We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a little work to make it worthwhile ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amelie Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amelie Tulum
Ranked #88 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs a little work to make it worthwhile ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We are seasoned travelers. We have stayed in many a creaky shack, crumbly hotel and camped on many roadsides during our 15 years of travels. We aren't divas by any standards. We knew what to expect in terms of Mexican accommodation because we did our homework, have travelled the area before, and had no massive expectations.

We stayed in the 'typical Mayan style cottage' which did not have many photos on the site that gave us many clues as to what to expect.
Jose runs the bar and taco stand out near the beach front - which is a totally separate business to the hotel - but if that wasn't there, hmmm not so sure about this hotel.

Let's face it, we did pay good hard earned money to stay here and I'm still scratching my head trying to figure out what I actually paid for. Ok, so the rooms have plain stone floors and walls, beach hut style roofs, chunky pillows and paper thin very old towels, but the bathrooms were just a bridge too far Amigo. Perhaps they were trying too hard to emulate 'Mayan' style and just decided to skip the basic toilet amenities that can actually make or break a hotel. Let's face it, the Mayans didn't have toilet bowls, sinks or electricity when they lived in grass huts either so why don't they just spend a little extra and tile the bathrooms, install proper bathroom suites and make it right??!!! They were just gross. Rough concrete hand shaped shower areas painted blue with a very old plastic shower curtain as a door. Frankly I preferred the ocean than to step foot in the 'shower'. Ugh.
Ok if I paid a lot less then I did then perhaps I wouldn't be so hard but I feel compelled to write in hopes that the owner reads this and does something. We did pay good hard earned money and to force this onto to people, who travel long distances to stay here and don't know the full story, is simply negligent. Perhaps if we chose a room in the actual hotel it might've been better but I heard similar stories about the bathrooms there too - albeit not as bad.

Also the pool area turned into a car park on the weekend for people to park and camp on the beach. C'mon! Camping isn't the problem but parking big massive ford rangers right around the pool - your biggest asset to the hotel - is simply stupido.

Sorry for upsetting anyone. If the owner wants to make it right - fix the bathrooms, stop the poolside truck parking and you have a winner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Horsfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    84
    46
    36
    108
See reviews for
53
156
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Spent a few nights with friends here in Tulum. Hotel rooms are very basic, but the beach and water are fantastic. The gentlemen running the bar couldn't be happier to be there or take care of you, and even had great wifi. Budget friendly and a great time. Thanks to Jose at the bar! Piña coladas made as fresh as they can get.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melissaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I booked the Parayso for a few days in March and literally ONE MINUTE after I hit the "book" button, my husbands job made us have to cancel. So I emailed the hotel and called one minute after booking to cancel. The gentleman on the phone said it wasn't a big deal and when the reservation came through he would take care of it as we did our booking online. Great! However, that was not the case. About three weeks AFTER the booking would have already happened I was charged for the FULL STAY on my credit card and received an email from someone there saying I could just stay there some other time this year. HUH? NO!? That's not how you do business in this industry. My husband and I had a boutique hotel in the countryside of England and we know how reservations work and the hotel business. So now, almost a month later, after I'm told I can just use my whole stay another time, I get a third e-mail saying they will refund/release the hold on the card and only charge me for one night of the stay and that's their cancellation policy. I would 100% have been ok with that, if that had been posted anywhere on the confirmation email or anywhere on the booking! It wasn't (or even mentioned in the other two emails). At least it was a cheap night, but very annoying and bad for business. Because they wanted my 150$ USD plus tax, they lost any future business from myself and/or friends. But now after reading other reviews I guess I shouldn't be surprised that this is how it turned out with them. Sad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mamenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you are high maintenance, want room service, air conditioning, etc... this is not the place for you. If you are self sufficient, and looking for a great inexpensive place to stay directly on the beach, this is awesome.

I don't know why the name spa is on there now... It wasn't when I was there, and shouldn't be, unless something changed in the last month.

I met the owner. The point of this place is to have an inexpensive place for people to enjoy an amazing spot on the beach. That's what it is, nothing more, and at that it excels. There are plenty of places you can go and pay 3 to 4 times as much for a really nice hotel room. But why? How much time are you going to spend in it?

I walked out the door of my room directly into the sand of the beach. It was awesome. The sunrises there are amazing. There is a coffee window there called the Mayatulum coffee shop that has great coffee, and great and conversation. Will (who owns and runs the coffee shop) is great and very helpful.

The bar was closed while I was there. That was fine by me. I just stopped at the grocery store and bought a cooler, some rum, Tecate and mixins, a few plastic cups and some ice. The Ice guy comes around about 2:00pm every day and Will at the coffee shop will help you get some Ice for your cooler. Problem solved... I donated my red cooler when I was there to other guests that might want to use it when I left, so ask around...

The other people there are great. This place attracts the low maintenance do it yourself kind of people that are really more fun anyway. High maintenance whiney people don't stay long here.

The beach is amazing. They rake is clean and smooth daily. It's a short walk up or down the beach to all sorts of things, or across the street to the best restaurant in the area.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a single King that walks out onto the beach. I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Real_Colorado_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

So sad to see a place that has some much potential and only a mere three years ago was actually very enjoyable to stay to go downhill. I can not say this is the same place as it was in 2011. The place had a bad smell to it, the innkeeper was drunk and barely able to function to show us a room. The beautiful beach is now a campground with tents pitched everywhere. So sad to see this. I wish the owners would really take another try at this because it truly has the potential to be a wonderful place with the best part of the beach in Tulum. I love this place, but can not stay here until some LOVE is put back into it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank serenity418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights , and, ok its shabby, no services etc. - but we really enjoyed our stay!! The location, right on the beach in Tulum is exceptional. The room was rustic but clean and the bed was comfortable covered with mosquito netting. Good price for the location. They appeared to be redecorating the rooms!
The hotel next door, Tita Tulum, had a small restaurant where we ate lunch and breakfast - very reasonably priced and good. Lots of other restaurants around for en evening meal.
All the staff were friendly. we didn't have any problems.
Would we go back there? It would depend on the price - from what I saw there are much better places charging the same prices! But - it has its charm!
There were notices around the place stating that they hadn't paid their taxes - but it was still running in February.
We are two ladies in our mid sixties! Tulum is a fabulous place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which opened directly on to the beach - just wonderful! We did, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My friends, husband,and I stayed here for part of our trip and loved it! Some of the reviews are true, but it really depends on how picky you are. Some of the staff do get very drunk but are funny and still very helpful. The beds are clean and the beach you cant beat! It is laid back and noone keeps tabs on you or ever cares what you are doing. Would go back any day! You getb used to the power outages and lizards on the wall :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TimbreC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParaysoHotel150813, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for your review!!

we have many exciting things on the way this year. A very nice beach bar, with tacos, beer, and cocktails beachside, we have brand new linens and towel sheets refurmished as well as all rooms will now have their own private balcony.

Our location is the best in tulum.

RIGHT on the Best beach in the World! Best Location WITH oceanfront view rooms, large balcony, french doors, private washroom, kingsize beds, beachside bar. Steps away from crystal clear white sand and the calm Caribbean. We have a pool..bar...and common cook-out area. A short stroll away snorkling, Sia-Kaan park, Tulum Ruins, restaurants, bars, spas, yoga classes, dive shops and dancing beach clubs!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#60 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#52 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azucar Hotel
Azucar Hotel
#37 of 81 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
0.1 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#6 of 115 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelie Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelie Tulum

Property: Amelie Tulum
Address: Km 8.5 Carretera, Tulum 96400, Mexico (Formerly Parayso Hotel and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelie Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Small Hotel with ocean front views,garden views, restaurant, bar and common area. Large pool, best beach and location. 24 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Amelie Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parayso Hotel Tulum
Parayso Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing