We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and authentic place”
Review of Posada Lamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Lamar
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice place even if it are simple cabanas. The bungalows are very pretty and authentic. The bathroom is quite rustic. We stayed at other place on the beach of tulum and honestly it's not the best place. It's quiet expensive for the quality and cleanliness provided. There were weird ramping insects in the bathroom. For the rest it's very charming.

The kitchen isn't very welcoming. Very dark and rustic. So we went every time to the restaurants of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincipessaLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Posada Lamar exceeded our expectations. It was breathtaking and unbelievable. It is NOT a resort, it IS rustic and full of charm and right on the most beautiful beach in the world. I wish I was there right now actually. And obviously a nice beach and comfortable accommodations make a trip awesome, but so do amazing people, and that's what made our trip special.

Carlos greeted us and helped us with our bags. He was incredibly friendly and explained how the posada worked (no electricity during the day, you don't need it). He always made sure we had everything we needed and always offered up things he thought we would need (A cooler, ice, more water etc.). But what REALLY stood out and made this place special was when I lost my only glasses in the water by a rogue wave, Carlos came to our aid. He called a local optician in town who went to his office just for us. He flagged a cab for us and instructed the driver on where to go and really saved the trip. I would have been BLIND in Mexico for five days had he not helped. I guarantee a fancy five-star resort would NOT do the same.

He also offered us tickets to an exclusive concert on the beach and was always there should we need anything. Incredible service 100%, 5 stars. I'd give 10 if I could.

Everyone was awesome. We can't wait to go back!

Good job Posada Lamar, we truly love you!

Room Tip: Posada Ambar has 2 awesome outdoor seating areas. Made friends with a gorgeous Iguana :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is spectacular. Very low key with an outstanding view. Rooms are exactly what we were looking for, a room with a place to sleep, go to the washroom, and shower. The hospitality by the staff was unbelievable. My wife lost her glasses in the surf the first day and Carlos at the front desk called an optometrist and set up an appointment for her for an eye test. We got in a cab and had contacts within the hour. Saved the trip. The entire staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were great. Fantastic coffee as well. If you want to see Mexico without the mayhem of the Cancun spring break crowd, come here and shut off the outside world and enjoy. We will be repeat visitors without a doubt. Can not wait to get back. Respect

Room Tip: Traditional cabanas with amenities. Very comfortable. Not a hotel room, much more beautiful experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Posada Lamar is a small property located right on the beach. It offers a variety of accommodations. We stayed in the Rubi cabana, which is the smaller of the two ocean front units. The cabana was fairly good sized and the bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve slept on in Mexico. It had the requisite mosquito netting over the bed and there was a nice fan near the head of the bed that kept the air moving at night (most of the time). While there is a loft area with a plastic covered mattress, it was challenging to access via a steep ladder and was very hot.

We were prepared to embrace a week without electricity (they have a secure place in the lobby to charge electronics) but were very pleased to learn upon our arrival that in fact there WAS electricity (lights, fan, and one outlet) in the cabana. The hours were limited – usually from 6 pm to 6 am, but we didn’t expect there was ANY power in the rooms so those hours worked just fine. The power wasn’t 100% reliable and kicked off more than a few times during the night, but usually only for a few brief minutes and then it would come back on. Overall, it was there when needed.

The bathroom is located behind the main sleeping area and was a bit rustic. Fortunately we’d seen photos here on Trip Advisor, so we were prepared. It is basically one open room with a toilet in the corner, a wooden shelf and a shower head. While the shower is right in the same area as the toilet, it was possible to use both at the same time without difficulty. The sink is located between the sleeping area and the toilet/shower area.

They provided unlimited bottles of drinking water and had a cooler with blocks of ice we could chip off whenever we needed it. They have beach towels, beach chairs, kayaks and boogie boards available for guest use. The beach is beautiful and very swimmable (unless it is windy and then the surf is a bit rough).

The price of the room also includes continental breakfast served daily on your porch. Fresh fruit, yogurt with a sprinkling of granola, toast with jam and butter, fresh orange juice, and a pot of coffee or tea. It was good and filling most days.

The first day we hit the beach and the ocean right away, then returned to the cabana to shower for dinner, and found barely a trickle coming from the shower. We spoke to the night manager Adrianna about it, and she immediately gave us a key to an empty cabana so we could shower and promised it would be fixed shortly. We cleaned up and went to dinner. When we returned to Rubi after dinner, we were amazed to see the shower had been repaired and now had a good stream of water. Great customer service!

The property is fairly rustic overall. Many of the cabanas had updated windows and doors, although at the time of our stay the Rubi did not. There was one screened window across the front of the unit, but none of the other windows were screened. When it got hot, we opted to open the windows for the cross breeze, and trust in our bug repellent and the mosquito netting. If it is windy, the bugs weren't bad. The place is a bit worn, and really isn't sealed well, with many cracks and crevices. But the porch and few steps right to the beach made this easy to look past.

Room Tip: If you want a true ocean view, choose one of the two ocean front cabanas, Rubi or Saffir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at Posada La Mar with my son (7 years old) and two friends in June 2013. My son and I stayed in Zafiro - one of the beach front rooms. Zafiro has a balcony. We sat there for meals, drinks and relaxation. At night there was a cool breeze and it kept the bugs away. I was so glad I rented Zafiro - being right on the beach is the way too go. BREAKFAST - When I woke up - our breakfast was delivered every morning to the table on our balcony. We received fruit, bread, coffee and milk - a good way to start the day. Each morning, one of the staff would rake the beach - removing all of the "things" that had washed up overnight. There were two restaurants near by that we frequented often for lunch and dinner. We rented a car from Hertz, so we were also able to go into town for lunch. There is a grocery store located about 2 miles from Posada La Mar and we bought a cooler, snacks, adult drinks etc...Adriana recommended a guide named Johanas. He hopped in our car (he has a vehicle, but we took our car) and we went snorkeling at a beach in Akumel and then we went to a Cenote. We paid a very affordable flat rate. He took car of parking, entry fees, snacks and gear. He was no nice and so attentive to my son. I will add that my son wore a snorkel vest that I purchased prior to heading to Mexico. You can find one for $35-50 - It was a great investment. My son can swim, but the vest made ME feel more comfortable. SERVICE - Our room was cleaned every afternoon, which was great. We tracked sand in all day and it was nice for the room to be cleaned in the afternoon. Our sheets were changed, our room as mopped and we received a new bottle of water (although we bought 6 gallons of water at the grocery store at the start of the week). We ran out of ice and the staff gave us ice to put in our cooler. We ran out of sun screen and the staff gave us a partially used bottle left by a previous guest to hold us over until we could get to the store. I would recommend bringing your own sun screen - it is expensive in Tulum. We were told by Carlos that we could use the kitchen in the afternoon or evening if we would like to do some of our own cooking. We chose not to cook, but the offer was there. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no air conditioning, which was fine with me, but for some it is not. I will also add that we walked down the beach and the beach front at Posada La Mar is one of the best. We will certainly return to Posada La Mar.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that are facing the beach. Zafiro is one and you can find the name of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am gald to have the opportunity to comment about our experience in Posada Lamar. My son, two of my friends and I had a wonderful time there this last October. Tulum is a piece of heaven here in earth! Staying at Posada lamar enhances your experience in this wonderful place. Posada Lamar's comfortable and uniquely decorated rooms, are clean, spacious, and have a lot of windows that allow you to enjoy nature, they are very cozy. There is magic when one wakes up to the melody produced by the sound of the waves and the beautiful sunlight. Having breakfast at the balcony of the room each morning was delightful! Also, posada lamar has kayaks that you can use, it was my first time kayaing in the ocean, it was great! Furthermore, the staff is composed of amazing, knowledgeable, charismatic, super friendly and hardworking people that go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as it can be. Thank you so much Adriana, Carlos, Mario, Juanito, Hugo and the beautiful ladys that brought breakfast and cleaned the rooms each day. I can't wait to go back! Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adennismtz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So we really wanted to love this place, we had planned it for a long time and had been dreaming of Tulum. Unfortunately we felt Posada Lamar let us down. The positives: Carlos was wonderful, helpful and a great person all round. The beach is just perfect and it was so quiet. The negatives: The place itself is pretty run down - every time we unlocked the padlock our hands were covered in rust because it was so stiff, the rooms get extremely stuffy and hot as no wind comes in even with all windows and door open at night, the room service also left ALOT to be desired - soap not restocked, toilet paper not restocked, towels not replaced. For breakfast it looked good, but we had bananas and pineapple that were off on 2 separate days. The bread was always stale and sometimes we got butter and milk, sometimes we didn't. Our sheets were also not changed once in the entire week we were there. So all in all, the service was pretty variable. Don't get me wrong, the beach is amazing and the location is spot on, but we would try one of the many other hotels next time as there are plenty to choose from. All of the restaurants we ate at were amazing and were walking distance. For the price at this place, we felt pretty let down.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailing_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada_Lamar_Tulum, Director General at Posada Lamar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Many thanks for your review; we are grateful for the opportunity to respond, and are pleased to present our thoughts.
We want you to know that your opinion it is very important to us. We took a lot of what you mentioned into consideration and have made several changes and improvements here at Posada Lamar. We appreciate your feedback, and apologize that your stay was not as you hoped. During the month of September and the Beginnings of October there have been big renovations on the hotel taking advantage of the low season as many others hotels in this area just because it’s the only time during the year when we can do all those improvements to give a renovated place to our guests. We so sorry if by any chance the place looks like “run down” at the moment you were with us, we always try to do our best to offer a unique experience combined with rustic and ecological concepts at Posada Lamar, and also would like to explain that the fruit that we serve for breakfast its daily picket at the local market, we try to offer fresh and ripe fruits, but in Tulum area all these products can be seasonal or not in the best conditions for our guests, it’s not a mistake to serve different kind of fruit during the days, we just want to be sure that you are going to have best ones, making reference about the bread (also picked fresh every day), can get stale after a while considering we served breakfast at the porch of every single bungalow and also Tulum’s weather that can be so humid. The room service has been improve to care about the needs of our guest, we apologize that your stay with us did not meet you expectations. It is a continuous learning to us all this details and we appreciate your honest review.
Thank you once more for you helpful review. It is reviews like this that help make Posada Lamar a better place.

Warm regards.

Posada Lamar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#54 of 98 in Tulum
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 98 in Tulum
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
0.9 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
595 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 98 in Tulum
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Lamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Lamar

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Palia Km 6, Tulum 77786, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#22 Family Hotel in Tulum
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $135 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Lamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Lamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Lamar Tulum
Posada Lamar Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing