We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a scale of 1 to 10, our experience at Hotel Cabanas Tulum was a 10.”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On a scale of 1 to 10, our experience at Hotel Cabanas Tulum was a 10.”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

In all areas that one would rate a boutique hotel set on this magnificent stretch of beach, we have only the most positive comments to share.

All rooms are well placed along the beach. We stayed in a 2nd floor, second row room that offered all advertised amenities including 24 hour electricity, hot water, and 7pm to 7 am air conditioning. We have been traveling together to Tulum beach for a decade and know from past experiences that this trifecta for creature comfort is not easily found in all Tulum beach hotels. It is also our experience that one will pay much more than Hotel Cabanas Tulum charges to enjoy this combination of amenities. The room is an outstanding value for the price.

As noted in other reviews, meals and beverages at the associated restaurant called La Bistro were delicious. We ate a breakfast, lunch, and dinner at this location. The menu is varied and prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area. A 25% discount was applied to our dinner at La Bistro because we were staying at the hotel. We look forward to dinning there again in the future.

What made our stay at Hotel Cabanas Tulum one that moved me to write a review (my first review ever posted!) was the staff. Still wiping the tears away, I can only begin to communicate my gratitude for how the staff reacted to our most personal circumstance that brought us to stay at their facility.

Minutes prior to arriving Hotel Cabanas Tulum, I was shocked beyond words when my sweetheart of 11 years simply stopped a morning walk along the beach and got down on one knee with a diamond ring in his hand and asked me if I would marry him. (Somehow, I was able to say YES!) Everything changed in that minute on the beach. Given what had just occurred, we chose not to continue on our journey toward Belize, but stay in Tulum. Over the years Tulum has served as a most special place for us.

The staff at Hotel Cabanas Tulum was the first to hear the news of the proposal, a story given between laughter and tears of joy. Their response will forever be a key ingredient in making a most memorable day in my life an outstanding one.

They went out of their way – not one staff member – but all of them – to mark the occasion. They were quite gracious and giving, including surprising us by secretly scattering rose peddles on the floor, making a heart of rose peddles our bed, and placing a bottle of champagne and two fluted glasses in our room while we were dinning at their restaurant.

Staff at Hotel Cabanas Tulum – you have ensured that we will always stay at this facility. In addition, Hotel Cabanas Tulum will always be the facility I recommend to others. Friends know we stay in Tulum each year and regularly ask us for a recommendation.

BTY - After we drank that great bottle of champagne, we got out our little red light and walked down the beach in search of the huge female sea turtles that come ashore to lay their eggs on the Tulum beach July/Aug. We found 2 of them that night in close proximity to the hotel. It doesn’t matter how many times we’ve been to Tulum beach this time of the year, watching the sea turtles labor to climb the beach and lay their eggs is quite a magical experience. The wonder of it all rendered us speechless.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMinBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
137
499
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Wife & I did a last minute trip to Tulum late July/August 2010. We wanted oceanfront, but not completely rustic cabanas. Creature comforts like private bathrooms, 24x7 electricity, etc., Most places with any availability at last minute were much more expensive and not necessarily oceanfront, so we put our faith in what we'd heard about Cabanas Tulum being on the rebound and booked for a week.

The Great:
- Excellent service, Front desk staff, servers, housecleaning were all friendly, accommodating, and professional. We aren't high maintenance, but I think they could handle more needy types just fine.
- Great oceanfront location. Walking the beach, most 'oceanfront' places are behind the dune, obscured by too much vegetation, etc., Nothing wrong with that, but at Cabanas Tulum oceanfront means only a few palm trees between your veranda and the ocean. Nice open views and nothing to block the sea breeze.
- Good restaurant. Not cheap, but everything I had ( 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch, 1 dinner) were very good.

The Good: The block of buildings we stayed in were basically mini-duplexes, a series of structures each comprising two cabanas. They have adjoining verandas separated by a shoulder high privacy wall, separate entrances, etc., The rooms are good size, the bed reasonably comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and functional, but could stand some updating. We didn't spend a lot of the time in our room and we're satisfied. I'd imagine they'll renovate these next.

Oh - and 24x7 electricity and A/C at night if you need it.

The Bad? Nothing really, other than the prices will probably double once they're done renovating it, and it might not be as good of a value anymore.

One note: They're still working on renovating certain portions of the property. It wasn't loud or obtrusive, they kept most of it out of sight, and it didn't ruin our trip. Others may take it as paradise under construction and react differently. The staff said that the renovated block of rooms may contain 2-level suites, and they were going to add a pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Cabanas Tulum was an amazing experience! It isn't the most luxurious place to stay in Tulum, so if luxury is your thing, then Cabans Tulum is not the place for you. If you enjoy good food, nice people, and beautiful beaches then this is your place. The staff at Cabanas Tulum did everything possible to make our experience enjoyable. They were in the process of renovating and adding A/C units when we were there. The lack of A/C was only unpleasant at night and when getting ready (using blow dryer). But other than that, there was always a nice breeze. The best part about this place is that breakfast is FREE...and not a continental breakfast. You can order whatever you like from a menu, which is delicious. They have anything from fresh fruit, granola, and yogurt, to enchiladas. They also make a great smoothie. We ate dinner at the hotel every night because the food was so good that we didn't want to leave! They make a great Mojito. Strawberry Mojitos are their specialty, so be sure and try one! Any activities and excursions you may want to do are no more than 3-5 minutes away by car, and the ruins are around 10 minutes away. The staff there are not like most places in Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. They are not there to take your money, and will barely accept a tip from you. They want you to have the best stay possible, so just remember this. Cabanas Tulum was the perfect summer escape! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunnie886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

What I loved most about this hotel was the location and the staff. All of the cabanas are technically beachfront, even the ones in the second row, since there is nothing blocking the view. The cabanas are a great value, especially since they now have AC and 24hr electricity. The AC kicks in around 7pm and shuts off at 6am. The price also includes a wonderful, delicious breakfast, which you get to order from a menu. The cabanas are very sparse and basic but clean. The hammocks on the porch and throughout the property are great. The only thing that we didn't like about the cabanas were the incredibly hard beds, but some people like a VERY firm mattress. There is WIFI on the property, but only in the reception area (for now). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and work very hard to make everyone's stay pleasant. There was a lot of seaweed in the water and washing up on the beach each morning and the staff worked so hard to keep the beach as nice as possible. There is also a restaurant on the property, which we tried a few times. We loved it for breakfast but weren't so crazy about the lunch and dinner that we had there. I just felt that the food was bland and over-fried and expensive. I have a feeling that this will change though, because the hotel seems to be improving from day to day. What is nice is that you can order the food and it will be brought to your room, if you just want to hang out on your porch. I do also have to add that the restaurant is very pretty, especially at night. The staff were very interested in our feedback and want to make this place as perfect as it can be. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Tulum and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcast79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We found the layout to be particularly thoughtful and beautiful. A beach-front room was definitely worth the price. Staff was eager to help when needed and intellectually engaged in correcting or improving any feature that required it. I was trying to practice my Spanish, and while all of the staff spoke better English than I spoke Spanish, they all were patient in letting me try to express myself and were willing to reply in slowly spoken Spanish I could understand.

The restaurant was outstanding too with excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chabottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We loved this place. We had a beach front room looking out over the ocean and the view was terrific. The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. The restaurant, which was open air and also overlooked the ocean, was the very best food we had in Mexico! The dinners were either Mexican or sophisticated continental entrees and the breakfasts, which were included in the room rate included huevos rancheros, eggs benedict and other interesting entrees. The juice really was fresh squeezed. I would come back to this place in a heart beat. If you are a real room snob, though, you should know that the rooms are just average and are a bit rustic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieHeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had a great time at the Cabanas Tulum when we stayed there for 6 nights beginning of June. Originally, we planned to stay in Tulum only for 2 nights to see the ruins, but the Cabanas Tulum were absolutely great, so we decided not to go somewhere else to enjoy the beach.
Pati, John, Marco and the whole team are wonderful, always very helpful and supportive. The Cabanas are very nice, clean and all have a private terrace and a hammock. The beach is just wonderful – and we have seen already a lot – coco palm trees and hammocks, a lot of space, you feel like being in paradise. It is very relaxing and you definitely don’t need any TV or Aircon.
The restaurant is very good, breakfast was included and a la carte. If you want to take some time off and relax, being at the beach, swimming or walking, this is the right place to be.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LangkawiBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 96 in Tulum
867 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 96 in Tulum
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing