We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
elvan12_12
Toronto, Canada

A hotel in town of tulum

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 25, 2016
I found this place through a guide book's online page. It sounded good. But the review was a little bid misleading about the location of this place. This place in town and location is if you wanna stay in town for a longer stay not on beach is very good.

The rooms are large and clean . However there is not much natural light. But it is nice that you have a big room. The pillows were very hard ,that was not good. but the bed is comfortable.
The boy who was working foe thunders were really really nice. I think he was the nicest part of the hotel. He was kind and helpful and caring.

However I have some some question marks of owners sincerity. I had two not very ethical confrontation with the female owner. She is the boss.
I first wanted to stay for a mont ,she said for a mont it is 9500 pesos. But I decided to stay two weeks ,she said it is 7500pesos for two weeks. But after a few days i wanted to stay in tulum for a month.when i told this to her. she increased the price than the original price. she put 4500 more top of 9500.when i said why ,she said; ohh ohh things are changes. and she was lying ,it was so obvious from her dramatic voice and manners. i did not mind .

I one more time returned there after traveling to other places because it was good location to go to cancun airport. this town she did not accept me paying with credit card even I ma the one who o pays extra 13 percent for credit card payments.she was very dramatic again and she kept saying" oh it is little bid money , a little bid money only." but it was 5000mpesos. it was not little bid money.
I think because i was a single female and i think she found me vulnerable ,thats why she talked to me this way.
oh also , eve though they were serving breakfast , i only got two peaces of toasted bread and coffee.
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cartolante, Manager at Hotel Residencia La Mariposa, responded to this review
Responded Jun 25, 2017
Dear Sir and Madam, Thanks a lot of your Comments. We hope to meet you once more again at Tulum showing you the best Service possible for kind Clients as You.
Many regards and greetings to your next Summer Holiday in your Country, were I have spent many weeks during my last years. Regards! Director Giancarlo Bianchi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Sunset at Rooftop
$112
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $100
  • Skyscanner.com
    $113
1.3 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$174
  • Skyscanner.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
2.2 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Pool
Beachfront
Ven a la Luz
$247
$205
  • Hotels.com
    $247
  • Skyscanner.com
    $205
  • Priceline
    $205
3.9 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$311
  • Expedia.com
    $404
  • ZenHotels.com
    $296
  • Hotels.com
    $404
2.5 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free parking
Beachfront
Pool and Bar Area
$83
  • Priceline
    $72
  • Vio.com
    $22
  • Skyscanner.com
    $83
1.3 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free Wifi
Pool
$421
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $452
  • Vio.com
    $361
  • Booking.com
    $453
5.3 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free parking
Pool
$344
  • Priceline
    $344
  • Expedia.com
    $344
  • Hotels.com
    $344
13.4 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$67
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $108
3.7 miles from Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Tulum
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
54
50
7
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
54
50
7
11
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 125 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2016

We stayed at the Mariposa for a month while we did am intensive Spanish course at the Meztli school round the corner. The room was perfect and more than large enough for our needs. We had two huge double beds (so we used one as a couch) and the mini kitchen saved us a fortune on meals. The owners and staff were always very friendly when you needed them.
Occasional problems with hot water are the only reason I'm not giving 5 stars.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MhairiD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cartolante, General Manager at Hotel Residencia La Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Client. thanks a lot of your kind Comments. We are happy to have had a so lovely person and sincerely we fope to meet you one more again at our hotel. Many regards from our Mr. Obet and Mrs. Bertha, a cleaning Assistance at your Apartment. Many regards and greetings for your next Summer Holiday ! Director Giancarlo Bianchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016

I had the good fortune of finding this place in June of 2016. My husband and I work remotely and loved Hotel Mariposa's clean guest rooms, full kitchenettes and lovely terrazas. The internet connection is good, and also available in the palapa area at the lobby. The owners and managers are all great. It is in a perfect location in town on a quite neighborhood street, but still just one block off of the main road. Love this place and will be back someday!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmendraAlmendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 29, 2016

A very hard place to find. We booked a room with a queen and king size bed. We got a queen and double bed. Didn't argue because it was hard communicating and we didn't need the other bed as we had thought. The place was clean but only one face rag in the bathroom and no others available when asked. The refrigerator was load in the middle of the night. The AC was set on one temp and was freezing when it was on. Otherwise close to down town and nice enough for the money!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belizemeitsbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

We ended up in this place while looking for our initially booked private accommodation. The owner of the hotel, a lovely lady was doing everything she could to help us find our accommodation which was supposed to be in the vicinity. Stood up and Left desperate, we stayed in her hotel instead. There was a lovely breakfast of eggs, cake, toast, juice, papaya! The bus station is less than 10 min walk, there are bars and cafes on the way, el Camello restaurant just around the corner. In the neighbouring house there is a band rehearsing at times which was a bonus for us as we love live music. The hotel is in a quiet street. Thank you hotel Mariposa for hosting us in such a great manner!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 663kasiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

We were fortunate to find La Mariposa on such short notice. We had already spent five nights in Tulum at another delightful hotel but wanted to extend our stay and the place we were at was already booked, due to it being high season during the holidays. Thankfully, we found availability at Mariposa and loved it.

The hotel room was very clean, had great AC, pretty comfortable beds, an amazing shower, and they served a nice continental breakfast, complete with great coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice (I watched them do it one day), toast, jam, and eggs. During our first breakfast with them, they served us scrambled eggs with ham, and we felt so bad to turn it away because we're primarily vegetarian (not vegan; we eat eggs), but the gentleman was so kind and hospitable, they scrambled us up some plain eggs right away. And they remembered for future breakfasts, without us even saying anything.

Everyone there was so friendly and accommodating.

Our only complaint...and you will see this is a running theme for us, since we are not typical vacationers, but are traveling for several months without a "real" home, and therefore working while we travel...the wifi situation could be better. Like some of the other hotels in the area, when a router is being shared by several people, it gets slow and intermittent, primarily during peak hours. During off hours, it works great.

Overall, it was a great space for us and we would be happy to stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews