We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobo 'terrible' inn”
Review of Lobo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lobo Inn
Ranked #61 of 92 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 14, 2012

It's easy to find from the ADO busstation and that's the only positive thing I can say about this hostel. My friend got bitten by bedbugs, the staff is not friendly, they don't clean the toilets, there were dead flies and bugs lying all over the room and there were cats lying on the beds.

Don't stay here, we where with a group of 7 and nobody would recommend this place.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZ1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Lobo Inn is probably the most economical hostel in Tulum and for only $10 you get a bed + breakfast + Free wifi and access to 4 computers + bike; awesome deal!!. Besides, the hostel is located quite close to the ruins, gorgeous beaches and downtown; bikes are very handy to get around! For this price, you don't get hot water and it's a bit dirty, but hey, what did you expect ? I highly recommend it for backpackers with a tight budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Got bedbugs here in 2008 from staying in the dorms. The whole joint was dirty, pool was nonfunctional, and all the bikes were broken.

The owners provided a good breakfast each morning, more than just toast and coffee, and were helpful in setting up tours for snorkeling in the cenote.

Advantage - bus stop across the street and Tulum Ruins.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The worst hostel I have stayed at; and I have stayed at many. My girlfriend and I had the same experience as others below ( dirty rooms, sheets, noisy, wiered drunk locals fighting in the common area) plus a unique experience of our own. ... We were in a private room and some time around 2 am someone tried to open our door, half a minute later someone ripped the fly screen off our window and tried to open the window. I told reception in the morning and the response was simply " yeah sorry the guys were drinking last night".

We also heard of two backpackers having computers etc stolen in the previous weeks. BE CAREFUL!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Though the personal is more engaged in watching loud tv in the common area and making food on at least half of the working stoves (and leaving the dishes for the next day). The material service is good as there are 4 working computers with internet (2 with videochat), free bikes and free taxi from the city center.
The cleanliness is very poor in the dorms, but okay in the private room (though the personel will complain about you in front of you for wanting clean linen after the previous visitors)
It is okay place stay, but deffinately not recommendable

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BABitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Rooms were not really clean, the internet wasn't working or it was working really slow. Also we had some problems with AC. The good thing was free renting of the bikes, but otherwise we were not really happy with the hostel. Location is good, becuse it is really close to the ruins and beach that you can reach by bikes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mateja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was really disappointed of this hostel, the room was very smelly and the floor was wet from the shower, the receptionist just mopped the floor and told us that he doesn't smell anything, when we asked to change the room he told us he doesn't have anything available...

P. S the kitchen is pretty dirty...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anialonsegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 mi away
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
1.1 mi away
Chalupa Hostal
Chalupa Hostal
#53 of 92 in Tulum
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kukulcan
Hotel Kukulcan
#78 of 92 in Tulum
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
1.6 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#40 of 136 in Tulum
152 reviews
2 mi away
Posada Malix Pek
Posada Malix Pek
#21 of 92 in Tulum
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobo Inn

Address: Carretera Fedel Chedtuaml Km 235.69 | Zona Arqueologica, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $17 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Lobo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing