We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach location is a 5; Our cabana location was a 0”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas
Ranked #39 of 111 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I so want to give this property a high mark review. The beach is pristine exquisite; the food is expensive but fabulous; the beach lounge beds appeared to be the best of any hotel. The staff was pleasant. BUT, our cabana (aqua) was not even located at the Hemingway Romantic (which we booked) but across the street at the Hemingway Jungle! Worse yet, the cabana was @ 30 feet from the very noisy street traffic...not my idea of a romantic getaway. Garbage trucks, water tankers, whining motor cycles, and cars traveled the road 24 hours a day. The entrance to the cabana had an off and on strong septic smell. The good sized room had only a king sized bed squeezed into the corner directly across from the glass room door facing the street. The toilet was in full view from the bed (glass door on the bathroom) at all times. There were no chairs in the bedroom but lots of concrete floor space. Only one chair was on the concrete patio outside the cabana. The marginally comfortable mattress had no pad on it, just a sheet. We had booked for two nights but wanted to leave the morning after only 2 hours of restless sleep the first night. Unfortunately, this hotel would have charged us anyway so we stayed. Also, this hotel charges a premium for payment in MX pesos (which was all we had) vs payment in US dollars. We also tried to book the advertised massage. We were unable to do so, as no therapist ever appeared during our 3 days...management seemed unconcerned. When we checked out, even after giving a tip for the service people, we were never asked if we'd enjoyed our stay ( we were always very cheery to the staff) nor were we given any encouragement to come back...very bizarre. The only "romantic" part of this hotel might be if you book Estrella, Boa or Jaguare cabanas located beachside. Otherwise, there are lots of other cabana type hotels on the same strip of beach...

Room Tip: If you want any sense of a beach getaway, make sure your cabana is not across the street in the Jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EMTLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hemingway’s is sited on the coast road towards Punta Allen, about 4Km from Tulum. The road is lined with numerous holiday complexes and the occasional private villa – but all are very small, low-key, no more than two-storey - and very cool – it’s full of backpackers and is very casual and relaxed. If you don't want to eat or drink at Hemingway’s there are plenty of other choices within a short stroll.
The cabana complex comprises a dozen or so cabins in the sand, set back from the beach, clustered around a reception/dining cabana. The décor is simple and very pretty, with mosquito nets over the beds and an en suite bathroom with a shower. There is a ceiling fan to keep you cool. The curtains are not very efficient at keeping the dawn, so be prepared for an early rise, or take an eye-mask. But the sunrises can be spectacular and the beach is, quite simply, the most beautiful stretch on the coast, with large beds provided for you to relax on. The sand is like icing sugar as you walk to the small rocky headland to sit and watch the pelicans fish.
The staff are wonderful, but you are in mañana -land, so don't expect lightning-quick service its all a bit quaintly chaotic and back-to-basics. Chill out and enjoy it. The food is excellent and you truly feel pampered. And if you want more of that, there’s a massage centre on the site. There is only electricity from 4pm to 4am with limited power, so forget your hair-dryer. And your shoes – and your shirt – you are on holiday, after all.

Room Tip: We understand there may be some cabanas on the other side of the road – check when you book – you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor_Sandrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Amazing location near the beach and beautifully decorated cabanas, very romantic. It were fully relaxed and wished we could stay much longer than 3 nights. Breakfasts changed everyday and the food was high quality.
The booking team could be a bit better organised, but overall I highly recommend this place. The waiter is extremely sweet and takes care of everybody extremely well even when he is overloaded with work.
Good memories for us, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rustic cabins on a 10km fantastic beach, hot showers and power is now only off for a couple of hours in the afternoons. There is a small restaurant/bar overlooking the beach with a limited but good menu - especially their pasta. There are many small hotels on this stretch and a narrow road connects them all and, in the case of Hemingway, divides the property with the Romantic cabins on the ocean side and the Jungle cabins across the road. I would definitely suggest paying the extra for the beach side. A limited breakfast is included with the room rate but unfortunately the small restaurant cannot accommodate all the guests. More often than not we had long waits to get a table, so ventured next door (south) and paid for nice meals.
A new large supermarket has opened on the approach road to the beach making it easy to pick up food and other items you might need.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed one night at Hemingway and were glad it wasn't loger. Simple, not well cleaned cabana with a really small queen bed, the sheets and pillows felt and smelled damp. Did not sleep well! Breakfast was pretty poor, the staff was friendly but very confused. Check in was at 3.00 but the room wasnt ready until 5.00. Prices are ok by Tulum standards, but we stayed at Posada Lamar just three minutes down the beach for the same price, and that is much nicer. Would not recommend Hemingway.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "jungle side" appear to be nicer w bigger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maja1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a Jungle Cabana, which is located on the other side of the road from the beach. This wasn't an issue for us as we are the kind of guests who get up and get on with daily activities rather than hanging out on the beach all day. It is also consistently breezy in Tulum so being back from the beach a bit meant a bit of protection from wind noise. I'm not sure if paying the extra to stay right on the beach is worth it since there are plenty of beach beds available for guests to use. Sometimes it was nice to sit out of the sun and breeze and read a book in the hammock on the front porch.

The bathroom runs on semi-salty water and power only runs between certain times so it's not like a normal hotel. We also had a few Geckos living with us (no big deal). You also need to use the mosquito net, although during early February the mosquitoes weren't especially bad. There is also no AC so I imagine it would be very hot during the summer.

The staff at the resort were really lovely and helpful. Carlos was especially a help, as we had a minor medical issue to deal with. The restaurant makes amazing Italian style food in the evenings. The lobster in the Tagliatelle was awesome, so tender! The daily breakfast was also really nice, freshly baked cake and bread, with eggs if you want them.

The price was very reasonable for a 7 night stay and I will be recommending Hemingway Resort to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved this cute, cosy, rustic little place right the most beautiful white sand and turquoise water beach! The individual cabaña palapa houses are clean and comfy, the people working here are super nice, polite, helpful and always gave us excellent, friendly service. They have a great Italian kitchen with fresh fruit, fish and langoustines, creative but simple cuisine (loved the cheese plate featuring local artisan cheeses) and good wines. Definitely coming back here next winter!

Room Tip: The jungle area has nice rooms for cheaper but they are more airless than closer to the sea, more bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cati53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#78 of 101 in Tulum
229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#50 of 101 in Tulum
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 111 in Tulum
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Azucar Hotel
Azucar Hotel
#43 of 111 in Tulum
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Punta Piedra Beach Posada
3 mi away
Hotel & Cabanas Zazil Kin Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas

Address: Carretera Boca Paila km 5.5 | Zona Costera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $141 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel beachfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Hemingway Eco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing