We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Out of the four places we stayed in Mexico on this trip, La Selva Mariposa was definitely one of the better ones if not the best of the four. While not directly in Tulum, La Selva Mariposa is a quick 20 minute drive into a small but wonderful town of Macario Gomez. While there Lou and Marri will Point you to all the greatest activities and events in the area. Their breakfast's are top of the line and they cater to your every need. The place is well maintained and in general feels like a piece of paradise..This is definitely a place I will recommend and return to at a later date.

Room Tip: If travelling with a group It would be well worth it to go for their slightly more expensive room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zennon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review from your recent stay with us. So glad that you liked our little pueblo, Macario Gomez. It isn't what you would call quaint, or cute but it does give you an authentic peek into the lives of the sweet Mayan people whom we call neighbors. We look forward to your return and maybe one day our "location" will be more centralized as Tulum expands its borders, BUT it won't be the same, so come again before the development boom takes over the area. Mari and Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
348
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our favorite place to stay in our 10 day trip. Mari and Louis were incredible hosts (and cooks). In each room is a binder with suggested itineraries and things to do in the area - this became our guide book as it was more thorough and thoughtful than any books we brought. The location is perfect, and there is too much to do. We booked our stay for three nights, but wished we would have stayed longer. You definitely want to save a day for lounging by your own private pool on their grounds, which we didn't have time for. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katenSanFrancisco_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the great words of confidence and thoughts on your stay with us to share with other visitors to Tulum. How proud I feel that you "liked us best." There are so many beautiful places to choose from in Tulum and most people want to be on the beach, so it takes a special kind of traveler to take the road less traveled. Thanks for taking the chance on us. We love sharing our little paradise with other travelers. We look forward to your return to the jungle oasis, LSM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, NH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from eight days at La Selva Mariposa, and we will be thinking about it until the time we return. The website pictures are about as good as pictures get, but they cannot compare to the real thing. Lush greenery, manicured walkways, and the sound of waterfalls greet you as you pass through the gates of this jewel of an oasis in the center of the tiny town of Macario Gomez.

The palapas are spotlessly clean, thanks to Julio and Diaddy and the grounds are lovingly cared for by Jose. But overseeing this stunning island of beauty are Mari and Lou. Breakfast makers of the highest order (believe it or not, a different one for each morning of our stay)and true visionaries, they have created a Mayan experience to complement your visit to historic and beautiful Tulum.

The beds are incredibly comfortable (I never slept better), the grounds at night with appropriate mood lighting are as beautiful as during the day, and you wake up each morning to the sound of various tropical birds just outside your open air shower. Mari and Lou have provided helpful notebooks chock full of information on restaurants, beach clubs, denotes and things to do. Their recommendations were always spot on. When you go, do not try to cram a million things into your week. Plan bigger visits like Sian Ka'an, Coba, or Valladolid on an every other day basis. This way you will be able to relax and enjoy the great beaches and cenotes, and snorkel Yal Ku Lagoon or Akumal Bay with the sea turtles (a mesmerizing experience. Tulum Ruins can be visited before you hit the braces (truly among the most beautiful in the world).

We loved Mezzanine, Ziggy Beach, Playa del Cielo, Charlie's, El Tabano and the great gelato (yes gelato) in the middle of town. A visit should also include the tiny family run restaurant directly across the road. It absolutely drips with character, and you will love the truly sweet people who treat you like visiting royalty. Visit the Honey Store as well, and leave or make room in your luggage or bring an extra bag so that you can take home some of their products.

The big payoff, at the end of each day's adventure, you return to La Selva Mariposa, greeted by canine ambassadors Molly, Zoey, and Rosie and, of course Mari and Lou. Did we like it? No, we absolutely loved it, and will start counting down the days until we return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanteGlen_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. It was the best of the best anyone could possibly write about a vacation experience. We are honored that you are writing it about us. You have included so many great travel suggestions and have mentioned so many important details. Travelers who are looking for a special place, off the beaten path, will surely benefit from reading your review. We hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We found La Selva Mariposa on Trip Advisor and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. From the moment we arrived we knew we were someplace special. The grounds are beautiful, the architecture unique, and the birds that visit here are intriguing, we often just walked around looking for exotic birds in the evening. Our favorite was the Blue Crowned Motmot.
We originally planned to get up early and explore all the local sites to see, but breakfast was so good that a couple of days we changed our plans and stayed and ate breakfast before heading out. Mo and Lou are gracious hosts and worked hard to provide delicious breakfasts, which wasn't easy considering all my dietary restrictions.
They also provided a wealth of information on local attractions including directions and a description of the experience which was very helpful in planning our daily trips to ruins, cenotes, etc. Their knowledge of the surrounding area is extensive. Mo suggested we try Rancho La Cachimba a restaurant across the street. Boy! are we glad we tried it.The food was so good and the staff was so friendly we ate there every evening after we returned from our adventures.
All that walking around Coba and Ek' Balam ruins had made my legs and feet hurt, so Mo set up an appointment with Ariana for an on-site massage.
Ariana provides massages in a beautiful open air palapa style building with plenty of privacy. It was an amazing experience.
We travel a lot and I can honestly say this is one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed at. We rented a car and drove many kilometers to see several ruins and cenotes and local attractions, it was comforting to come back to La Selva Mariposa each afternoon to refresh and relax.
Our room was beautiful, comfortable and serene.There was maid service provided daily with beds made and fresh drinking water.There were so many extra touches that I can't list them all. We slept like babies and were very satisfied with our stay here and hated leaving. We would definitely stay there again! Absolutely Amazing!

Room Tip: We had room #2 which shares a "cenote" with room #3. There is a waterfall outside of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the outstanding review. We were so proud of your memories of your stay with us. We remember how much you loved the local restaurant Cachimba in walking distance from here. The entire family works to give our guests and others who stop in a delicious meal in a lovely homey setting. Glad you mentioned it. We look forward to your return trip and hope you will see even more birds on the property. Spring is great for bird watching as there are many fruits in the trees on the property. How special it is to wake up to the sounds of tropical parrots, Yucatan Jays, Motmot and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We discovered this place on tripadvisor, and were even more thrilled when we arrived. It is beautifully designed, the accommodations are pristine, the delicious breakfasts are a work of art, and the hosts were most helpful. We are experienced travelers, and we've never stayed at a place where we received such a wealth of information about all the sites, the culture, the food, etc. Moe and Lou were the consummate hosts, from pre-travel suggestions by email to a slide show each morning at breakfast showing one of the nearby sites to visit. A car is a must, but it is easy to get to any location; the roads are in good shape, and the signage is good. We stayed a week, and were able to make many day trips or 1/2 day trips, and also relax back at LSM and enjoy hammocks, the pools, the trails, and even have a massage at the open-air spa. If we go back to the Mayan Riviera, we will definitely stay at La Selva Mariposa again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
What a wonderful title...favorite B&B ever. We are very proud of this comment. Thanks for mentioning all the info we offer about visiting tourist sites in the area. We assume everyone does this, but our travels reflect differently. We look forward to your return. We are already enlarging the dining area so there will be a lounge and larger dining table..always something new at LSM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This holiday had a couple of firsts for us. We had never been to Mexico, and had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. With this in our minds we travelled to La Selva Mariposa with some intrepidation. Any concerns we had were quickly layed aside, Lou was waiting for us at the airport when we arrived (he will pre arrange this if you need it) so we had plenty of time to get to know Lou on the ride out to la Selva Mariposa. He (and Moe as we learned later on) is an incredible source of information about the area. The bed and breakfast is located in a small viilage not to far from Tulum on the road to Coba. At first we were concerned with the location so we had arranged to rent Lou's honda CRV in order to get around and what we found is that LSM was a fantastic place to center our adventures. It was close to Coba, a short ride back to Tulum, the beaches, and a decent drive to Chichen Itza or Valladolid. La Selva Mariposa is beautiful, the pools are fantastic, grounds are well kept and the rooms....truly you have to stay there because it is hard to describe how nice it is. Moe and Lou made breakfast every morning, and as others have said they were literally one of the highlights of the day (the whole experience from the fantastic food, the information binders, the slide shows of local attractions, and the interesting conversations with other travellers kept us at breakfast for hours). We stayed in room 2. It was well decorated and very comfortable with the BEST showers out of any place we have stayed, and the sound of running water falls through the open windows was incredible. Not once in our adventures did we feel unsafe and many times we were driving back to La Selva Mariposa in the dark, never a problem. It is obvious this bed and breakfast has been a labor of love for Moe and Lou and it shows in all respects. P.S. the staff that work for Moe and Lou were well appreciated and do a fantastic job. We highly recommend LSM if your looking to have a wonderful Mayan vacation!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2 and our friends stayed in room 3. It was perfect as we sat up every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quickdraw-spairrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. You mentioned so many things that you loved about staying with us, and we will not forget how wonderful it is for us to have such appreciative and fun guests to share our little paradise with. We have put our all into making LSM a unique and creative oasis in the jungle and it is extremely rewarding when guests realize this and want to share their experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a "wow" place to stay. When you first lay eyes on the landscaping, architechture, room and gardens you just spend the first hour going "wow wow wow!"
the hosts are very informative and their attention to detail is uncanny.
Ok. So its a little bit out if the way. But that means you get far more bang for your buck yet you're still handily placed for tulum coba and numerous cenotes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolksalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow back at you. Thanks for that vote of confidence. We are flattered and appreciate you taking the time to share your feeling about our little B&B created and operated with love and attention to detail. Come on back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
14.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
16.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
14.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
16.1 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. By car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our three beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing