We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

What I loved most about this hotel was the location and the staff. All of the cabanas are technically beachfront, even the ones in the second row, since there is nothing blocking the view. The cabanas are a great value, especially since they now have AC and 24hr electricity. The AC kicks in around 7pm and shuts off at 6am. The price also includes a wonderful, delicious breakfast, which you get to order from a menu. The cabanas are very sparse and basic but clean. The hammocks on the porch and throughout the property are great. The only thing that we didn't like about the cabanas were the incredibly hard beds, but some people like a VERY firm mattress. There is WIFI on the property, but only in the reception area (for now). The staff is very friendly and accommodating and work very hard to make everyone's stay pleasant. There was a lot of seaweed in the water and washing up on the beach each morning and the staff worked so hard to keep the beach as nice as possible. There is also a restaurant on the property, which we tried a few times. We loved it for breakfast but weren't so crazy about the lunch and dinner that we had there. I just felt that the food was bland and over-fried and expensive. I have a feeling that this will change though, because the hotel seems to be improving from day to day. What is nice is that you can order the food and it will be brought to your room, if you just want to hang out on your porch. I do also have to add that the restaurant is very pretty, especially at night. The staff were very interested in our feedback and want to make this place as perfect as it can be. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Tulum and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcast79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 824 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

We found the layout to be particularly thoughtful and beautiful. A beach-front room was definitely worth the price. Staff was eager to help when needed and intellectually engaged in correcting or improving any feature that required it. I was trying to practice my Spanish, and while all of the staff spoke better English than I spoke Spanish, they all were patient in letting me try to express myself and were willing to reply in slowly spoken Spanish I could understand.

The restaurant was outstanding too with excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chabottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We loved this place. We had a beach front room looking out over the ocean and the view was terrific. The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. The restaurant, which was open air and also overlooked the ocean, was the very best food we had in Mexico! The dinners were either Mexican or sophisticated continental entrees and the breakfasts, which were included in the room rate included huevos rancheros, eggs benedict and other interesting entrees. The juice really was fresh squeezed. I would come back to this place in a heart beat. If you are a real room snob, though, you should know that the rooms are just average and are a bit rustic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieHeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had a great time at the Cabanas Tulum when we stayed there for 6 nights beginning of June. Originally, we planned to stay in Tulum only for 2 nights to see the ruins, but the Cabanas Tulum were absolutely great, so we decided not to go somewhere else to enjoy the beach.
Pati, John, Marco and the whole team are wonderful, always very helpful and supportive. The Cabanas are very nice, clean and all have a private terrace and a hammock. The beach is just wonderful – and we have seen already a lot – coco palm trees and hammocks, a lot of space, you feel like being in paradise. It is very relaxing and you definitely don’t need any TV or Aircon.
The restaurant is very good, breakfast was included and a la carte. If you want to take some time off and relax, being at the beach, swimming or walking, this is the right place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangkawiBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My wife and I just came back from a 4-night stay in a beachfront cabana at Cabanas Tulum. We had an absolutely wonderful time and have no complaints whatsoever.

The beachfront cabana was as described -- literally on the beach, with nothing separating our room from the water other than a few palm trees and deck chairs. We fell asleep each night and awoke every morning to the sound of lapping waves.

The room itself was relatively sparse, but perfectly functional and extremely clean. Very quiet -- we heard no noise from the family of 4 next door, e.g.

They were installing the AC during our stay. We didn't need it, thought -- a cool ocean breeze flowed through the cabana each night.

Delicious breakfasts were included. And as others have said, it's no skimpy continental breakfast -- basically, you get a voucher from the front desk, go to the El Bistro restaurant attached to the hotel, order anything you want off the extensive breakfast menu, and it's all paid for.

We used the free bikes a lot -- rode to the Tulum ruins (20 to 25 minutes), a little convenient store (5 minutes away), and other beaches along the same coast (15 or so minutes). My wife rode to the yoga place a few times to do yoga -- about 3 minutes by bike.

The service was extraordinary as well. Pati at the front desk spoke beautiful English, gave great advice about restaurants and tours, and was helpful in every respect. The rest of the hotel staff was also friendly and helpful.

In short, we'd be delighted to go back to Cabanas Tulum again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and it was paradise. From the moment you arrive, stress just melts away with the sound of the ocean, the views, proximity to the water and the wonderful warm and helpful staff who make you feel like a guest in their home. The restaurant food was delicious. The full breakfast each morning was outstanding. I would highly recommend a massage on your porch with the sound of the ocean as your background noise. I look forward to a return trip to Cabanas Tulum.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Cabanas Tulum has several things going for it. First, it's right on the beach, but is less expensive than most hotels, and almost anything cheaper will likely be a dump or very bare bones. Second, the staff there is very warm and friendly. The hotel is supposedly under new management since around January, and seems genuinely interested in feedback to make the hotel better. Third, there's a great restaurant onsite that you get a dinner coupon for, and where you get free breakfast. And by free breakfast I don't mean toast and tea- it's any coffee beverage (cappucino, latte, anything) + juice or smoothie + big main course (breakfast burrito, eggs, pancakes, anything). The rooms were comfortable- there's no air conditioning, but I was comfortable with the fan. Beds were on the firm side, but everything was very clean. There are bikes available to rent for free, a computer with internet you can use at the check in desk, a small library with books, and towels available.

Overall, I would highly recommend this location. It is not in the uber-luxury category, but if you want a clean, comfortable, and friendly environment at an affordable beachfront hotel, this is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManagement, Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2010

Dear guest,

Your comment is truly appreciated, thank you for taking the time to share the impression of your vacations.

It is very important for us to know that our guests see our efforts to become better everyday. That is the way we can focus our efforts in the important details our guest perceive.

We are happy to announce that as today, we have just added air conditioning from 8pm to 8am (being an ecological hotel, we can not have it 24 hours by now).

We definitely wan to become the best option for a hotel in our category in Tulum, it will be a very special hotel, that will treat special guest in a very special way.

We would be very happy to host you back in the near future.


Sincerely,

Jesus Aranda
General Manager
Cabañas Tulum
manager.cabanastulum@hotellatortuga.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
896 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabanas Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $307 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing