We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Amelie Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amelie Tulum
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disgusting.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here in December and the place was a construction site. No hot water and rarely had electricity. Rooms were not clean and prices absolutely astronomical for the state of the place. I am not a competitor hotel - I note that the owner keeps adding commentary after poor reviews - simply a tourist who was completely ripped off. Location is great but that is all that is going for this place. Lots of other hotels in the area that are nice and also cheaper. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparklehorse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review:

You are most likely no a competitor, but you are probably the same person saying the same thing over and over again regarding December. That was two months ago and we are finished all the upgrades.

All our rooms have fresh hot water, cold water, electricity, wifi, balconies, private washroom, and very comfortable bed.

We have our seaside cabana bar where we serve coco locos (tequila, coconut water! with other fresh fruit) we serve breakfast, and will now be showing movies under the stars.

Our pool is cleaned everyday, and our hotel is powered by wind and sun, proving electricity, we are a fully Eco hotel now, while most other hotels run off of loud generators and gasoline,

We have now also added more cabana huts on the beach so you can lounge and read a book or soak in the rays.

All at Parayso, the best located hotel on the beach of tulum, close to all restaurants, and a small happy mexican and mayan staff ready ready to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    84
    46
    36
    108
See reviews for
53
156
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Tulum was a fabulous location but sadly my trip here a few days before the Mayan Calendar flipped but marred by a dreadful experience at this hotel. The incredibly spartan concrete cottages near the road were exceptionally poor value. Indicative of this was travellers were turning up and being offered these rooms at $50 per night whereas an advance booking had been $150. Exceptionally poor value compared to alternative much better abodes at $120. The swimming pool was incredibly manky; workmen building a new cottage were dipping their buckets in to extract water and there was a lot of floating debris. As we were so disappointed with the allotted cottage we upgraded to a better room in the block but it lacked electricity most of the time and no hot water. Tulum is calling out for some kind of local hotelier association as the proprietor here would be asked to shut down! All other hotels we called or stayed in had heard about the bad reputation of this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review.

If all the guest that have been at our hotel since the time you came in December, we would have 1080 reviews! Where are the other 99.9%? Are you the neighbouring hotel? or someone offerred you an incentive to do a review? We are always a busy hotel and our guests, well they are just too busy just enjoying our hotel and soaking in the sun rays to be on a computer.

Judging by the time of your stay, you were at the hotel during the the time of renovation, which was in December, 2012 which was when we added 2 new cabana buildings.

We now have a full new power system from wind and sun, we have a beach bar operating every night, and we serve breakfast!

We have no issues with power nor water nor anything! We have brand new everything, including new cabana style chairs, spa, and more services to come!

Our hotel is clearly on its way to become one of the best value hotels in all of tulum with all the upgrades we have made.

We have the biggest pool in Tulum, perfect for couples and familes, with a ledge to sip your margarita.

Its too bad you aren't at our hotel now! We are as usual at full capacity spending time serving our guests that dont have the time to go on TripAdvisor to write negative reviews

To summarize, we do service our guests!! Its just that most of our guests have a life, being they are just too busy enjoying life! soaking in the sun rays! at the best beach in the world!

Hotel ParaYso, Tulum Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Since Tripadvisor wouldn't publish my review saying the hotel was extremly expensive and lacked water and electricity, I will have to add some things. This does not, however, change the fact that it lacked water and electricity for large parts of our stay. It does not either change the fact that it charges as much as others for less value.

Also at our stay, the place was a construction site. The pool was closed and none of the bars were ever open. As far as I know, there is no Spa at all. The staff wasnt really there much.

The room was rough concrete and lacked all charm. Not that many roaches, but some of course. On the positive side: when there was electricity, there was sometimes also wifi.

In the end, it is a wonderful beach and Parayso is on it. So if your only option in Tulum is Parayso: Take it! Just spend your time elsewhere. Then again, if you have any other option in Tulum, go with that.

Staying at Parayso means staying at a third world concrete backpackers place, whilst paying for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Himself69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your review:

We do have a lot of competitors who write reviews, and also which turn out to be incentive reviews. Trip Advisor I'm sure protects their integrity, which is why they may wonder if you actually stayed at our hotel, as you are claiming you actually have no water, since we have our fresh clean water piped in every day from the city for our hotel and for all our rooms.

We have a wonderful smal hotel, across the road from hartwood, the best restaurant in tulum, and a fun loving staff along with a great location as you have noted. We have 3 maids, 2 receptionist, a barman, 2 maintanence men, and a general helper.

We have electricity 24 hours a day, through solar and wind, along with internet, wifi, a full ip wireless camera system with one of the best internet services in Tulum.

We are also one of the busiest hotels, while most others are nearly empty..We have so many returning guests, we at times need to turn guests away.

If you are a competitor, then you should come by to see our success model, as you know we are constantly one of the busiest, always. And if you are not, you were there in december during our expansion, which may explain some of the discomfort you have had.

There is no discomfort now! come enjoy beautiful tulum and one of the best upcoming hotels

thanks

hotel parayso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is NOT a 5 star hotel, but it is a 6 star location....

This place does not pamper you with soft pillows and memory foam mattresses, but it is clean and the people are friendly...

Make your best deal and know that you are getting an incredible value on one of the best beaches ANYWHERE!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoss98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Hoss 98057,
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and facility during your stay with us, your opinion is very important for all of us and we keep improving our services so please come back soon to visit us!!

Gracias,
ParaYso Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Please understand, this is not the Ritz Carlton, but nature is way better than anything man can make...

My wife and I stayed at the ParaYso for a week and we feel revived and reinvigurated from the simple pleasure of staying ON the BEACH of Tulum with the down to earth folks at the ParaYso...

The bed was hard, but the room was clean...

The lights went out from time to time, but the stars shined brightly...

The location is on the BEST swimming beach on the Mexican Riveria... and the value was spot on! There are nicer places to be sure, but none better for those who want to enjoy where they stay, not the hotel they stay in...

Great Place!

Room Tip: Negotiate the price you want to pay and then enjoy your stay in Tulum, and then ask yourself if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoss98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your review!

As you know, we have a laid back environment, we have a seaside bar, we now serve breakfast, and we have more and more exciting services.

If you want peace on the beach, read a book! soak in the best rays, and be surrounded by palm trees, ocean view, go to our seaside bar.. or be in a cottage, with great access to your own beach, this is the place!

Welcome to Tulum, and Parayso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing place, stunning beach and amazingly friendly and helpful Staff, this place made our trip to Mexico super accommodation and situated near some fabulous restaraunts, would not hesitate to revisit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Rosie M,
We all at ParaYso are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us and that you would definitely come back. We will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Regards,
ParaYso Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Oh dear. Booked room well in advance through website. At end of booking process it said I had been allocated a cottage. Oh-oh I thought, a cottage in Tulum usually means a shack. As I was living in Tulum at the time I went to the hotel to ask if they had my booking and to show me what room I would be staying in. I was shown the cheapest beach front room which was perfectly acceptable to me. Fast forward 3 months and when we arrived on the second day of our honeymoon we were of course directed to a shack by the road. Despite talking to the SAME GUY who had shown me the beachfront room, he insisted I had booked a cottage and this was a cottage. Typical cheap trick. I could have cancelled with no loss of money had the receptionist not shown me the wrong room. After an hour of getting nowhere we gave up and agreed to pay half our stay to cancel the rest of the booking (their only concession was let us stay one night on the beach). No doubt the owner will have a million excuses but very shoddy behaviour all round. It's also noisy and down at heal. I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GavinMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest!

thank you for your review!

if you stayed at our hotel, and made a deposit or secured a room, you would have been given the room you booked!

now we are a very booked and popular hotel as you must know, since we are always near capacity.

we always ask our guests to provide a valid credit card or a deposit to secure a room in advance. we work with expedia, orbitz, booking.com, and other agencies around the world.

please come back to our hotel again! you will enjoy all the upgrades, the new services we offer

regards,
hotel parayso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#61 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amoreira
Hotel Amoreira
#14 of 120 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Azucar Hotel
Azucar Hotel
#36 of 80 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
0.1 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 120 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelie Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelie Tulum

Property: Amelie Tulum
Address: Km 8.5 Carretera, Tulum 96400, Mexico (Formerly Parayso Hotel and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelie Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Small Hotel with ocean front views,garden views, restaurant, bar and common area. Large pool, best beach and location. 24 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Amelie Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parayso Hotel Tulum
Parayso Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing