). I welcome you to send me a friend request if you are interested. I have a great group of friends that I have met during my travels and on this site which is beneficial when sharing travel ideas. Jeremy and Sara from Indianapolis Indiana.

Room Tip: Casa Banana - Mateos - Rent a car - Tulum town - Coba and Tulum Ruins - Destinations Direct Travel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience at our little oasis in the Mayan jungle. Yes, we are not on the beach or in the large town of Tulum and we are very clear about this when you visit our web site or read the other trip advisor reviews. Our little pueblito of Macario Gomez is growing and we now have two wonderful restaurants for guests to walk to: a Mexican and a seafood/pizza establishment. There is a new Mineral Bath House next door and our recently added roof top jacuzzi give you some interesting options for how to spend your nights with us. These things help to make our location better. What most people want when they choose La Selva Mariposa is to get away from the crowds closer to the coast, and this you will find at LSM. Lou and I give the extensive tour and write out details of things to see and do during your stay with us, so we can step back and give you your privacy while at the same time are on the fringes to help with anything you may desire.
Thanks for acknowledging this. Please ask for anything you need, we are here to serve you!
Like we say in our video, you will walk away with a new impression of the Riviera Maya,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Highly recommending this sweet special unique spot in between Tulum & Coba. Its a lush heavenly setting in nature with pools , hammocks , and a couple taking care of the place ( they also built the place) and they will take care of you too! Sweet breakfast included and good info provided. A garden and jacuzzi on your rooftop kind of place:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahndiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Life is busy and we totally appreciate you taking time out of yours to write a review and share your experience of staying at LSM. We feel very fortunate to have the life we have created in this little community, and want to share it with travelers from all over the world. We are truly a place where people come to rest, rejuvenate and share their story. We are glad to be a part of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the Selva Mariposa for seven nights. While certainly not a beach front vacation spot, it is in a very safe and convenient spot only 15 mins from the most beautiful beaches of Tulum and half-way along the road to other must-see tourist locations in the area like the Coba ruins and Valladolid.

What you go to the Selva Mariposa for are clean, distinctive accommodations full of Mexican heart and soul and all within the spa-like tranquility of the idyllic and walled-in jungle setting that has been so carefully cultivated by hosts/owners Louis and Maureen (Lou and Moe). At the Selva each morning we had plates of fresh fruit to greet us, delicious Guanabana juice, hot coffee, cereal/granola/yogurt, and whatever baked or otherwise carefully prepared brunch-y delight that Moe and Lou had prepared that day (think banana whole-grain pancakes, fabulous cinnamon pecan French toast, all sorts of imaginative egg dishes, etc). And the hospitality and care that Moe and Lou put into every meal extends out far past the breakfast table and frankly into every aspect of your comfort while you're with them. Think lazy sunset hot tub sessions in the jungle canopy and eucalyptus steams in their specially designed pyramid sauna?

My wife, daughter and I all were so happy to come home each day after an adventure up a Mayan pyramid, down a dramatic cenote, or sunning on the fabulous Tulum beaches. And when I say fabulous beaches, I mean truly fabulous. Lou and Moe have very comprehensive guides they've developed over the years to many spots in and around Tulum that might be of interest to their guests, but it's the beaches in Tulum that really bring the people who have discovered this place back, year after year. Veering to the left as you get down the main Tulum beach access road, and just slightly passed the Mezzanine hotel/restaurant, you'll find a public access beach with water that is fresh but oh-so-easy to get into, thousands of metres of bright white, talcum powder-like sand that never gets too hot, and some but never-too-many interesting local and European travelers (they don't call it the Mayan Riviera for nothing) for daytime company.

If I had any complaints it would be that the crystal clear cenote-like pools outside the various units were just a little too cool to get into, but then again our family doesn't have any potential Polar Bear Club types and have a hard time with the Cape Cod Atlantic even at the end of August. So many may find these waters refreshing and just right.

All in all a great place to stay in and around Tulum and with hosts who were simply the best we have ever been cared for by. The 2013 Tripadvisor Traveller's Choice Award was most certainly deserved here. Thanks again Moe and Lou!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nibliphynohtna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you. What a gem your family was to cater to! You have said it all. We are truly appreciative of families like yours who come to Tulum to spend your days along the mystic shores and yet you chose to stay in the Mayan jungle 20 min. away. We can offer you something different than the 50 plus little hotels along the beach. We treasure what we have developed with the help of our Mayan neighbors and of course , Mother Nature. There are so many things to discover within our stone walls and we are pleased that you took the time to check each thing out. Thanks for your well thought out comments, and we hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I've stayed at many tropical ecolodges over the years but Moe and Lou have gone a step further and the results are there---myriad species of butterflies and birds. I added to my bird list with a black headed trogon and turquoise browed mot-mot. The accomodations and hospitality were first rate. Moe greeted us as if we were life long friends and Lou shared his extensive knowledge of the trees and plants that made our stay both educational and rewarding. The breakfasts were substantial and the waterfall outside our room with adjacent plunge pool were refreshing and sleep inducing. The 12 mile drive to the beaches in Tulum took just 15 minutues as there were few topes and no villages to drive through. Although we didn't need it, their car rental service is a big plus and a unique amenity that I have never seen offered. Our hosts extensive and unbridled opinions of the area helped us in trip planning and we wish we had stayed more than the three days we did.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids take the large separate house for $225. Otherwise room 3 is a good option for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennistraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello, Thanks for writing a review so quickly and thoughtfully after your long travels in Mexico. We truly appreciate it. Glad you mentioned how easy the drive to the beach is, but if you are going farther south on the beach road you will have to add another 15 or more minutes as it is quite congested at this time of the year. We love sharing information about the plants and trees on our property that were planted with much love and care...Everything here has a story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed with Lou and Moe a few weeks ago. After a great time on the beach, the jungle was a nice quiet end to our trip to Tulum.

Moe happened to be out by the beach, so she picked us up (free of charge) and brought us out to La Selva, even allowing us a while to stop at the grocery store on the way. She showed us around the small pueblo, Macario Gomez (Sp?) where the B&B is located, pointing out a few great spots to eat. When we got to La Selva, she gave us some fantastic cookies and showed us to our room, which was extremely clean and comfortable. The Shower was the best part! They have excellent water pressure and nice hot water. I took a long shower every day, while peeking out to the jungle above the stunning, hand-built shower enclosure.

Breakfast each morning was fantastic, and plentiful. Moe and Lou were so knowledgeable and did a great job encouraging us to go to Coba to see the ruins (I was nervous about grabbing a cab at the street). Btw, Coba is a MUST. They did a wonderful job providing information about the area and helping us navigate back to Cancun.

* I would encourage guests to warm up to Lou. He definitely has a "Tell-it-like-it-is" nature. But I didn't find him cranky, as other reviewers have stated. Rather I would say he is much like the people of his generation I encounter in New England, with a slightly abrasive outer skin, but a warm heart.

All-in-all, a fantastic place with the best amenities we found in Tulum! If you want a quiet refuge to relax and rejuvenate in, La Selva is a great choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Your review reminds me of my style of writing, so inclusive. How wonderful to get travelers who take the time to share so many details with those who may come in the future. We truly appreciate your candor and hope you return. There are so many places yet to explore so close to La Selva Mariposa, if you have a car or are comfortable with the wait and uncertainty of public transportation. But, that is all part of the adventure you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

La Selva was a great find, it's a little oasis of beauty and serenity. We were so happy to be staying away from the main tourist accommodation along Tulum beach which over the New Year period is extremely busy.
There is a nice little BYO restaurant that has opened just a few minutes walk away and a more than acceptable roadside cantina across the road, so if after a long day out you don't want to go into town you have these options available.
Mari & Lou are very hands on hosts and are passionate about making their place a great place to stay. They offer a wealth of knowledge about the area and its attractions which makes a visit to La Selva a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are grateful for your lovely review. It really warms our hearts to have guests visit from places so far away take the time to write a review. We appreciate this more than you will ever know. We love the stimulation of talking to guests from all over the world, and one day we hope to travel to your country. The restaurant down the road that you mentioned is called Los Piratas and it is thriving thanks to guests like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
16.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing