We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were back for a second time.”
Review of Rancho Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rancho Tranquilo
Ranked #65 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed January 29, 2013

For the second time we really enjoyed our stay at rancho tranquillo in Tulm.
A beautifull garden, nice and quite.Intermingel with fellow backpackers, and hear about their
Travel experiences.Clean, rooms, cabanas, dorms and brandnew bathrooms and this all for a reasonable price.O, yes they even have a library where you can choose a book. (You have to leave
Your read book behind.A few minutes walk is the bus to the beaches.one leaves at 9 am and the next at 1 pm.Breakfast included, pancakes mmmm, and coffee.
If we are back in this area, we certainly will stay some days here in rancho Tranquillo Tulum again.

Room Tip: A cabana, very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bencarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our second year to go to Rancho. There are many wonderful reasons why we will always go there while in Tulum. The rooms are basic and clean with a cute little porch with a hammock. We mostly used the room just to sleep in. There are multiple places to hang out in the gardens or in the main building. It is a large, beautiful place. You can be alone or you can find interesting people who love to share stories from the day. Most people that stay there are on long travels. Many people have been coming every year for years. You will meet people from all over the world. Rancho is a mellow place with a slightly older crowd. We brought our children. It felt like a very appropriate place for them to be. They loved it. It is a fun, clean, very pretty place. The staff and owner are very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cannotwait2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

But at the end of a very busy street.
Breakfast consists of 3 pancakes, so a bit boring. You can prepare your own food.
The owner was friendly, so were the other guests.
We've got some really good tips on diving centers, and if we ever come back to do some more cenote diving we certainly stay here sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaatverstraete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have just enjoyed a 10 days stay in Rancho tranquilo, the nicest place in Tulum for travellers on a budget i think.
What ive liked more was the beautiful garden and outside sitting area. Youll just love to wake up and eat your free pancakes under a palm tree .
Youll also find a very collective/community vibe, since there a few people seems to stay there more on a long term.
Youll find people of all ages; backpackers but also family and laid back solo travellers. It it not the biggest party vibe (like at the weary Hostel) and fortunately, its not called tranquillo for nothing! But i have to admit, it is still a bit noisy, with the neighbor' rooster, or if ever one of the guests decides to be loud at night.
The facilities are clean. I had no problem sharing the bathroom and the kitchen. Its not luxury of course, but its very functionnal.
We stayed in the large cabana, two adults and two teenagers and we were fine. Again, its not luxury, but we were only there to sleep. If extra comfort is important to you, you might wanna pay for the houses.
You can also count on Evaristo at the front desk to answer any of your questions. he is a reliable guy. He can also advise you on tours. I recommend to go to Sian Kaan with Pastor, a knowledgable and very nice guide who will be able to tell you about Mayas and Nature from a personalized point of view.

Rancho is in the city so ill cost you aorund 80 pesos in taxi to go to the beach, but we were happy to stay in the city for the markets, the food in the streets and the general vibe.

Enjoy Tulum, its one of the favorite spot i have travelled to!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeeTopMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I visted Rancho Tranquilo over the Christmas holiday and had a wonderful time. Rancho is located in downtown Tulum. Across the street is a small market that has all the basic necessities (toiletries, groceries, beverages, phone cards, etc) and the fruit stand next door has the best quality fruits in Tulum as well as various freeze squeezed juices, nuts, and spices.

I feel it necessary to respond to some of the comments made by other reviewers. A) The garden- It is not fake. I'm not sure how someone could get this impression. Throughout my stay guests were provided fresh mangos, limes, avocados, bananas, and coconuts from the garden. There were also fragrant night orchids and aloe plants that can be cut for you by the staff. B) Gunshots- No those were poppers from the children who live in the neighborhood. They stay up late. C) Hot rooms- Rooms without AC now have large table fans in addition to the ceiling fans. D) Noisy- This is downtown Tulum in Mexico. You will heard music 24/7 and the roosters wake up at approximately 4am. Its noisy but any downtown area in Mexico that you stay in will provide the same noise level. I think it's charming.

My cabana was clean when I moved in. Each morning the bathrooms were thoroughly scrubbed and disinfected then spot-checked during the day. The communal kitchen was very large with wide counters that provides plenty of space to cooperate with others working/playing in the area. There is a sharing library with two walls full of various books (fiction, nonfiction, reference, and childrens books). There is a small TV and a selection of DVDs and board games.

The most appealing part of Rancho is the people. Rancho Tranquilo has a dedicated staff who work with pride. The front desk staff are especially nice, speak English well, and are quick to smile. Other guests and neighbors/friends of Rancho created a loving, cooperative, and generous community. On Christmas Eve there was a big holiday dinner in which most of the guests worked in the kitchen to offer something on the table. It was beautiful. I am deeply grateful for my time at Rancho Tranquilo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kayyouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Checked in a room and paid a considerable price for at plain room. So far so good, and the garden is nice. Turned out next morning that several things did not work in the room and when we complained to the desk clerk he was smooth like an eel - no suggestion to compensate us but a lot of nonsense talk. Go here if you must - else stay away.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice folks but cabana room was very hot with only a ceiling fan. Cooled down late at night but unbearable during the day. Door did not latch but had a crude padlock on outside. Did have a refrigerator. Toilets and showers in another building, unisex. Soap but no towels or shampoo. Free wi-fi in lobby area but no power plugs. Tricky to get the right password to work but fast enough once started. Free parking beside road in front. Very noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
12.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#95 of 101 in Tulum
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#76 of 101 in Tulum
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#86 of 101 in Tulum
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pacha Tulum
Pacha Tulum
#51 of 101 in Tulum
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#83 of 101 in Tulum
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
#79 of 101 in Tulum
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Tranquilo

Address: Av. Tulum, 86 | Between Saturno and Luna Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $34 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rancho Tranquilo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Tranquilo is a small family run Hotel/Hostel located in Tulum, Mexico about 6K from the beach. We offer a garden setting with a wide range of accommodations. Rooms include: - four Casitas with A/C, cable TV, mini fridge, private bath, private patio, and 2 or 3 beds in each; - four Gran Cabanas with fans, mini fridge, covered private patio, and 2 or 3 beds each; - seven Cabanas with fans and a double bed; and - a dormitory with six single beds. The Gran Cabanas, Cabanas, and dormitory have access to the community bathrooms with showers and hot water. The dormitory has a common bathroom. All beds include breakfast, and access to our community kitchen, gardens, living room with lending library, and picnic areas. We are less than a 10 minute walk from the ADO bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Tranquilo Tulum
Rancho Tranquilo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing