We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed as a couple for three nights”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stayed as a couple for three nights”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Room is clean. Excellent beach. Full breakfast was excellent on options. Desk staff helpful. Would have like outdoor shower to get rid of some sand. Bathroom is rustic. Nicer than other cabanas I have stayed in at tulum. Would go back. Beach is very well kept up.

Room Tip: The partial see room on second floor was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guests and for writing a review about your recent stay.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future and show you more about Mexican hospitality.

Best wishes and muchas gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
130
488
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The room was nice and the view from our little porch was wonderful. The property is clean. The beach and paths are raked every day. There is coffee in the lobby at 6 am. We had a nice week and especially like Roman and Adriana at the front desk. We got vouchers for breakfast every day but ate lunches and dinners different places. Food in the area seems more international and expensive that in the old days but we had good meals and good service. The room was very nice. The only things that would have made it better would be WiFi in the room and a low-light-level bedside lamp. We actually did get some WiFi from the bathroom.

Room Tip: We liked #18
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMeyers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and are happy to know that you had such a lovely time at our Hotel. Excellent service, Mexican Hospitality along with Tulum beautiful beaches make the difference we believe.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes and muchas gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of October for my birthday and we had an incredible time. The service was great, the food was great and the atmosphere was incredible. The veiw was next level to wake up to every morning. We had the pleasure of witnessing sea turtles hatch one of the nights we were there and it was magical. I have absolutely no complaints about our stay. The staff was helpful and the bartenders at Ziggys were incredibly friendly even though my spanish is horrible! I would reccomend to anyone that wants a relaxing stay. Cabanas Tulum is simple and beautiful. One million thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It was our pleasure sharing this joyful moment with you. A big Gracias also from our Ziggy's Crew
We hope to see you again next year for another birthday experience here in Tulum :)
Take care!

All the best and muchas gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Cabanas Tulum during our honeymoon. We honestly could not have asked for a better hotel! Our cabana was beautiful and perfectly situated just above the beach. The staff was incredibly nice, helpful and courteous -- Kudos to Fernando, Angel and Gregorio in particular! The property is beautiful, yet relaxed and the restaurant/bar is just fabulous. We participated in several events sponsored by the hotel, including a degustation of Mexican wines paired with tapas--amazingly fun and welll-run!

We had a relaxing, romantic honeymoon and already are dreaming about returning. We had dinner at several other properties and while there are several more "luxurious" places (as well as several ones that seem incredibly run-down), nothing compared to the service and rhythm of life at Cabanas Tulum.

PROS:
Service
Food
Value
Privacy
Location

CONS:
Cleanliness (while everything seemed clean enough, there were some small marks/handprints on the curtains, and a few times we saw some rust stains on the bath towels--definitely something that needs to be fixed, but not something that ruined our honeymoon)

Room Tip: Cabanas on the far side have less foot traffic, although you'll be farther from the reception/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akccjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Congratulations again o your marriage, on behalf of our Cabañas Tulum team "thank you" for your review and feedback. As we always mention, all comments are shared with our staff , so it makes everyone proud to know where we have done a good job and where to improve.

Thank you again for spending your honeymoon at our Beach Hotel and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your first anniversary here in beautiful Tulum.

Muchas Gracias and all the best!

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at Cabanas Tulum for 5 days with my husband for our 1 yr anniversary..moved on to Cancun for the next 2 days..hands down, the better of the two was this place..
The people, the atmosphere, the food...we miss it all soo much..the staff in this place really make the effort to make you feel right at home in their paradise.
Who doesn't want to wake up right next to the beach?? We opted for a simple room but we are definitely planning a return to one of the beach front rooms. (Definitely worth that bit extra!) The hotel does have wifi...but who needs it when there is so much to do. Dan at reception gave us loads of ideas for excursions and they were all worth it (ask for a tour with Ruben! AMAZING! He won't let you down!)
Ziggys - some of the most delicious food I've ever tasted!
ALL the staff at ziggys are superb..they really treated us like good friends..Eric, Edgar Chan, Jorge, Abraham (I'm sorry I can't remember all your names)..EVERYONE..we miss you..even Raquel the maid who tidied our room!
Thank you all so much for the many wonderful memories..
Hope to see you all again..soon!

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for the beachfront rooms...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guests,

On behalf of the whole team at Cabañas Tulum and Ziggy's thank you so much for your lovely words. We are honored and enthusiastic about your feedback.
We hope to host you again in the near future to ensure you another memorable stay her at our Beach Hotel.

All the best and muchas gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel, based on its beauty, simplicity and great service. This really is the place to de-stress. Internet access is only available from Ziggy's Bar next door or the reception, so great reason for not responding to emails!
We arrived to a wonderful welcoming, Dan explained that due to the eco friendly facilities we can request iron or hairdryer as they are not kept in the room, but to be honest, it is so laid back here, we didn't care.
All the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough.
Ziggy's bar next door is great. Staff wonderful and the food was fantastic, all at reasonable prices. We took a trip next door to Ana y Jose, which was a little pretentious and although the food was ok, we wished we had stayed with Ziggy;s.
With no modern techy equipment, it was bliss to lay in the hammock and watch the waves come in, from the great view outside our room.
A lovely relaxing 4 days, we wished we had arranged to stay longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Micheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. The whole team is happy you had such a good time at our Beach Hotel and enjoyed the low key atmosphere.

Thanks again for everything and we hope to see you again here in Tulum.

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My friend and I visited in November at the end of the rainy season.
We considered several options including all-inclusives and resorts, but the idea of a rustic cabana right on the beach sounded perfect for the no fuss, no muss, vacation we had in mind.
Cabanas Tulum and their staff delivered exactly that!!

We stayed at the Cabanas Tulum. Not the Beach Tulum. Yes, the Beach had nicer rooms, but it didn't matter to us, really, because most of our time was spent outside. The room was a place to put our stuff and sleep.

The room was clean, trash emptied, room swept and mopped, and towels replaced daily ...we noticed the sheets were replaced at least once and we were only there 5 nights.

The staff is wonderfully friendly and courteous: Geronimo, Dan, Abram, Erik, Candy, Teresa, and a host of others whose names I'm not recalling. Always friendly, helpful, and with a genuine smile. Their attitudes really make it a treat to stay there.

Food and drinks at Ziggy Beach, the restaurant there, went beyond our expectations. No matter what we had, from the breakfast (included and an extensive list of choices) to the dinners to the drinks, we were impressed.

Complaints are minor and few and have already been addressed in other reviews, but so you know that they are still a factor at this time:
1.Bed and pillows are firm.
2. Area between toilet and shower is open, no curtain, no wall, no nothing. Toilet/toilet paper/floor all gets a good soaking when the shower is on.
3. No hot water. Water was tepid at best. For the most part not a problem, but after being rainsoaked and sitting in damp clothes for 6 hours on a chilly day....a hot shower is nice.

Room Tip: Be sure to select the beachfront cabanas and your patio will be 5 steps from the sand. There are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browniis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the whole team "Thank You" for your nice feedback.
It makes us very proud to know that you had such a good time and especially appreciated the kindness and friendliness of our staff. We also thank you for all your suggestions to make sure we are always improving to provide pour guests for an unforgettable beach vacation. We hope to see you again in the near future. Take care!

All the best and muchas gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing