We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major upgrade with a price increase!”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Major upgrade with a price increase!”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

This was our 4th time back to Cabanas Tulum and there have been major changes. The hotel has been leased to the owners of La Tortuga in Playa del Carmen. They have brought in an upscale look with remodeled rooms on the North end and more major remodeling underway. Carlos at the desk has been replaced by Eve who was very helpful. The new owners have opened a beach club on the south end complete with many new padded beach chairs and water toys for rent. Le Bistro is the new restaurant complete with a chef from Hawaii. A free, delicious breakfast is part of the upgrades along with a 20% discount for a full meal. We had supper twice and enjoyed both meals, but we certainly missed Carlos' prices. Our lunch was a bit underwhelming.

Half of the rooms are still under renovation and are being expanded including a second floor. As a result the normally quiet Tulum beach was even quieter. Prices have climbed from the $80 range last year to $175 for a beachfront room. This is certainly in line with some of the higher end eco hotels up and down the beach. One of the side benefits of the increased prices was greatly improved service including a wonderful housekeeper, Candalaria (sp?), who kept us entertained with her many towel sculptures. We were served breakfast on our front porch twice and had several visits a day to see if we wanted to order something from the bar. Wireless Internet was available though it wasn't up to a full high-speed connection - good enough for checking e-mail.

There is still no air conditioning and the power goes out at 11 p.m. until 7 a.m. so only the trade winds to provide relief for the heat. We had only one night in the 10 we were there where we were uncomfortable. We enjoyed our hammocks swaying in the shade of the coconut palms and when it comes down to it the only question is whether the price increases are worth it. Before we come back at this price we'd like to see 24 hour power (promised for next year) and a finished remodel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregOien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManagement, Sales at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Hello from Cabañas Tulum!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, it's particularly important for us that repeat guests still like the feel to the Hotel. We have tried to change the atmosphere as little as possible, as we believe Tulum should be the place to relax!

I just wanted to let you and everyone else know that as from last week we have 24 hours electricity !!!! we are also adding little things daily, while renovation on the closed rooms is not underway.

We hope you'll come back soon !

Thank you and kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
135
495
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Cabanas Tulum is now a property managed by the same as Hotel la Tortuga in Playa del Carmen, which is how I came to stay at this particular hotel. I have been to Playa and Tulum 10xs over the past 11 years and will always stay at both properties (now that they have the Cabanas Tulum) when I return. The staff is the same, in some cases literally - as that of Hotel la Tortuga - they are absolutely AWESOME - and you will be treated like you are a friend, not a tourist. Again, this is why I always go back to Hotel la Tortuga when staying in Playa, and they have definitely instilled the same high standards with the staff in Tulum. The hotel is currently being renovated in some areas, but you are not disturbed in the least by this. The beach is some of the best stretch in Tulum - I have stayed several different places in Tulum over the years ranging from beach bungalows to the 5 Star Blue Tulum and this is the best "happy-medium" you can ask for. Very, very relaxing and quiet, excellent food and drink, rooms are nicely appointed and CLEAN, and again, I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff is. I was in a beachfront room and fell asleep to the waves, woke to the waves, and did not wear shoes for 3 days (if I had stayed longer than 4 days it would have been every day)! There is no need to unless you go into town... everything you need is here, and of course you walk north and south on the beach to other places to visit, but cannot wait to return to your private patio and room at Cabanas Tulum, or sit at the beach bar and enjoy one of the many wonderful drinks that Rodrigo makes! With a location on the beach that is this wonderful, accommodating staff, excellent food & drink, and comfortable, clean rooms what more could you ask for? Well, that will come in November when you can book a rooftop jacuzzi room at the hotel after the renovations are complete! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elgatamalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We went to Tulum expecting to find Cabanas Tulum - but instead found Ziggy's Beach. What a surprise - such personalized service, superb restaurant and a great experience. The beaches in Tulum are beautiful....I love the color of the Caribbean waters. Can't wait to return to Ziggy's Beach and enjoy the food, friendly people and special times one is sure to experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaWeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

:( I had the best trip to Tulum and LOVED cabanas tulum. I enticed a bunch of people for a group vaca next year and we were all going to stay at CT. I contacted Juan, the booker for the hotel, to set it all up and alas found out that they tour it down to build some 4 star hotel. boooo. so sad to lose this amazingly cheap and fabulous place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hand2model
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Sales at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
Hi!
I'm sorry they gave you wrong info. We rented Cabanas Tulum and have now reopend after minor changes. We did not tear it down, we just closed half the rooms and are now operating 16, with new colours and beds! We also opened the restaurant, El Bistro, and Ziggy beach club. The atmosphere is very laid back and relaxed, just like Tulum!
We are not 4 stars!!!!! Please come by next time you're in Tulum, I think you'll still like it!

Thanks!
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, wy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I think the title says it all. We were expecting a simple, no frills place to spend a few nights. What we got was a crappy room that was unclean, smelly, had lots of bugs and was too hot to sleep in. Shame the place is such a dump, because the beach is nice. Save yourself and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bennettsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We had stayed at Zulum (2 doors down) last year and enjoyed our stay but chose to stay at Cabanas Tulum to save money. It was well worth it. Our room was simple but clean. There were paint chips falling from the ceiling but it didn't bother us. The shower worked fine and it was cleaned every day. We had a great porch area where we sat in our hammocks(which we rented for about 3 bucks for the week) often and enjoyed the ocean view. We never had a problem with bugs and the breeze was strong enough to keep us cool. We had electricity form about 7:15 A.M. until maybe noon and then again in the evening until 11 or so. I brought a one cup coffee maker which worked out great. We ate breakfast there once and was not impressed. After that we bought groceries in town at the San Fransisco grocery store and got some great pastries and bananas for cheap. If you are looking for a fantastic place to stay but aren't interested in being waited on, this is the place for you. I would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swandawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We just returned from 2 weeks of staying at Cabanas Tulum, and it was perfect in every way. I'm still a little shocked at some of the reviews on here....yeesh, it's the tropics, so if you are looking for a hermetically-sealed, highrise place with zero insects, than this isn't your style. BUT, if you can deal with a simple, clean, and perfectly-situated hotel where you open your door each day to paradise, this is a great option. We saw 3 roaches the size of houseflies the entire 2 weeks...what is the big deal!?!?!?

We travel often with our children, and this was a great place for staying with 2 children (3 years and 4 months). We didn't have to worry that we were disturbing other guests since they have so much beachfront property, didn't have to worry about other hazards like traffic, open wells (Cabanas Mambo), rotweilers (Posada Margherita), etc. It's barebones, but clean and comfortable and just fine for a place to sleep while you are out exploring the area.

The restaurant is nothing special, but they were really great about delivering food to our room when our kids fell asleep early and we couldn't leave to find another restaturant. They are also fine for coffee, beer, etc. We found the staff to be friendly, but not over-the-top, which is just what I would expect for an area that sees so much tourism. They were very kind and sweet to our 3-year-old and made a huge effort to keep suprise him and do special things for him.

As far as the price....it's still a great value on this beach and well worth every penny. We'll definitely be headed back to Cabanas Tulum on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
852 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,268 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 96 in Tulum
589 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing