We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book a room using Booking.Com”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Posada del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada del Sol
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not book a room using Booking.Com”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I booked a room at Posada Del sol using the search engine booking.com. Why? because I didn't get a response from the hotel directly and when I saw they had vacancy on booking. com I wanted to book it right away...After reviewing others experiences there I realized that I had been put in the room closest to the road where there would be lots of noise etc. I tried contacting the hotel again and again asking for a room change and did not get any response... I went back to booking.com and they contacted the hotel for me I had been put into garden room 1. The noisy one.
It was to late my credit card was already charged. and 1 month before I arrive. It's not like they couldn't rent it to someone else. Maybe the hotel is great but they use booking.com which allows them to take payment immediately even if your customer isn't satisfied before getting there. Local places like playa mambo don't need booking.com for advertising they can stand on their own and word just gets around. Also they give discounts on full payment up front...so it pays to shop around and don't get sucked into booking.com or other sites which show vacancies you could end up with the "not so great" room.

Room Tip: Shop around and talk directly with the hotel not through a booking site, you will end up with the cr...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank sunbather35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    54
    24
    23
    21
See reviews for
27
120
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed every minute.
The rooms are lovely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast is good and the service friendly and excellent.
The prices compared to other hotels are fine.
The beach is marvelous!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for a couple nights during our 8 day stay in Tulum. We stayed in the Titanic room. We absolutely loved our stay.

Noteworthy:
--Excellent location, within walking distance of many restaurants, other hotels, market across the street, shops, etc.
--Really nice staff
--Great little beach cove area (shared with a few other small boutique hotels)
--Very colorful and unique decor in the room and in the hotel generally
--Titanic room is in a great location; can't beat the view; sticks out so you're more likely to benefit from the ocean breeze in the hot season, and the many windows help you take advantage of that
--Water is salt and fresh, so be prepared
--Great private deck on the rocks above the sea
--The room has a nice balcony with bench and hammock
--Excellent value

Room Tip: Highly recommend Titanic. Luna also looked really cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisBuyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Never having been to Mexico before, but travelled most all over the world to other places, we wanted a little beach vacation in a place that was quiet. simple and and unpretencious, and we through Tulum would be a good place for that . We booked La Posada Del sol though searches on the internet and to a chance. I can not even begin to tell you all how perfect this was for us. We had booked a garden room, but 5 minutes after we arrived and checked in, saw the beach and heard the waves, we asked for an "upgrade" so we could have the ocean view. We got the Luna room and it had a big terrace with a big outdoor bed, hammock and the most amazing view. The whole building is very artistic and a true "gem". Beautifully constructed and "organic" in feel. It was great to wake up to a simple brekfast in the morning.The place is extremely convenient, a cluster of restaurant and a little convenient store across the street, makes it easy to purcase a cervesa and bring to the beach. Every night we walked barefoot on the beach and tried new beach restaurants walking distance away.. It was truly a perfect time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Posada del Sol has rooms on the ocean and rooms across the street.
The beach front rooms are more expensive but looked nice with a nice view of the beach.
We stayed in one of the "garden rooms". It was huge and comfortable and clean. Could have been noisy in high season when there are lots of people at the bars but was not a problem when we were there (just after hurricane Rina)
Friendly staff, tasty breakfasts WiFi and beach loungers made our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We didn't have a reservation just walked up looked at the room & got a really good price. The room had lots of character & a beautiful view of the sea. Breakfast was waiting for us when we woke up basic Fruits & juices toast we ordered eggs for just a few Pesos more

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CND02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and I went to La Posada del Sol at the end of May for our honeymoon. We were looking for something not too pricey, off the average vacation package, and full of adventure. The city of Tulum and La Posasda del Sol were the PERFECT combination for us. We stayed in "La Luna" room. The balcony is the best part by far, though I really loved the shower too! Everything is so open and yet surprisingly private at the same time because this room sets above everything else. We left our doors and windows open the whole time and enjoyed the sound of the ocean as well as the fresh breeze. This hotel was rustic but chic, very eco friendly, and had an extremely helpful and friendly staff! It is perfectly situated on a row of hotels and restaurants so you can walk (barefoot if you want!) up and down the little road until you find the perfect meal and atomosphere for the evening and sink your feet into the sand when you get there!

This is hotel is perfect for people who want to step out of the ordinary; people who are ok with leaving their electronics and business at home. There is little electricity, enough to charge a phone if you must, but not enough for a hair dryer. There is hot water but don't expect an immense amount of water pressure. Breakfast was small but sufficient and they provide one large bottle of water everyday in your room. I loved that we could step right out onto the beach from our breakfast table. I would suggest renting a car though, while restaurants and the beach are withing walking distance we drove to the ruins at Tulum and Coba, to snokle in Akumal, to the Bioreserve to Kayak and into town for espresso!

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorandsteve522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.0 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#39 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#50 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Sol

Property: La Posada del Sol
Address: Road to Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La posada del Sol is an entrancing, tropical Eco Hotel Boutique located in Tulum, Mexico. Our distinctive Boutique Hotel was built with the purpose to create a life time experiences and our climate consciousness processes minimizing the impact on the environment. Solar and wind power provide our guests with 24 hour electricity and our natural water supply comes straight from a local cenote, making us one-of-a-kind eco-friendly Hotel. Every detail here makes us different. We are proud of not being luxurious, but exclusive. Our 10 guest rooms have a unique and vibrant design, called by some as "Mexican charming style", that we believe reflects our culture and the natural ways of life. You'll be entranced by our 6 ocean front rooms, having direct access to the beach, or if the jungle feeling is your thing, one of our other 4 garden rooms will suit you perfectly. As we only have 10 rooms we can ensure you a personalized and high quality service. Here, you will forget the fuss of the unnecessary city demands and simply relax. We are the perfect vacation getaway! Unplug yourself from the routine, come and reconnect with mother nature, you don't really need much more. -Forget, meditate & disconnect. - During your stay be sure not to miss our unique boutique where you will find handmade crafts from different parts of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Sol Tulum
Posada Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing