We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Searching for Superlatives” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Searching for Superlatives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Start the day with one of Lou and Moe’s delectable breakfasts, then venture out to wander through nearby Mayan ruins, tour the museums and churches of colonial Valladolid, laze in the clear waters of a subterranean cenote, or bob in the warm waves that wash the white sands of the world’s most beautiful beach. Return to La Selva Mariposa for a steam bath, a dip in one of Lou’s hand-crafted pools, a walk through the lush grounds, or a soak in the rooftop Jacuzzi, watching morpho blue butterflies flit among the trees. Enjoy a freshly-prepared taco at a outdoor restaurant in the local pueblo, and pass the night to the sound of cascades and cicadas in a room that reminds you why you came to Mexico. It doesn’t get better than this.

Room Tip: Room #3 features a delightful outdoor shower and a comfortable kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kande17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
That review made me smile and definitely made my day. Thanks so much for your wonderful review and hope that you will stay a little longer next time...It was fun soaking and chatting with you in the rooftop jacuzzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
348
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

La Selva Mariposa was built from the ground up with care and thoughtfulness, and Moe and Lou offer so much local advice and knowledge of the surrounding areas. It's a very special place. Unlike some of the hotels right on the beach, a car is definitely recommended while staying here, but if you're looking to explore and do more day trips anyway, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank so much for writing such a glowing review for us. We enjoyed meeting you and are glad that you mentioned the need for a car. Without one, you will feel a bit stuck unless you are very patient waiting for Mx. public transportation to take you from a to b. It is possible to use the 2nd class bus, colectivos and taxis if you don't mind waiting and negotiating you fare. It will be an adventure, but in order to make the most of your vacation, a car is a welcome pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We only had two nights to sample Moe and Lou's incredible paradise in the jungle. We will definitely be back for a longer time soon. The grounds are amazing with beautiful plantings, ceramic hot tub, sweat lodge, cenote style pools. The rooms are perfectly appointed with reading lights, complimentary drinks, walk in showers and personal hammocks. the breakfasts were wonderful and Moe and lou are a wealth of information about what sights to see. You have to try this charming B&B!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clsg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Even though we lived in Vail for 25 years before coming to Tulum, we have not had many visitors from the old pueblo. Guess they all want the all inclusive's on the beach. Needless to say it was a pleasure sharing our little oasis in the jungle with such a fun couple from "back home." One thing I think is that you will come back, as two nights is not enough to sample all that is available in and close to LSM. Until then we say thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

After having spent five days at the beach we stayed for two nights at La Selva Mariposa and we were amazed by this beautiful hidden gem. The small resort is built from scratch by the friendly owners Moe and Lou. From the moment you walk in you feel the love and hard work they have put into this place. Everything is so beautiful, we were really impressed by their attention to detail. We have stayed in many hotels and resorts but La Selva Mariposa really is one of a kind!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamZonnetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for this review all the way from Holland. In fact, this is one of my very favorite reviews yet. It was so complimentary, concise and heart felt. We hope you will return to our little oasis in the jungle. I remember how much fun it was to see you all after you left for Merida and returned to pick up some clothing left behind. Take care and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for a week at the end of September / beginning of October, 2013.

Moe and Lou were out of town for the time we were there, but left us in the hands of their very hospitable caretaker, Julio, and his wife. Julio doesn't speak much English at all (though he's very patient and will take time to figure out what you're saying!) so they also arranged for their friend to join us for breakfast our first morning and help us get acquainted with the area.

The location is great-- only about 15 minutes from the beach by car. We drove and parked in front of Playa Las Palmas, which is like a beach campground if you drive down past the public beach entrance before you get to the ruins.
It's also close to the Coba ruins (about 45 minutes) which have the tallest pyramid in Mexico (and you can climb it!) and only about 2 hours from Chichen Itza.
Lots and lots of cenotes around to swim in and explore, too-- We saw Grand Cenote (only 10 minutes away), Dos Ojos, and Sac Actun.

The property is beautiful! It's like you're staying in a living art piece. Lots of fountains and running water everywhere. We stayed in Suite 4, the largest, which has it's own private artificial cenote pool. The room itself was very spacious and well furnished. The AC kept us comfortable when we weren't out exploring. We were right next to the wifi, which was surprisingly fast for being out in the jungle!
Breakfast was complimentary each morning and delicious.
I only gave it 3/5 for sleep quality because I think the bed was too firm and the pillows a bit overstuffed, but that could be personal preference. Certainly the bed was large enough! We traded out who slept in the king bed and who slept on the couch in the livingroom area-- which is made up of two single beds with cushions, arranged in an L-shape. You could easily sleep a family of 4 in that room.
Next time I will definitely be bringing my girl instead of my buddy. It's a very romantic place to stay.

Can't wait to see what new features and additions they have added next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We felt confident that our staff and friends could make our guests feel comfortable in our absence. I guess pillows and mattresses are a personal preference, but wished you had mentioned something to Julio. We have lots of different pillows and try to buy the top of the line here in Mx. Keep this in mind for next time. Hotel staff does not mind trying to make your stay including sleep the best it can be. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is our fourth trip to La Selva Mariposa. Just left there, and still feel the magic of the place. We enjoyed a delicious dinner put on my Moe and Lou. We were entertained by a very talented guitarist. Thank you, the night was so relaxing!

We also soaked in their newly finished jacuzzi. Could not have had a more relaxing end to a day by this warm, ok, hot soak. Lou, hope the inflatable pillow survived the night!

We did notice many changes to La Selva Mariposa. The lighted pathways encouraged an evening stroll on their grounds. Their lovely expanded comedor is just perfect. You can sit comfortably in their cozy furniture and do what we do best, read, relax, check email and most of all, listen to all the jungle sounds.

Love this place; can't wait to return. Moe, Lou, thank you for your hospitality. When can we come back?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
It is so cool to get return guests and you guys are so much fun...starting to feel like family. No, really, thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us again at LSM. We are so excited about our expanded dining/lounge area and the Jacuzzi is the best addition yet. We look forward to your next visit and maybe the cenote will be finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Not bad about 30 minutes from Cancun and 15 from playa de carmem..Quaint. it is not in the middle of everything but is close to the ruins and the reefs..it is quite and very relaxing . It is perfect for a 3 day get away but I think much over that it gets a little closed in

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your review and wonder if the rainy season had taken over while you stayed with us? I agree that no matter where you stay in QR during the rains it can feel a bit closed in.There are advantages in the jungle, however, the towering trees provide a natural umbrella and you can stroll around the grounds with or without an umbrella. We hope you will come back to this part of the world between late Nov. and May so that you can enjoy walking our paths into the jungle, riding bikes around our little pueblo and swimming in the cenote-style pools scattered around the property...the new jacuzzi will be open within days. It can rain off and on in the tropics, but when it clears you will know you have arrived in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
14.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
14.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
14.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. By car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our three beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing