We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yoga retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shambala Petit Hotel
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yoga retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just came back from a week long yoga vacation.. The place was beautiful. Our room was closest to the beach. Slept very well (the first time away from home) listening to the wind and waves. The staff was very helpful, the room was spacious, the food was excellent. I wish I could put meals together like that. Marco the masseuse was one of the best part of the trip. I had to have a second massage before I left. I thought that Marco had forgotten to do my legs so I asked him about it. He assured me that he had not. Sure enough I had oil down my legs ( I was so relaxed I had slept right through it! ). Roberto, the owner, was around during meals (helping serve dishes) and available to answer whatever questions we came up with. I am really looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1-ilovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
6
50
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at Petit Shambala, in the Almar unit, rested, had massages here, and ate my meals and practiced yoga and sitting next door at Uno.

This small resort is lovely, feels grounded, well maintained, peaceful. This is where you go to disconnect (if you are looking for a "scene", this is not it). It was great, I was at peace going home, because I had completely nourished myself.

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taram_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were there on a retreat. The hotel is gorgeous, the food was incredible, the yoga room has a beautiful view of the ocean. The food was healthy Mexican and delicious. The rooms were all different and very unique. Try to get one with a view. Roberto was hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldieMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bklynyoga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I recently led my third retreat at Shambala and like both previous times, it was amazing. From the food, rooms, service to the beach, yoga shala- all of it was great and consistent. Roberto, the owner is very committed to his place and to his guests and will go out of his way to please people. He is easy to work with and his dedication to his space is apparent. My students were yet again satisfied, nourished and well rested at Shambala.

Furthermore- Marco the masseuse is amazing and I highly recommend a massage with him.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

On the cleanest, widest stretch of sandy tulum beach is a small (hence "petite"!) cluster of white cabanas decorated with cheerful accents of orange and thatched roofs. You can leave your sandals in your room and walk, barefoot, the sand paths to the Sambala for yoga class, to the the dinning room for fresh (not a bit of processed) food accompanied by surprising freshly made juices, to the beach and over again. I took some day trips to ruins and limestone, freshwater swimming holes, and snorkeling with the turtles! The staff is very soft spoken and generous with their time, once appearing immediately when we got hung up on a curb and pushing us, waking me in the middle of the night so I could meet my taxi, mailing left behind items, drawing maps, and on and on, beside their daily chores. The owner Roberto is, as his staff, a hard working, very competent, friendly multi-tasker. What relaxation. .

Room Tip: Make sure your room is beach side. I think there are two cabanas further back that would not be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemflowermountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I attend a yoga retreat at Shambala every February, and just returned from my third visit. As always, the accomodations, staff, beach, food, and service were all (no kidding) PERFECT. Roberto and his staff are helpful without being intrusive, and the rooms, beach beds, and hammocks have all become like old friends to me.

One addition this year that bears mentioning is a WONDERFUL massage therapist, Marco. After several of my friends had their massages, and raved, I decided to have one as well--it was one of the best I've ever had. That it is right on the property, and offered by such a talented professional, make a visit to the wonderful Shambala even better (which I'd come to believe wasn't even possible).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I spent a week there on a yoga retreat. Having never been to Tulum, I had no expectations, but this place was awesome. Roberto is an amazing host and he's surrounded by fabulous staff. The food was exceptional and the location is spectacular. The rooms are basic, but very comfortable and are right on the beach. The beach is perfect, beautiful white sand. I had a great week and would recommend yoga teachers for considering this location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different. The one that's upstairs has a spectacular outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineRondeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#52 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azucar Hotel
Azucar Hotel
#36 of 80 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Life Source Retreats
Life Source Retreats
#15 of 120 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amelie Tulum
Amelie Tulum
#90 of 93 in Tulum
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambala Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambala Petit Hotel

Property: Shambala Petit Hotel
Address: Carr. Bocapaila - Tulum Ruinas km 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shambala Petit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is my great pleasure to introduce you to my retreat Shambala Petit Hotel, located on the South Beach of Tulum, Mexico. You may already be familiar with the magic of Tulum and the beauty and peacefulness it has to offer. It’s endless white sand beaches and crystal clear ocean come together to create an unforgettable experience unmatched in The Mayan Riviera. Tulum is a calm and relaxing destination where tranquility is found just moments after arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shambala Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shambala Petit Tulum
Hotel Shambala Petit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing