We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
128
68
34
31
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
68
34
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doing construction beautiful beach sweet spot ocean sounds beach location small hotels outdoor shower special thanks ceviche cabana wind sand breeze hammocks seaweed margaritas caribbean
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 286 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hemingway’s is sited on the coast road towards Punta Allen, about 4Km from Tulum. The road is lined with numerous holiday complexes and the occasional private villa – but all are very small, low-key, no more than two-storey - and very cool – it’s full of backpackers and is very casual and relaxed. If you don't want to eat or drink at Hemingway’s there are plenty of other choices within a short stroll.
The cabana complex comprises a dozen or so cabins in the sand, set back from the beach, clustered around a reception/dining cabana. The décor is simple and very pretty, with mosquito nets over the beds and an en suite bathroom with a shower. There is a ceiling fan to keep you cool. The curtains are not very efficient at keeping the dawn, so be prepared for an early rise, or take an eye-mask. But the sunrises can be spectacular and the beach is, quite simply, the most beautiful stretch on the coast, with large beds provided for you to relax on. The sand is like icing sugar as you walk to the small rocky headland to sit and watch the pelicans fish.
The staff are wonderful, but you are in mañana -land, so don't expect lightning-quick service its all a bit quaintly chaotic and back-to-basics. Chill out and enjoy it. The food is excellent and you truly feel pampered. And if you want more of that, there’s a massage centre on the site. There is only electricity from 4pm to 4am with limited power, so forget your hair-dryer. And your shoes – and your shirt – you are on holiday, after all.

Room Tip: We understand there may be some cabanas on the other side of the road – check when you book – you do really want to be on the beach side! The Cancun taxi driver we took had a lot of trouble finding the place – it’s N20°10.03; W87°27.09
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor_Sandrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Amazing location near the beach and beautifully decorated cabanas, very romantic. It were fully relaxed and wished we could stay much longer than 3 nights. Breakfasts changed everyday and the food was high quality.
The booking team could be a bit better organised, but overall I highly recommend this place. The waiter is extremely sweet and takes care of everybody extremely well even when he is overloaded with work.
Good memories for us, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rustic cabins on a 10km fantastic beach, hot showers and power is now only off for a couple of hours in the afternoons. There is a small restaurant/bar overlooking the beach with a limited but good menu - especially their pasta. There are many small hotels on this stretch and a narrow road connects them all and, in the case of Hemingway, divides the property with the Romantic cabins on the ocean side and the Jungle cabins across the road. I would definitely suggest paying the extra for the beach side. A limited breakfast is included with the room rate but unfortunately the small restaurant cannot accommodate all the guests. More often than not we had long waits to get a table, so ventured next door (south) and paid for nice meals.
A new large supermarket has opened on the approach road to the beach making it easy to pick up food and other items you might need.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed one night at Hemingway and were glad it wasn't loger. Simple, not well cleaned cabana with a really small queen bed, the sheets and pillows felt and smelled damp. Did not sleep well! Breakfast was pretty poor, the staff was friendly but very confused. Check in was at 3.00 but the room wasnt ready until 5.00. Prices are ok by Tulum standards, but we stayed at Posada Lamar just three minutes down the beach for the same price, and that is much nicer. Would not recommend Hemingway.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "jungle side" appear to be nicer w bigger beds.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maja1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a Jungle Cabana, which is located on the other side of the road from the beach. This wasn't an issue for us as we are the kind of guests who get up and get on with daily activities rather than hanging out on the beach all day. It is also consistently breezy in Tulum so being back from the beach a bit meant a bit of protection from wind noise. I'm not sure if paying the extra to stay right on the beach is worth it since there are plenty of beach beds available for guests to use. Sometimes it was nice to sit out of the sun and breeze and read a book in the hammock on the front porch.

The bathroom runs on semi-salty water and power only runs between certain times so it's not like a normal hotel. We also had a few Geckos living with us (no big deal). You also need to use the mosquito net, although during early February the mosquitoes weren't especially bad. There is also no AC so I imagine it would be very hot during the summer.

The staff at the resort were really lovely and helpful. Carlos was especially a help, as we had a minor medical issue to deal with. The restaurant makes amazing Italian style food in the evenings. The lobster in the Tagliatelle was awesome, so tender! The daily breakfast was also really nice, freshly baked cake and bread, with eggs if you want them.

The price was very reasonable for a 7 night stay and I will be recommending Hemingway Resort to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews