We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but with a few problems.”
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pflugerville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, but with a few problems.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at La Selva Mariposa last 4/2013 and found it charming. The food was delicious and the accommodations were nice. The bathroom was a little different though since it had no roof/ceiling, so when using it in the wee hours of the morning, I had various kinds of bugs land on my face. My husband loved it, though, since he loves checking out insects. Privacy is limited since the owners live steps from the cabin we stayed in and the husband was about the property on a rather unpredictable schedule. He also would routinely come to our cabin, peek in the windows to get my attention to tell me about something of note about sightseeing destinations, restaurants, etc. This gentleman was quite grumpy and rather abrupt/rude at times. All meals are served outdoors, picnic-style. This covered area where meals are served is "bugged," so you have to be very careful not to critique your stay while waiting for breakfast to be served or the owner will be very grumpy with you. The patio right next to the pool is very dangerous; extremely slick when exiting the pool. The second day I slipped and wrenched my knee which almost ruined ourtrip. Be very careful when using the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foureyes1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We appreciate your business and it is our policy at La Selva Mariposa to respond to every review. Like every highly rated hotel/B&B, we take great pride in the upkeep of the property, preparation of the rooms, and service we offer our guest-- for example, at our expense, we had the bundle of clothes you left behind cleaned, folded, and delivered to your friend who lives nearby.
You reported that the owner walks around the property at “odd hours.” At various times of the day, someone makes the rounds to check water levels in the pools, turn waterfalls on and off, check to see if lights are on around the paths, check fans and lights in common areas, etc. All of this is for the comfort and security of our guests.
We are sorry that you fell, however it’s implicit that the natural surroundings around cenote-style pools (as in any type of pool) are often wet and may be slippery.
With regard to your comment about “snooping,” we try to give our guests privacy and yet be available to offer assistance when it is requested. When we approached your room, it was only to deliver a message to you about a tour you requested or a phone message left by your friends. We were not trying to be intrusive and are sorry you felt that way.
We give each set of guests a tour of their room, our house, and the common spaces when they arrive, and let them know we have security cameras at all three entrances of the property and in the dining room. This little camera has a monitor in our kitchen so we will know when you have arrived for breakfast, and we can begin your individually prepared entre. We let you know that the sound does not work due to static, but the visual image is invaluable to us. This area is not “Bugged.”
You mentioned that meals were served outdoors “picnic style.” Our dining room and soon to be internet lounge, and second floor Jacuzzi and yoga area are designed using the typical palapa style of construction to provide an authentic experience. The table is beautifully set up each day using local pottery, glass ware, cloth napkins, napkins rings, and beautiful stainless flatware.
In closing, you chose Suite 4, our most luxurious and private accommodations (surrounded by jungle plants, private paths, private roof top garden) and located over thirty feet from our house. The shower is open-style, but the rest of the bathroom has a roof. In most reviews, our clients rave about this particular feature. We do offer room #2 with a fully enclosed bathroom as another option, and our guests have the opportunity to select a room based on the pictures of the rooms on our web site, as well as browse Trip Advisor reviews that describe the individual rooms.
Our web site is very detailed regarding our location. We do not hide the fact that we are an elegant jungle B&B located off the beaten path. We are offering an authentic jungle experience located in a small Mayan pueblo. The proximity to the coast and town of Tulum in one direction and ancient Mayan cities, cenotes, and the colonial city of Valladolid in the other make our “location” unique. When you arrive at La Selva Mariposa your adventure has begun. We value any feedback our guests give us, and we wish you safe and happy travels in your future vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
355
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband, son (8 yrs) and I just spent 6 nights (6/8-6/14) at La Selva Mariposa. Our stay was nothing short of splendid. We booked the seamless package and were greeted by Lou at the airport. He pointed out all sorts of interesting things on the way to the hotel and even took us by a tasty restaurant for a meal since we had a long trip prior to arrival. Once at the hotel we had a warm welcome by Mo and the dogs and a great tour of their impressively built hotel and home. The hotels grounds and room were gorgeous. The room was clean and comfortable and even equipped with a stocked mini fridge and coffee maker. Each morning we were delighted by a wonderfully tasty and fresh breakfast. And Mo even suprised us with some delish gluten free cookies! The suggestions given to us by Lou and Mo for excursions were perfect. We drove all over the area and never once had an issue with the police or with getting gas. We ate several times at the restaurant across the way from the hotel ( Rancho La Chamba, I thnk) and had great experiences each time. The family who owns the restaurant went above and beyond with the service and made us feel like family. Overall our family vacation was splendid and I have to credit Lou and Mo for helping to make it so. I would highly recommend staying at LSM for a beautiful visit that offers experiences far beyond what any all inclusive hotel can provide.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite with a private cenote pool, the room was perfect for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehmanlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you guys so much for the beautiful comments. We enjoyed your visit and your little boy is something else. Best to you and hope to see you back here again , very soon. Moe and Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I sooooo highly recommend this absolutely beautiful, charming, relaxing B&B!!!!!! Moe and Lou were AMAZING "Hosts" ...from the absolutely beautiful, big, clean rooms with fabulous beds, private pools, the most amazing 5 star personal breakfasts I have ever experienced...not to mention the incredible property with lit up walking trails and a self guided tour on all the different unique plants! I felt completely safe and at home...this is a MUST see/stay place. Moe and Lou really didn't miss a thing in building this VERY VERY special B & B!!!!!!!! We ended up not renting a car and took the local transportation into town....was super easy and a great way to get the true feeling of the Myan ways! I look forward to returning and see Lou's new cynote and not to mention the new jacuzzi!!! Oh, and do use the super cool steam room! :) :) Have an AMAZING time at an AMAZING place!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your exuberant review. You were such a trooper to travel this area using second class buses, taxis and the local colectivo. It is not for everyone, and a car makes it so much easier to visit the many off the beaten track sites near LSM. Good for you. Thanks also for mentioning the new things in the works at LSM, like the expanded comedor and jacuzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Out of the four places we stayed in Mexico on this trip, La Selva Mariposa was definitely one of the better ones if not the best of the four. While not directly in Tulum, La Selva Mariposa is a quick 20 minute drive into a small but wonderful town of Macario Gomez. While there Lou and Marri will Point you to all the greatest activities and events in the area. Their breakfast's are top of the line and they cater to your every need. The place is well maintained and in general feels like a piece of paradise..This is definitely a place I will recommend and return to at a later date.

Room Tip: If travelling with a group It would be well worth it to go for their slightly more expensive room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zennon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review from your recent stay with us. So glad that you liked our little pueblo, Macario Gomez. It isn't what you would call quaint, or cute but it does give you an authentic peek into the lives of the sweet Mayan people whom we call neighbors. We look forward to your return and maybe one day our "location" will be more centralized as Tulum expands its borders, BUT it won't be the same, so come again before the development boom takes over the area. Mari and Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our favorite place to stay in our 10 day trip. Mari and Louis were incredible hosts (and cooks). In each room is a binder with suggested itineraries and things to do in the area - this became our guide book as it was more thorough and thoughtful than any books we brought. The location is perfect, and there is too much to do. We booked our stay for three nights, but wished we would have stayed longer. You definitely want to save a day for lounging by your own private pool on their grounds, which we didn't have time for. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katenSanFrancisco_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the great words of confidence and thoughts on your stay with us to share with other visitors to Tulum. How proud I feel that you "liked us best." There are so many beautiful places to choose from in Tulum and most people want to be on the beach, so it takes a special kind of traveler to take the road less traveled. Thanks for taking the chance on us. We love sharing our little paradise with other travelers. We look forward to your return to the jungle oasis, LSM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, NH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from eight days at La Selva Mariposa, and we will be thinking about it until the time we return. The website pictures are about as good as pictures get, but they cannot compare to the real thing. Lush greenery, manicured walkways, and the sound of waterfalls greet you as you pass through the gates of this jewel of an oasis in the center of the tiny town of Macario Gomez.

The palapas are spotlessly clean, thanks to Julio and Diaddy and the grounds are lovingly cared for by Jose. But overseeing this stunning island of beauty are Mari and Lou. Breakfast makers of the highest order (believe it or not, a different one for each morning of our stay)and true visionaries, they have created a Mayan experience to complement your visit to historic and beautiful Tulum.

The beds are incredibly comfortable (I never slept better), the grounds at night with appropriate mood lighting are as beautiful as during the day, and you wake up each morning to the sound of various tropical birds just outside your open air shower. Mari and Lou have provided helpful notebooks chock full of information on restaurants, beach clubs, denotes and things to do. Their recommendations were always spot on. When you go, do not try to cram a million things into your week. Plan bigger visits like Sian Ka'an, Coba, or Valladolid on an every other day basis. This way you will be able to relax and enjoy the great beaches and cenotes, and snorkel Yal Ku Lagoon or Akumal Bay with the sea turtles (a mesmerizing experience. Tulum Ruins can be visited before you hit the braces (truly among the most beautiful in the world).

We loved Mezzanine, Ziggy Beach, Playa del Cielo, Charlie's, El Tabano and the great gelato (yes gelato) in the middle of town. A visit should also include the tiny family run restaurant directly across the road. It absolutely drips with character, and you will love the truly sweet people who treat you like visiting royalty. Visit the Honey Store as well, and leave or make room in your luggage or bring an extra bag so that you can take home some of their products.

The big payoff, at the end of each day's adventure, you return to La Selva Mariposa, greeted by canine ambassadors Molly, Zoey, and Rosie and, of course Mari and Lou. Did we like it? No, we absolutely loved it, and will start counting down the days until we return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanteGlen_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. It was the best of the best anyone could possibly write about a vacation experience. We are honored that you are writing it about us. You have included so many great travel suggestions and have mentioned so many important details. Travelers who are looking for a special place, off the beaten path, will surely benefit from reading your review. We hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We found La Selva Mariposa on Trip Advisor and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. From the moment we arrived we knew we were someplace special. The grounds are beautiful, the architecture unique, and the birds that visit here are intriguing, we often just walked around looking for exotic birds in the evening. Our favorite was the Blue Crowned Motmot.
We originally planned to get up early and explore all the local sites to see, but breakfast was so good that a couple of days we changed our plans and stayed and ate breakfast before heading out. Mo and Lou are gracious hosts and worked hard to provide delicious breakfasts, which wasn't easy considering all my dietary restrictions.
They also provided a wealth of information on local attractions including directions and a description of the experience which was very helpful in planning our daily trips to ruins, cenotes, etc. Their knowledge of the surrounding area is extensive. Mo suggested we try Rancho La Cachimba a restaurant across the street. Boy! are we glad we tried it.The food was so good and the staff was so friendly we ate there every evening after we returned from our adventures.
All that walking around Coba and Ek' Balam ruins had made my legs and feet hurt, so Mo set up an appointment with Ariana for an on-site massage.
Ariana provides massages in a beautiful open air palapa style building with plenty of privacy. It was an amazing experience.
We travel a lot and I can honestly say this is one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed at. We rented a car and drove many kilometers to see several ruins and cenotes and local attractions, it was comforting to come back to La Selva Mariposa each afternoon to refresh and relax.
Our room was beautiful, comfortable and serene.There was maid service provided daily with beds made and fresh drinking water.There were so many extra touches that I can't list them all. We slept like babies and were very satisfied with our stay here and hated leaving. We would definitely stay there again! Absolutely Amazing!

Room Tip: We had room #2 which shares a "cenote" with room #3. There is a waterfall outside of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the outstanding review. We were so proud of your memories of your stay with us. We remember how much you loved the local restaurant Cachimba in walking distance from here. The entire family works to give our guests and others who stop in a delicious meal in a lovely homey setting. Glad you mentioned it. We look forward to your return trip and hope you will see even more birds on the property. Spring is great for bird watching as there are many fruits in the trees on the property. How special it is to wake up to the sounds of tropical parrots, Yucatan Jays, Motmot and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
14.7 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 81 in Tulum
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing