We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet, but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is well located and amazing quiet. We stayed in the older section, which was adequate and clean, but very basic. It would have been nice to have a mini-fridge and more than two bottles of water for the week. No frills here. The beds are pretty hard too. I had read about the AC only working an night and thought this might be an issue, but it wasn't. The prevailing winds kept the room very comfortable during the day. Overall this was a great value. Ziggy's restaurant next door was very good.

Room Tip: If adults only are traveling, stay in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinahark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving a review and sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you had a good time at Cabañas Tulum enjoying especially the quietness and relaxing atmosphere at our beach resort. Thank you also for your suggestions, all our staff is alway eager to know where to improve or what kind of preference our guests have. Just a little side note, there is a refill station for drinkable water at our front desk area, this is thought to save plastic bottles and help to recycle them. There is another one located in the lobby of our sister Hotel, by the way, the new section is actually called The Beach Tulum and is a different property. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Tulum.

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 824 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Tulum several times- this place is by far the winner in every category.
A perfect balance of rustic in all the right ways but extremely comfortable. The Christopher Columbus cabaña was the best!
Very, very good food (much better than some fancier places we have been in Tulum)
Georgeous landscaping- feels so secluded on the strip packed with hotels.
The grounds have so many interesting, fun little touches that show a lot of care and attention.
The beach is pristine with lovely, huge lounger beds.
The staff are very sweet- personable, charming, knowledgeable. Perfect mix of attentive when you need them, but leave you alone to relax!
Everything was easy, effortless.
My brain could turn off.

My only concern is that I do not think they should permit children under 5 yrs in the beach cabañas. You can hear every little noise through them- To be plagued with a toddler crying for hours every afternoon then awake and screaming at 5am, was not cool!

Still, the best thing in Tulum.

¡Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallievenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Hello and greetings from Tulum,

We just wanted to let you know that your review has been posted on our property listing, Hotel Cabañas Tulum but as we understood, you actually stayed at a different Hotel, La Luna, which is only 200m away from our venue.
However, we are glad that you had such a great time in Tulum.

Best regards,

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We loved staying here so very much! The staff was so helpful and friendly and Manuel was so helpful with our sightseeing and booked my sister and I on the Sian Kaan Canal Tour! Everyone of the staff were so nice and friendly. Great breakfasts that are included in the room fee. Love the happy hours, friendly bartenders, waiters, all the staff were great. We had such a nice time, and the beach is fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comment about Cabañas Tulum, we are very happy to read that you loved staying with us and found every staff member helpful and to your service.
We believe, you deserved a little treat in Paradise after some backpacking in Mexico.
Thank you once again for having been our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned from our second trip to Cabanas Tulum, and want to share with fellow travelers the ideal experience. We had an opportunity to stay both at Cabanas Tulum, and their partner property Ziggy Beach. The location of these properties could not be improved upon as they are not only beautiful, but have a soft/warm ocean breeze at all times. The properties themselves are extremely well maintained, and staffed by the most helpful, dedicated, and charming group of people. We were extremely fortuante to have gotten to know and enjoy Winnie, Manuel, Gabrielo, Adrian, and Dan. Each who went out of their way to make our vacation one that we will not soon forget. The hotel properties are extremely well maintained with tropical flowers, ferns, mangove all that seem to attract the most beautiful and colorful song birds. The rooms at Cabanas Tulum & Ziggy Beach are both right ON the beach. The beach itself has the finest white sand that I have ever encountered, and is lined with Palm trees. The room at Ziggy Beach was beyond our dreams. Our second floor room had a huge covered patio, and a private upstairs lanai that in one view was the tops of the palm trees and gorgeous ocean and the other direction the view was that of the vast jungle. The stars at night were remarkable, and the sunsets from the lanai were incredible. The room itself was elegantly designed and had a full wall of sliding glass doors that we left open to let in the warm breeze. YOU WILL BE EXTREMELY GLAD you picked this location for your next visit. At no time did we feel our security was an issue. With the complimentary breakfast, highly efficient staff, AMAZING beach, and gorgeous pool you will not be sorry to book either Cabanas Tulum or Ziggy Beach as your next Tulum destination. Travel well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank 2bhapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guests,

A big big thank you for your wonderful review about our properties (Cabañas Tulum & The Beach). All our staff is overwhelmed by your kind words and gratitude. We really enjoyed your staying with us and are flattered by the way you described our Hotel and staff members. Everyone says "hi", by the way. We really hope to welcome you soon back to make your next vacation even more unique.
Thank you so much for everything.
Just a little correction: our sister Hotel is called THE BEACH not Ziggy Beach - that's the name of the Beach Club Ziggy's :)

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

beautiful beach!
rooms are expensive like nearly everything at tulum
but the view of our seaside room was amazing
it was windy in march but nice waves
nice restaurants along the beach and in tulum Center
good if you have a car and a torch

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aftershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the beach view of your room. Concerning the prices, Tulum offers different budget options, however it is true that the more affordable hotels, restaurants and most of the youth hostels are located in the center town, el pueblo.
Again, thank you for having chosen Cabañas Tulum and hopefully see you again in the future.

Muchas Gracias


Patrizia Pezzolla
Marketing & Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We scouted most of the hotels along the beach in Tulum, when we were planning our wedding. We ended up getting married elsewhere in Mexico, but we came to Tulum for a few days after and this is where we stayed.

The rooms here are spare and minimal, in a cool, retro sort of way. Most are right on the beach, and those that are not are only a few steps away. We stayed in one of the deluxe superior rooms. Really nice, although I wish it came with a hammock. Strangely, most of the other rooms did, but not the deluxe superior. It did have a nicer bathroom, and a roof patio with a tub, but we never really used it. Still, I suggest getting a beach front deluxe. Skip the superior. The rooms are pretty close in quality. But the non-superiors are cheaper, closer to the restaurant, and not really lacking in anything you're likely to miss.

Whatever you get, I can contest that this is one of the best deals for the best quality on the beach. There are some sexier places down the road, but they're likely to cost 3 times as much and not offer all that much more. You're coming to Tulum for the beach, after all, and every hotel has that.

The restaurant is decent. Nothing special, but by no means bad. The staff is friendly. It looked like they were building a new lobby when we were there. That will be a significant improvement.

What else can I say? This is a perfect place to walk out your room, straight into the water, get lost in a book, or chill in the sun. And for a great price. What else do you need? I would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Skip the deluxe superior and get a superior room. Ask for one on the ground floor, not on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Congratulations again o your marriage, on behalf of our Cabañas Tulum & The Beach team "thank you" for your review. As we always mention, all comments are shared with our staff , so it makes everyone proud and happy to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the new lobby has been open for a month and all Deluxe & Deluxe Superior rooms are now part of our sister hotel THE BEACH TULUM - also listed here on TripAdvisor. Further, we are happy to announce that all rooms have a hammock now, whether at Cabañas Tulum or The Beach.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in one of our Hotels here in beautiful Tulum.

Muchas Gracias


Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales& Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's not often you can pay $150 a night for an unobstructed ocean view. The room was no-frills — tile floors, firm beds, and one power outlet — but who wants to spend time in the room anyway when you can step out the front door and onto the beach? That, combined with an incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, would have me back here at a moment's notice. Tulum itself is so laid back, this enchanting combination of jungle meets ocean, that staying in a big fancy resort would just seem wrong (not to mention out of my price range). But the setting here is worth of an even higher price tag. Also, the included breakfasts, occasional dinners and cocktails, were all consistently high quality. The guests were nice mix of families with kids, couples, and friends, and I felt very comfortable and safe. Also, there were swingsets on the beach and swings instead of barstools at the bar, probably my favorite part.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth the price to stay in a beachfront room. We stayed in the second row the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank culturedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabanas Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your feedback about your stay at our Hotel. We are really happy you liked it here and enjoyed your "no frills" beach vacation. Thank you also for your nice comment about our staff and the food, we are going to share your words with everyone.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in Tulum paradise!

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
896 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabanas Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $307 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing