We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again if in Tulum”
Review of La Posada del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Posada del Sol
Ranked #72 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
2 reviews
“Would stay here again if in Tulum”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem online and its was worth every cent. The hotel is the right amount of rustic while still a comfortable stay. We stayed in Tulum during the rainy season but that didn't dampen our spirits and the stay was so enjoyable. Kate is a gem also and she made us all feel at home while on vacation. While you have to accept the fact that there is no electrictiy and everything works on solar/wind power, that was part of the charm. This has been one of my favorite trips. I highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    54
    24
    23
    22
See reviews for
27
122
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were staying at the hotel next door, but they wouldn't honor the rate I had online after the second day. So we searched around for a while up and down the coast. We headed into this hotel, and although it was higher than our price range, we ended up reserving a few nights and they gave us a better deal for booking more nights. It was amazing! The breakfast was delicious and different each day, the staff were super friendly and helpful, the beach is right out the door, and the architecture of the place is unforgettable! We had to check out of the room we were in after a couple of nights, and decided to stay and rent another one in the building across the street. It was very relaxed and low key. If you are a person who needs a/c, hairdryer, tv, etc., this likely is not the place for you. However, we have no problem without those things, so we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are nicer especially to get the breeze. They are quieter as well. However th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Loved the boutique and the hotel. It is a beautiful place tucked between the beach and the jungle. Kate, in the shop, is very knowledgeable and helpful, with a kind demeanor. This was a nice stop. I will definitely go back. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for few nights and we were accomodated on the second floor in a very nice room just across the street. Room was very clean and quiet with a terrace and an hammock. The location of the property is amazing, with good restaurants just few steps away, a nice sandy beach and close to the Tulum ruins. The breakfast included in the cost of the room was very good with fresh fruits, coffee, bread and jam.
There are very few little remarks we can point out about this accomodation. One is the view of over the terrace of our room: it was not the best. Choosing a room with the ocean view would have probably be better. Inside our room there were no electric outlet. This could be a deal if you bring with you small appliances. However, we have always been able to plug our camera and cell phone at the reception at the small shop of the hotel which is open till late evening.
All in all, a very good, relaxing stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VViolet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were lucky to have a room on the beach side as I would not be happy if it had been on the road.
We had a terrace with a hammock (although it was the cheapest type and not very comfortable).
I enjoyed our stay there, however,being 'eco' and 'boutique' does have its down sides.
There is an attractive shelving unit to put your clothes on, (no wardrobe), if you want anything hung up, I drapped my clothes over the low wooden beams. The security is poor, one of the windows had no lock on it, there is no safe.However, we felt safe there. The smell coming up from the unfixed shower drain coming straight up from the septic tank was disgusting, so I covered it with a cloth to try to smother it a bit. The room is open plan, so you have to send your partner onto the terrace is you want to use the toilet if your are concerned about this! We also drapped a towel over a beam in the shower as the window from the hall meant you could be exposed, if it bothers you, I didnt want to shock anyone!
There is only one power point and low level lighting as it is run on solar energy.
Although we enjoyed our stay it is heavily overpriced, especially as the bed had a plastic mattress cover on it, which made it even hotter at night and the sheets were old and threadbare.
None of our other 5 hotel stays had plastic mattress covers on the beds.
The staff were the least friendly out of our stay in Mexico, although as said before, Kate was lovely. Even though there are lots of negatives, this didnt spoil our stay as these didnt have a big impact on us,as we were coming towards the end of a great 2 weeks in Mexico and had come back to Tulum as we loved it there, although it may bother others and perhaps the hotel could try to rectify these issues.
It is a great location and a beautiful looking hotel, and alternative to wood and straw cabanas.

Room Tip: Any on the beach side although probably not on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naisygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

we stayed in Sol and it had a was gorgeous! We had a deck and a hammock to enjoy some time out of the sun. I don't know what it is with people who complain here about the beach and the service here. The beach is awesome and we loved playing in the waves. The rock just outside the hotel is home to a bunch of iguanas and we love them! There are insects in Tulum!!?? really? the things people complain about-I got bit by mosquitos-I am sure it is the hotel's fault! just kidding.Kate, the manager is amazing. The other staff was great, breakfast delish!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just spent the whole week at this place and we absolutely loved it. Great and very helpful management, excellent service, affordable (cabana is $65/night), Wifi, breakfast included and just right next the beach. Highly recommend this place. If I will go there again, i will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarkaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 96 in Tulum
285 reviews
6.6 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Sol

Property: La Posada del Sol
Address: Road to Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La posada del Sol is an entrancing, tropical Eco Hotel Boutique located in Tulum, Mexico. Our distinctive Boutique Hotel was built with the purpose to create a life time experiences and our climate consciousness processes minimizing the impact on the environment. Solar and wind power provide our guests with 24 hour electricity and our natural water supply comes straight from a local cenote, making us one-of-a-kind eco-friendly Hotel. Every detail here makes us different. We are proud of not being luxurious, but exclusive. Our 10 guest rooms have a unique and vibrant design, called by some as "Mexican charming style", that we believe reflects our culture and the natural ways of life. You'll be entranced by our 6 ocean front rooms, having direct access to the beach, or if the jungle feeling is your thing, one of our other 4 garden rooms will suit you perfectly. As we only have 10 rooms we can ensure you a personalized and high quality service. Here, you will forget the fuss of the unnecessary city demands and simply relax. We are the perfect vacation getaway! Unplug yourself from the routine, come and reconnect with mother nature, you don't really need much more. -Forget, meditate & disconnect. - During your stay be sure not to miss our unique boutique where you will find handmade crafts from different parts of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Sol Tulum
Posada Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing