We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Step Closer to Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We just got back from staying 2 nights at Cabanas Tulum. We travel to Mexico every year and have stayed at All-Inclusive and Boutique hotels in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen.Last year we took a day trip to Tulum ,from Playa , and decided that we would add a few nights in Tulum for this trip. I am so glad we did.!! If we didn't have reservations in Playa for the rest of this trip we would have just stayed here for the duration.. I didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived, we encountered the most knowledgable, friendly and dedicated staff. Patti at the front office is amazing. They couldn't do enough for you. The restaurant and beach club are top-knotch!! Believe me, we were frequent visitors to both. The drinks are 2 x 1. Try the Strawberry Mojito!! All the food we had at the Restaurant was very good and served by some of the best staff we have encountered. Shout out to Patti at the restaurant also. Sorry I can't remember everyones names, but they all are deserving of my praise. It is so much easier to remember names when they are the same as mine.( my name is Patti) We had a beachfront room with the best views I ever woke up to. We were there the end of August ,which is the hottest time of the year in that area. However, our room had air-conditioning at night and a ceiling fan over our comfy bed. The patio was a great place to sit and relax ,take in the ocean breezes and enjoy the thousands of stars you'll see in the sky. It is just like heaven!! . They have a hammock on the patio also . This hotel had everything we were looking for and more. I have never felt so relaxed and happy. Can't wait to return!! This is my new vacation spot.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pattis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 822 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in Cabanas Tulum staff was great it included free breakfast and I enjoyed eating outdoors overlooking the ocean. It's a beautiful place surrounded by jungle and ocean. The sand here is amazing...and they have turtles come and lay their babies here. I wish the beds were softer....but outside of that the whole experience was very nice. We rode bikes to Tulum Ruins.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moeski34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Cabanas Tulum for a quick end of summer get away. The comments I had read on trip advisor appeared to describe the kind of hotel I look for when traveling; reasonably priced, interesting location, somewhat under the radar, good service and a breakfast included with the room. The hotel was all of that and far more. The location itself is amazing given the proximity of the many Mayan ruins nearby and then the service at this hotel was an incredibly pleasant surprise. This hotel offers first class service without being pretentious, the staff is attentive but not in the least 'snooty', there is room service if you request it at the front desk (we had a bucket of ice delivered for the wine each night on the patio), the rooms are simple, very clean, and more than adequate with the air conditioning available at night. Our room was a second floor room behind the beach front rooms, we always enjoyed a breeze but were able to play cards in the evening on our patio without having the sea breeze blow the cards all around. The beach is only a very short walk away and because of that, being able to go barefoot around the hotel and over to Ziggy's throughout our stay was particularly nice. The 'August special' internet price was fantastic. The beach in that area is incredibly pretty, lots of small thatched hut lodging and charming beach bars and restaurants. In particular we really enjoyed Ziggy's beach bar (fabulous mojitos) and restaurant as well as Amansala and Posada Margarita, further down the beach for food and ambiance. Ziggy's for breakfast is fantastic. The food is great, the service is top notch and you can take a quick dip in the ocean while you are waiting for your breakfast to be served,,, does it get any better than that? Unbeknownst to us we arrived at turtle egg laying and hatching season and witnessed two turtles coming on to the beach late at night to make nests and another night unintentionally participated in a hatching rescue of baby turtles who inadvertently thought the lights in front of Posada Margarita were the 'moon' light to guide their way to the ocean and couldn't figure out what direction to go. I want to also make a special point of saying how wonderful Patrizia, at the front desk, was from the beginning of our stay to the last day,,, she is a gracious, warm and intelligent human being who was just plain fun to talk with as well as she was able to help us with a variety of details about the area since we don't speak fluent Spanish and had questions about things that weren't readily explained by reading the tourist pamphlets....... Oh, I almost forgot to say how great having a bike available to ride was. It just added a special touch to the stay. Being able to pedal along and feel, smell, hear and see the environment up close is part of the joy of being in a tropical environment. I know that the hotel is expanding but i really hope it doesn't become another tourism casualty trying to be something it doesn't need to be.... a 'disney-esque' tropicaI tourist hotel that caters to the 'see and be seen' crowd.. they have cruise ships......please keep Tulum warm, friendly and affordable....that said, we hope to bring our family back next summer to share this special place on the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureenCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

In all areas that one would rate a boutique hotel set on this magnificent stretch of beach, we have only the most positive comments to share.

All rooms are well placed along the beach. We stayed in a 2nd floor, second row room that offered all advertised amenities including 24 hour electricity, hot water, and 7pm to 7 am air conditioning. We have been traveling together to Tulum beach for a decade and know from past experiences that this trifecta for creature comfort is not easily found in all Tulum beach hotels. It is also our experience that one will pay much more than Hotel Cabanas Tulum charges to enjoy this combination of amenities. The room is an outstanding value for the price.

As noted in other reviews, meals and beverages at the associated restaurant called La Bistro were delicious. We ate a breakfast, lunch, and dinner at this location. The menu is varied and prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area. A 25% discount was applied to our dinner at La Bistro because we were staying at the hotel. We look forward to dinning there again in the future.

What made our stay at Hotel Cabanas Tulum one that moved me to write a review (my first review ever posted!) was the staff. Still wiping the tears away, I can only begin to communicate my gratitude for how the staff reacted to our most personal circumstance that brought us to stay at their facility.

Minutes prior to arriving Hotel Cabanas Tulum, I was shocked beyond words when my sweetheart of 11 years simply stopped a morning walk along the beach and got down on one knee with a diamond ring in his hand and asked me if I would marry him. (Somehow, I was able to say YES!) Everything changed in that minute on the beach. Given what had just occurred, we chose not to continue on our journey toward Belize, but stay in Tulum. Over the years Tulum has served as a most special place for us.

The staff at Hotel Cabanas Tulum was the first to hear the news of the proposal, a story given between laughter and tears of joy. Their response will forever be a key ingredient in making a most memorable day in my life an outstanding one.

They went out of their way – not one staff member – but all of them – to mark the occasion. They were quite gracious and giving, including surprising us by secretly scattering rose peddles on the floor, making a heart of rose peddles our bed, and placing a bottle of champagne and two fluted glasses in our room while we were dinning at their restaurant.

Staff at Hotel Cabanas Tulum – you have ensured that we will always stay at this facility. In addition, Hotel Cabanas Tulum will always be the facility I recommend to others. Friends know we stay in Tulum each year and regularly ask us for a recommendation.

BTY - After we drank that great bottle of champagne, we got out our little red light and walked down the beach in search of the huge female sea turtles that come ashore to lay their eggs on the Tulum beach July/Aug. We found 2 of them that night in close proximity to the hotel. It doesn’t matter how many times we’ve been to Tulum beach this time of the year, watching the sea turtles labor to climb the beach and lay their eggs is quite a magical experience. The wonder of it all rendered us speechless.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMinBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Wife & I did a last minute trip to Tulum late July/August 2010. We wanted oceanfront, but not completely rustic cabanas. Creature comforts like private bathrooms, 24x7 electricity, etc., Most places with any availability at last minute were much more expensive and not necessarily oceanfront, so we put our faith in what we'd heard about Cabanas Tulum being on the rebound and booked for a week.

The Great:
- Excellent service, Front desk staff, servers, housecleaning were all friendly, accommodating, and professional. We aren't high maintenance, but I think they could handle more needy types just fine.
- Great oceanfront location. Walking the beach, most 'oceanfront' places are behind the dune, obscured by too much vegetation, etc., Nothing wrong with that, but at Cabanas Tulum oceanfront means only a few palm trees between your veranda and the ocean. Nice open views and nothing to block the sea breeze.
- Good restaurant. Not cheap, but everything I had ( 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch, 1 dinner) were very good.

The Good: The block of buildings we stayed in were basically mini-duplexes, a series of structures each comprising two cabanas. They have adjoining verandas separated by a shoulder high privacy wall, separate entrances, etc., The rooms are good size, the bed reasonably comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and functional, but could stand some updating. We didn't spend a lot of the time in our room and we're satisfied. I'd imagine they'll renovate these next.

Oh - and 24x7 electricity and A/C at night if you need it.

The Bad? Nothing really, other than the prices will probably double once they're done renovating it, and it might not be as good of a value anymore.

One note: They're still working on renovating certain portions of the property. It wasn't loud or obtrusive, they kept most of it out of sight, and it didn't ruin our trip. Others may take it as paradise under construction and react differently. The staff said that the renovated block of rooms may contain 2-level suites, and they were going to add a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0rseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Cabanas Tulum was an amazing experience! It isn't the most luxurious place to stay in Tulum, so if luxury is your thing, then Cabans Tulum is not the place for you. If you enjoy good food, nice people, and beautiful beaches then this is your place. The staff at Cabanas Tulum did everything possible to make our experience enjoyable. They were in the process of renovating and adding A/C units when we were there. The lack of A/C was only unpleasant at night and when getting ready (using blow dryer). But other than that, there was always a nice breeze. The best part about this place is that breakfast is FREE...and not a continental breakfast. You can order whatever you like from a menu, which is delicious. They have anything from fresh fruit, granola, and yogurt, to enchiladas. They also make a great smoothie. We ate dinner at the hotel every night because the food was so good that we didn't want to leave! They make a great Mojito. Strawberry Mojitos are their specialty, so be sure and try one! Any activities and excursions you may want to do are no more than 3-5 minutes away by car, and the ruins are around 10 minutes away. The staff there are not like most places in Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. They are not there to take your money, and will barely accept a tip from you. They want you to have the best stay possible, so just remember this. Cabanas Tulum was the perfect summer escape! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunnie886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

What I loved most about this hotel was the location and the staff. All of the cabanas are technically beachfront, even the ones in the second row, since there is nothing blocking the view. The cabanas are a great value, especially since they now have AC and 24hr electricity. The AC kicks in around 7pm and shuts off at 6am. The price also includes a wonderful, delicious breakfast, which you get to order from a menu. The cabanas are very sparse and basic but clean. The hammocks on the porch and throughout the property are great. The only thing that we didn't like about the cabanas were the incredibly hard beds, but some people like a VERY firm mattress. There is WIFI on the property, but only in the reception area (for now). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and work very hard to make everyone's stay pleasant. There was a lot of seaweed in the water and washing up on the beach each morning and the staff worked so hard to keep the beach as nice as possible. There is also a restaurant on the property, which we tried a few times. We loved it for breakfast but weren't so crazy about the lunch and dinner that we had there. I just felt that the food was bland and over-fried and expensive. I have a feeling that this will change though, because the hotel seems to be improving from day to day. What is nice is that you can order the food and it will be brought to your room, if you just want to hang out on your porch. I do also have to add that the restaurant is very pretty, especially at night. The staff were very interested in our feedback and want to make this place as perfect as it can be. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Tulum and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcast79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 98 in Tulum
617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 98 in Tulum
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabanas Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $308 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing