We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love the zipline”

Hidden Worlds Family Cenote Park
Ranked #30 of 97 Tours in Tulum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden Worlds Cenotes Park offers unique jungle adventures including , cenote snorkeling, ziplines, rappelling, Diving, the skycycle and the Avatar. This park has been featured in more films then any other park in the greater Cancun area including; critically acclaimed 2001 IMAX movie, Journey Into Amazing Caves and the 2007 BBC Planet Earth series, Natgeo in 2007 and HDTV "GET OUT" series in 2011.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love love the zipline”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

First time zip lining, it's not hard at all since there are 2 professionals making sure everything is safe and 1 photographer who capture this amazing experience. They will guide you through from the first time they picked up from the entrance until they dropped you back. We took the ultimate, which were Jungle Zipline, Splash zipline the one that ends in the cenotes water, and Avatar Zipline. They don't have the rappeling at the time we came, so they let us do avatar twice to replace that, it's not a big deal, we're fine with that. Put on your insects repellent, they sell a small bottle for $6 and bring your water bottle as they charge about $3 if I'm not wrong. All in all, it's a fun experience, peole are nice & helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    113
    23
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great experience, far better than I was expecting”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were looking online for places to experience a cenote (along with other atractions in the RM) to avoid the expensive excursions for travel agencies. We found this one that was very close to Bahia Principe where we were staying.

At the arrival, we found that it was too desert to be a good turistic attraction. There was maybe 2 or 3 couples in a truck going to one of the attractions they got there, "but not to the cenote", we were told. The lady showed us a video of what we could see if wanted, and we chose the "cenote only" option that was what we were looking for.

We had to wait for a while for the guide that would take us to the cenote to arrive. We preobably waited about 20-25 minutes as he was not on site. When I was starting to get impatient(serioulsy, I don't like to wait, mainly when I am paying), he arrived in another truck.

Despite the wait, all the staff was very solicitous, and our guide (I guess his name was Eli) was a fantastic person. After a few minutes preparing the equipment we hop on to the truck and Eli took us in a five minute trip inside the jungle til the hole where our adventure would begin.

I must confess I was a bit nervous about entering in a hole in the ground and explore an underground cave with snorkel equipment, but all my fears vanished after we started to enter the cave. If you are a claustrophobic person, don't go, maybe it is too much for you. But if you are a person that, like me, think that sometimes can feel claustrophobic, then don't hesitate, you will be ok. The underground formations are amazing, the experience as a whole worthed every cent, and the guide was remarkable.

A place far from the crowds that accumulate in the most popular spots, but definitely a fantastic cenote to visit, see and learn about the curiosities of the dozens of cenotes interlinked in the RM area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank silasrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great time at Hidden Worlds”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were in Playa Del Carmen with a group of 9. We had our adult children and their friends with us. Their ages were low 20's. Four of us were around age 50. We had previously been to Xplor but our children had not. The main thing they wanted to do was ziplines so we were torn between coming here or going to Xplor again. We had watched video from Hidden Worlds and we saw Avatar the Roller coaster zipline. This was what made our decision to come here.
First we start off in the Mayan Limosine. It was a big bumpy vehicle which took us into the jungle to the ziplines. Some people complained about this in their reviews but we thought it was great!! From there we started with the ziplines. The first one was pretty small but was still fun. The second one we ziplined into a dark cave and landed in the cenote. It was pitch black in there and you had no idea when you would hit the water! It was so fun!!!! We loved it so much!! From there we rapelled into the cave. This was also really fun. The younger ones rapelled upside down! From there we did Avatar the Rollercoaster zipline. It was so much fun! We ended up in the pitch black cave again! It was amazing! After this we snorkeled in the cenotes. These are all natural cenotes. It was awesome and almost a little scary going through small areas in the cave. Our great tour guides Jimmy and Gonzales always made us feel safe though. From there we did the Aero Cycle. This was fun but we had a very slow couple of people in front of us and we had to wait around quite a bit. After we were done they made us an amazing lunch of chicken tacos. It was so yummy!
This tour was very enjoyable. We had a great time. It is a little slow because if you have a big group it takes a bit to get everyone hooked up. I was very glad we did this tour though.
I would like to explain a little about how it is set up. We were worried about if some people didnt want to do every activity would they be alone while waiting. The way it is set up is all the activities start and end right by each other. So if someone doesnt want to do one activity they just wait there. People are starting each activity one after another so the one waiting wont really be alone. The aero cycle is the last one and it is a little ways away but it starts and ends in the same spot also so someone could just wait there if they dont do it. Which worked out great because my husband had pulled his muscle and didnt do the aero cycle.
The only things we wish we could have changed is, we wish we could have done a couple of the activities 2 times. Also we were a group of 9 already, which would have been perfect but they added 3 more people to our group which made it pretty big. They people they added were great fun but it just made the wait times longer.
One more thing is dont wait till you get to Mexico to book this. Book it online. We waited because we were still undecided on which one we were doing and then the agent at our hotel did not offer this tour. So it was a little hard to book while we were there.We finally called them and booked it over the phone. The agents at the hotels or on the streets will try to get you to book a different tour so they can make their commission. They tried really hard to talk us out of this tour to do one of theirs. I am so glad we stuck to our guns and came here. It was a great tour!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank puertovallartalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Safe”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We drove a rental car and arrived at the resort as the last group to do zip line .After all the fun activities i was in a hurry to get back to the car to get money to give tip for the two tour guide , i saw our car was unlock already , passenger side door was a little open . My husband wallet with credit / debit cards , iphone4S got stolen , my laptop,credit card and a little cash all gone. The Manager came over and called a police officer and did searching to the employees ,it just disappointed me that its so hard to get a tourist police officer know how to speak english , they send us to 3 different police station and the result is nothing !!! waste of time , no one knows to speak english and seems like no one really wants to help you us as a tourist . We went back to hotel zone and report the incidents , we went to tourist police station .. i was hoping they speak english there since it say's tourist police station , But guess what ? i am laughing my self ... still none of them can talk in english ...
Disappointed to the Hidden Worlds resort Manager , didnt even offer us if were okay to get back to our hotel , our gas in our car is below half tank and we have no money and credit card to use incase we ran out of gas, didnt even refund us to our zipline as sympathy :-( . To think about it they should secure the resort making sure its safe for all , unless what happened to us is inside job ! We are choosen to victim :-(

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank joy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford,ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a surprise adventure”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

we were blown away by the unexpected beauty and natural wonders of this rugged natural wonder;the staff was incredibly knowledgable and helpful;this was mildly challenging physically (the sky cycle) andvery hands on (repelling down into a cenote, ; the hand-rollercoaster--hang on for dear life; the underground cenote swim).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeffandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Worlds Family Cenote Park also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Worlds Family Cenote Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing