We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent option in Tulum and a nice garden”
Review of Rancho Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rancho Tranquilo
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A decent option in Tulum and a nice garden”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at a cabana in Rancho tranquilo and it was quite a decent stay. The kitchen was not particularly clean and the breakfast is nothing to write home about. I was a bit p.o.'ed when I found out that they were charging for water. There is one computer and no wifi to speak of. The garden is very, very nice though and the place feels homey, green and isolated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zayatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
12
48
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was the last hostel / Rancho that we stayed at on our 2 month trip in Central America. The first hostel and this one were our favorite. We liked that there was a common social area that encourages everyone to come together, yet space where we could have alone time too. The rooms were very quiet and large. The bathrooms were extremly clean the whole time and there was HOT water!! The location was perfect only half a block away from an amazing seafood restaurant that was very inexpensive. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful in finding whatever we were looking for. Do not skip this hostel / Rancho!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianCandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Two of my friends and I just got back from Tulum and had a wonderful time at Rancho Tranquilo. Pepe Loco, the owner, was there to greet us when we arrived and went above and beyond to make sure our accommodations were perfect. We stayed at another condo in the area for a few nights when we were first arrived, but when we go back to Tulum we will only stay at Rancho Tranquilo.

Safety was a major concern for us as we were three women traveling alone, and we felt completely safe at Rancho Tranquilo. The common area has a beautiful garden and was very clean and relaxing. And the pancakes that you get in the morning are awesome! Pepe Loco and his entire staff were wonderful and took great care of us-we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LC3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

There's no denying the effect the beautiful gardens have on you as soon as you walk through the gates of Rancho Tranquillo. It's conveniently situated on the main road just up from a small hospital / medical center, about a 5 - 10 minute walk from the ADO bus station. As mentioned the gardens are absolutely beautiful and it was wonderful to just sit around of an evening chatting to people. Cabins are tucked into various corners of the garden. Ours had 4 beds, all with mosquito nets, though we didn't need them. We also had a fridge and several fans to keep the air moving, which was good because there was a slight musty smell. It's really my only complaint about the room, it wasn't cleaned or anything daily, despite us staying 4 nights but that's fine.
The bathrooms are continually cleaned but can be a bit grubby first thing in the morning. To be expected when the place was at capacity. The hosts arduously cook you delicious pancakes for breakfast in the morning and there's coffee, though get in quick if the place is busy. The general area has a great selection of books and a television. The host were great and helped us out with breaking change for taxi's and random above and beyond things like that. There's a friendly cat around the place too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

For the second time we really enjoyed our stay at rancho tranquillo in Tulm.
A beautifull garden, nice and quite.Intermingel with fellow backpackers, and hear about their
Travel experiences.Clean, rooms, cabanas, dorms and brandnew bathrooms and this all for a reasonable price.O, yes they even have a library where you can choose a book. (You have to leave
Your read book behind.A few minutes walk is the bus to the beaches.one leaves at 9 am and the next at 1 pm.Breakfast included, pancakes mmmm, and coffee.
If we are back in this area, we certainly will stay some days here in rancho Tranquillo Tulum again.

Room Tip: A cabana, very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bencarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our second year to go to Rancho. There are many wonderful reasons why we will always go there while in Tulum. The rooms are basic and clean with a cute little porch with a hammock. We mostly used the room just to sleep in. There are multiple places to hang out in the gardens or in the main building. It is a large, beautiful place. You can be alone or you can find interesting people who love to share stories from the day. Most people that stay there are on long travels. Many people have been coming every year for years. You will meet people from all over the world. Rancho is a mellow place with a slightly older crowd. We brought our children. It felt like a very appropriate place for them to be. They loved it. It is a fun, clean, very pretty place. The staff and owner are very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cannotwait2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

But at the end of a very busy street.
Breakfast consists of 3 pancakes, so a bit boring. You can prepare your own food.
The owner was friendly, so were the other guests.
We've got some really good tips on diving centers, and if we ever come back to do some more cenote diving we certainly stay here sometime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaatverstraete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#81 of 95 in Tulum
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#75 of 95 in Tulum
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#79 of 95 in Tulum
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#88 of 95 in Tulum
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#80 of 95 in Tulum
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 95 in Tulum
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Tranquilo

Property: Rancho Tranquilo
Address: Av. Tulum, 86 | Between Saturno and Luna Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rancho Tranquilo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Tranquilo is a small family run Hotel/Hostel located in Tulum, Mexico about 6K from the beach. We offer a garden setting with a wide range of accomadations. We offer a dormitory with six single beds, 5 small cabanas with one queen size bed, 4 large cabanas with 2 queen size beds, 3 casitas with A\C for up to six people, and 2 regular room with A\C. All beds include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Tranquilo Tulum
Rancho Tranquilo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing