We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Home in Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 80 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Home in Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We found La Selva Mariposa on Trip Advisor and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. From the moment we arrived we knew we were someplace special. The grounds are beautiful, the architecture unique, and the birds that visit here are intriguing, we often just walked around looking for exotic birds in the evening. Our favorite was the Blue Crowned Motmot.
We originally planned to get up early and explore all the local sites to see, but breakfast was so good that a couple of days we changed our plans and stayed and ate breakfast before heading out. Mo and Lou are gracious hosts and worked hard to provide delicious breakfasts, which wasn't easy considering all my dietary restrictions.
They also provided a wealth of information on local attractions including directions and a description of the experience which was very helpful in planning our daily trips to ruins, cenotes, etc. Their knowledge of the surrounding area is extensive. Mo suggested we try Rancho La Cachimba a restaurant across the street. Boy! are we glad we tried it.The food was so good and the staff was so friendly we ate there every evening after we returned from our adventures.
All that walking around Coba and Ek' Balam ruins had made my legs and feet hurt, so Mo set up an appointment with Ariana for an on-site massage.
Ariana provides massages in a beautiful open air palapa style building with plenty of privacy. It was an amazing experience.
We travel a lot and I can honestly say this is one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed at. We rented a car and drove many kilometers to see several ruins and cenotes and local attractions, it was comforting to come back to La Selva Mariposa each afternoon to refresh and relax.
Our room was beautiful, comfortable and serene.There was maid service provided daily with beds made and fresh drinking water.There were so many extra touches that I can't list them all. We slept like babies and were very satisfied with our stay here and hated leaving. We would definitely stay there again! Absolutely Amazing!

Room Tip: We had room #2 which shares a "cenote" with room #3. There is a waterfall outside of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the outstanding review. We were so proud of your memories of your stay with us. We remember how much you loved the local restaurant Cachimba in walking distance from here. The entire family works to give our guests and others who stop in a delicious meal in a lovely homey setting. Glad you mentioned it. We look forward to your return trip and hope you will see even more birds on the property. Spring is great for bird watching as there are many fruits in the trees on the property. How special it is to wake up to the sounds of tropical parrots, Yucatan Jays, Motmot and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
350
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We discovered this place on tripadvisor, and were even more thrilled when we arrived. It is beautifully designed, the accommodations are pristine, the delicious breakfasts are a work of art, and the hosts were most helpful. We are experienced travelers, and we've never stayed at a place where we received such a wealth of information about all the sites, the culture, the food, etc. Moe and Lou were the consummate hosts, from pre-travel suggestions by email to a slide show each morning at breakfast showing one of the nearby sites to visit. A car is a must, but it is easy to get to any location; the roads are in good shape, and the signage is good. We stayed a week, and were able to make many day trips or 1/2 day trips, and also relax back at LSM and enjoy hammocks, the pools, the trails, and even have a massage at the open-air spa. If we go back to the Mayan Riviera, we will definitely stay at La Selva Mariposa again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
What a wonderful title...favorite B&B ever. We are very proud of this comment. Thanks for mentioning all the info we offer about visiting tourist sites in the area. We assume everyone does this, but our travels reflect differently. We look forward to your return. We are already enlarging the dining area so there will be a lounge and larger dining table..always something new at LSM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This holiday had a couple of firsts for us. We had never been to Mexico, and had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. With this in our minds we travelled to La Selva Mariposa with some intrepidation. Any concerns we had were quickly layed aside, Lou was waiting for us at the airport when we arrived (he will pre arrange this if you need it) so we had plenty of time to get to know Lou on the ride out to la Selva Mariposa. He (and Moe as we learned later on) is an incredible source of information about the area. The bed and breakfast is located in a small viilage not to far from Tulum on the road to Coba. At first we were concerned with the location so we had arranged to rent Lou's honda CRV in order to get around and what we found is that LSM was a fantastic place to center our adventures. It was close to Coba, a short ride back to Tulum, the beaches, and a decent drive to Chichen Itza or Valladolid. La Selva Mariposa is beautiful, the pools are fantastic, grounds are well kept and the rooms....truly you have to stay there because it is hard to describe how nice it is. Moe and Lou made breakfast every morning, and as others have said they were literally one of the highlights of the day (the whole experience from the fantastic food, the information binders, the slide shows of local attractions, and the interesting conversations with other travellers kept us at breakfast for hours). We stayed in room 2. It was well decorated and very comfortable with the BEST showers out of any place we have stayed, and the sound of running water falls through the open windows was incredible. Not once in our adventures did we feel unsafe and many times we were driving back to La Selva Mariposa in the dark, never a problem. It is obvious this bed and breakfast has been a labor of love for Moe and Lou and it shows in all respects. P.S. the staff that work for Moe and Lou were well appreciated and do a fantastic job. We highly recommend LSM if your looking to have a wonderful Mayan vacation!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2 and our friends stayed in room 3. It was perfect as we sat up every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quickdraw-spairrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. You mentioned so many things that you loved about staying with us, and we will not forget how wonderful it is for us to have such appreciative and fun guests to share our little paradise with. We have put our all into making LSM a unique and creative oasis in the jungle and it is extremely rewarding when guests realize this and want to share their experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a "wow" place to stay. When you first lay eyes on the landscaping, architechture, room and gardens you just spend the first hour going "wow wow wow!"
the hosts are very informative and their attention to detail is uncanny.
Ok. So its a little bit out if the way. But that means you get far more bang for your buck yet you're still handily placed for tulum coba and numerous cenotes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolksalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow back at you. Thanks for that vote of confidence. We are flattered and appreciate you taking the time to share your feeling about our little B&B created and operated with love and attention to detail. Come on back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spend 10 days traveling the Riviera Maya and the Mariposa was our favorite place to stay. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. We had our own little pool and waterfall ourside of our room. We felt very safe there and there was no problem with leaving our door open. It is a great place to stay while visiting Coba and the cenotes near Coba. There is a little pueblo nearby that we walked to to buy fruit and cheese. The breakfast was the best we had in Mexico also. Our hosts thought of everything and provided everything from beach towels to bug spray to sun screen to wine glasses, etc. etc. etc.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking time to let other travelers know some very specific things about staying at our little oasis in the Mayan jungle. The most important thing you mentioned was how safe you felt...spread the word. This part of Mx. is very safe and comfortable to get around. We are also glad you mentioned being able to buy fruit and cheese in our little village. We wish you had mentioned something about cleanliness. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff taking such pride in preparing the rooms each day. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If relaxation, tranquility, and meeting awesome people is something that is on your vacation list, look no further!! LSM is all that and more. Waking up every morning by the sounds of the birds and having the best shower ever in the open air, you know you are in paradise! Every morning Moe & Lou would surprise us with the most delicious breakfast . Everyday was a new creative recipe, 12 in total!That is how thoughtful Moe & Lou are towards their guests! Every suggestion they offered on site seeing, restaurants, and shopping, was spot on. They have created a booklet with hints and directions of getting around that we carried everywhere . From being picked up at the airpot by Lou, to renting their vehicle , delicious breakfasts , immaculate rooms and the most amazing massages from Ariana (she is the best) to engaging with the most interesting & fun people from all parts of the world,there was absolutely nothing more we could have asked for. I Guarantee you will not be disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It was a special treat to have guests for a long stay, and yes it was a bit of a challenge that we loved making sure each breakfast was unique and delicious. Thanks for all the wonderful comments you made about your stay and I must say it felt like saying good by to family or good friends on that last day. We can't wait for you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The environment Moe and Lou have created on this property sank me immediately into a state of deep serenity. The sound of birds and flowing water, the tasteful decorations that blend perfectly into the jungle background, Moe and Lou's warmth -- and exhaustive knowledge of the region -- combine to make this a true VACATION. I felt as if I was on my mother's couch, except in a tropical paradise, I felt so taken care of. I am not exaggerating at all when I say I slept for 12 hours the first night, which is not something I have ever been able to do, anywhere. The breakfasts are also delicious, and we had memorable conversations with the other guests as well as with Moe and Lou. While it is a 20-minute drive to the beach, I didn't even mind it; I actually found it more relaxing at LSM than on the beach itself, where we stayed later on the same trip. Also, the little restaurant across the street makes DELICIOUS Enchiladas Verdes.

Thanks, Mo and Lou! We hope to be back.

Room Tip: Our room, #1, was a little less private than some of the others because of its position, but still a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for mentioning the delicious food from Chachimba Restaurant, in walking distance from here and the incredible 12 hour sleep you had. Obviously, we can not do anything about being located 20 min. from the beach, but our location is perfect for going in both directions...Coba. Valladolid, Chichen Itza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
16.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing